Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Overpriced..tons of bugs and not that comfortable

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
Mystica was a little disappointing given the reviews that I read. First of all, as the reviews already note it is a pretty far drive from La Fortuna and Nueva Arenal. When we drove to the towns we saw many more affordable nicer hotels and smaller bnb's and were disappointed not to stay there. The rooms were a little disappointing as well. I understand that it is Costa Rica and there are bugs but in our room we had a constant problem with spiders and mosquitos. On our last night we discovered that a spider had laid eggs in the headboard of our bed and thats why we had so many all over us at night. The receptionist who was there the majority of the time did not speak English so it was difficult for us to communicate with her. The bed was extremely hard and difficult to sleep on. The restaurant was cute but really overpriced for the quality of food....Overall we were pretty disappointed with our stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well run, breakfast included, clean, comfortable

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Location: Windsurfing, restaurants, <1/2hr to Fresco Viento (park=horseback riding + 4 waterfalls), <1hr to Rio Corobici Safaris (rafting) and Rio Celeste
Quiet, good restaurant, quiet, helpful staff re-activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom denver, CO

Great Little Hotel!

Posted Dec 6, 2014
We had a villa with private porch, little beehive fireplace and yard, perfect place for us! Also enjoyed a yoga class in their very cool studio by the river, awesome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Vdorf

Quiet hotel with excellent view over Lake Arenal.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Like the location and the neat rooms
Cons: Don't change anything it won't be the same anymore
Location: Walk to Lake Arenal. In the hotel just relax and enjoy the views
Like the hotel for its quietness and good location. Also the food is excellent and and well thought through for its ingredients.The rooms are spacious and clean. There is no TV but you can get internet in the rooms though very slow. Take a short walk to the zoga platform and take time relaxing in the hammocks. Also go a little bit further and see the giantic Ceiba tree. To get there is a little tiresome but well worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by katefrom alberta

Nice view

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Nice bathroom, clean.
Cons: Wifi in rooms. Breakfast earlier and in yoga days too.
Location: The location is half way to volcano. Not very much near by. Brewery down the road is fun.
Clean, comfortable hotel with nice view located half way to volcano. Breakfast doesn't open until 730, no lunch and super isn't until 7pm. No tv either, but you can relax and enjoy the view. Wifi is very poor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christyfrom Sunshine Coast, BC

Spectacular hillside setting

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The setting; the ambiance; the people- hosts and other guests
Cons: The bed in our room didn't suit us- too hard!
Location: The hotel is situated in an area of Costa Rica with lots of well advertised activities; our hosts helped us sort out what was best for us.
This is a beautiful property- the setting is unique with spectacular views over the lake and surrounding countryside. Everything is well cared for; the attention given to the gardens and buildings is very apparent. The hosts are a very committed couple who run a smooth operation. They obviously love what they do and really care for their guests as well as their community. The restaurant in the main lodge was perfect; breakfast was provided and we chose to have dinner in the restaurant three nights in a row. The food was so good and it was nice to relax on site rather than seeking out another spot in the neighbourhood. Overall. it was a wonderful oasis in our Costa Rica adventure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An oasis

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: The setting and location. We stayed between stops in El Castillo at Mt. Arenal and Tenorio and it was the perfect distance.
Such a lovely, relaxing stop. Sitting on the veranda looking at the lake, the beautiful flowers and foliage,watching a myriad of birds. The staff were gracious and helpful and the food amazing - the mixed salad was stupendous and a full meal when ordered with the tasty grilled chicken. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Don't miss the pool naturale! Thank you Barbara and Francesco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Modesto ca.

Great location

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Close to windsurfing. Great food. WiFi only in restaurant. Beautiful place. Bed a bit hard. Pillows thin. Hot shower
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2014
We had a lovely stay. The gardens are beautiful and the staff very friendly. Spent an entire afternoon on the yoga deck by the river watching the hummingbirds and toucans. Nice comfortable rooms, always a nice breeze. Lovely view of Arenal volcanoe and lake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Margareta och Larsfrom Stockholm, Sverige

Pärla vid Arenalsjön

Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Avslappnande och vacker omgivning med härlig utsikt över Arenalsjön. Personlig och vänlig service. Massage i trädhuset rekommenderas!