Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary AB

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Found this hotel to be very quaint and quiet.
LOVED the restaurant - all the food was great - especially the tortilla soup! Staff friendly. Would deffinetly stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland

Rustic Hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Small. Only has 11 rooms
Cons: lower price for what you get
Location: Hotel is in the center of town. Easy work to shopping, galleries and restaurants. Unfortunately the beach is not near by (20 minute car ride)
The rooms are quiet. The beds are nice. Though if you are looking for a room that has amenities (micro, fridg, hair dryer, counter space in bedroom etc.. ) you won't find it here. This is a bare bones room and a little over priced for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Canada

Nice Hotel but Avoid Todos Santos

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: -The artwork -The lobby -The rooms
Cons: -The pool area could use more flowers, though I suspect it was nice prior to the hurricane last year.
Location: The hotel is right on the main drag, and convenient to everything in town.
The hotel did not disappoint, and we were very glad we chose to stay here since it was really the only interesting thing in Todos Santos. The artwork was interesting, the room beautiful, and the staff friendly enough. The town however, was not very impressive. Out of the places we visited: San Jose del Cabo, Los Barriles, and La Paz, it was the most expensive and the least scenic or friendly. The gift shop prices were outlandish, and the owners were not interested at all in bargaining, and seemed almost offended at the attempt, despite the fact that the prices were not marked and they just make them up out of thin air. We entered a restaurant in town, and menus were thrown down on the table, along with a cold glare. The whole town just seemed to have a weird vibe that we weren't welcome. I'd recommend making Todos Santos a brief stop if driving from Cabo to La Paz, but if you do stay in the town, I'd highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sudbury, Ontario

Beautiful, Authentic Mexican-style Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Visitors expecting television and phones in the rooms will be disappointed. No internet access, but Wifi is available.
Location: Well located in Todos Santos giving easy walking access to restaurants and market/stores. 15 minute driving distance to a number of beautiful beaches
Well decorated and styled hotel in center of town, comfortable, clean and safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Rebuilding after the hurricane

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Check in and check out were a breeze. The grounds are very nice.
Cons: Restoration of the pool area as soon as possible
Location: Chocolate clams at Compa Chava, Las Palmas beach km 57, amazing coffee at Baja Beans and fabulous food and view at Hierbabuena, both in Pescadero
We stayed at Hotel California two years ago and we had a wonderful time. I remember the pool area being magical, with lots of trees and plants giving shade, a sense of seclusion, and intimacy. Now all the plants are gone due to the hurricane Odile. The staff is slowly cleaning up, replanting and trying to bring back the charm. As for the hotel itself, the rooms are simple and clean; some of them face the main road in Todos Santos and it gets noisy very early. I would make it a stop for 1-2 nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jessie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Guadalajara

Un clásico de todos santos.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: El servicio y atención del personal.
Un hotel ubicado en el principal cuadro de el poblado. Destaca el servicio y atención de todo el personal quienes en todo momento estuvieron al pendiente de nuestra estancia. Cuentan con un muy buen restaurant donde se puede disfrutar de un rato muy agradable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JtotheBexfrom Sacramento

Great building, great service, icky pool.

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel California was a pretty hotel: colorful lobby, lots of interesting art and a well established bar and restaurant attached. Check in was easy, service was great. Our room (#11) was perfect for two friends who want separate beds. A/C worked well, great beds, and private balcony was nice enough. The worst part of this hotel was the pool. It was murky, green, and smelled like grease. It wasn't so bad on our first day and, as it was unbearably hot in Todos Santos during our trip, we tried our best to 'get over it' and use it to cool off. The next day, the pool looked even worse. Another arriving hotel guest came over to assess the pool and confirmed our nagging instinct that it probably wasn't a good idea to use it. Did I mention how unbearably hot it was? (We were desperate.) We considered mentioning it to front desk but were intimidated by the owner who staffed the front desk in the afternoons. The guy who checked us in was awesome; she, however, was gruff, grumpy, and snarky. We came to her with other questions in previous days and were surprised at how negative her attitude was. We sensed that we wouldn't get much resolve with her about the pool if we asked, so just left and found another pool to spend time at. Besides the pool, the hotel is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Amberfrom La Costa, CA

Beautiful Hotel with wonderful service

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loved it!!!! Clean, comfortable, wonderful artwork, and impeccable service!