Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick and Kitty from Vancouver BC

Excellent choice for a "one of a kind" experience

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Love unique colorful gardens, restaurant and room decor. The bistro is an excellent addition.
Location: The town itself is unique with many artist shops and many lovely restaurant venues. Without a doubt we found the best fruteria we have run into.
The Hotel has its real story and the story that connects it to the Eagles. Which ever version you pick it will work for you. An easy and interesting bus ride from Cabo San Lucas on Aguila Bus Lines the depot is one block up and one block over to the Hotel California. They are expanding the restaurant and it is lovely. Good food by day and the new Bistro at night is excellent. The chef pays personal attention to detail and taste. Good wines to pair with as well. We stayed in the room with one king bed and a a balcony looking south towards the ocean. The rooms have been kept to original as much as possible. The extensive and beautiful walled gardens and dipping pool make you wonder where you are once within. The character of Todos Santos is bought alive and memories of more rural Mexico years ago bought back. We planned and enjoyed the one night stay for the sake of doing it. Staff gracious and helpful. Loved the location and the character. Worth a visit. We met a family who had travelled all the way from Germany to stay at the Hotel California. Loved the original history of the Chinese owner, his wife, and the seven sisters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Claudia from Santa Barbara

Congratulate yourself if you decide to stay here

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
I've been almost everyplace I ever wanted to go but I'm losing steam for the big cities. I want small. I want genuine. I want specific, not generic, and I'm delighted when a hotel has no phones or TVs in the room, lights your way with candles, and takes eccentric colors to the Frida Kahlo max. We did less and less every day until it was nothing, then we did less. We got up later and later. We went in the pool 5 times per day and night, ordered dinner in our robes at the pool. Great food! Why leave? So fabulous. Fantastic staff. You'll get by with just Wi-Fi, and the beaches and the town will amuse you if you're inclined to be amused. If you need frantic nightlife better head to Cabo. If you want something you'll never forget, ever,try the Hotel California.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Juan from San Diego, CA, USA

Great place to visit even if just for a tour.

Posted Dec 3, 2012
Pros: Clean, safe, historical, great art by "Gabo" and it was great to be able to walk to his gallery from the hotel and meet him.
Cons: My room door opened and closed by itself. No joke. Also there was no TV in the room which might be bad for some people but no problem for me.
Location: Nice town to walk around and check out for a few hours.
I had no problems renting a car in Cabo and driving up the coast to Todos Santos even though I was initially very hesitant to do so. If you're ever in the area then you should at least stop by Hotel California.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Love this place!

Posted Apr 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
I have been to Todos Santos several times on day trips from Cabo and had always wanted to stay over at the Hotel California as the small portion of the property I could see through the wrought iron gated entrance looked so enticing. I finally got the chance as we were invited to attend a wedding at nearby Rancho Pescadero and did not want to drive all the way back to our place in Cabo after. We booked one night at HC and totally loved it. The decor is fabulous - artsy, fun, colorful, flower-filled, lovely pool and numerous charming places to just hang out - just my taste! - and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Our room furnishings were great - I loved the tile shower and the comfortable bed. I have seen some less than favorable reviews and just have to say that if your idea of a great hotel is the Holiday Inn (or St. Regis, maybe) then this is not the place for you. But if you enjoy unique, historic, fun places, then it is. And don't complain about lack of water pressure or that it's noisy on weekend nights - just go sit outside, listen to the music and enjoy the experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gina from Waterford, MI

Unique Hotel with Beautiful Artwork

Posted Mar 11, 2012
Pros: unique art, courtyard pool, large balcony with table chairs and super comfortable lounge chairs, cool restaurant with good selection of food,
Cons: there was no tv in our room but we did not miss having one
Location: great location in downtown Todos Santos. Sleepy town, closes up eary, several art boutiques and quirky US/Canadian expatriates living there
We stopped for a one night stay between Cabo San Lucas and La Paz. Wish we would have stayed a few more days. Hotel is very unique, beautifully decorated with original artwork and the bed and pilllows were super comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great location but don't eat at the hotel restaurant

Posted Jun 21, 2011
Centrally located Hotel California is one of the key buildings in tiny "downtown" Todos Santos. Well located next to a beautiful mission, it serves as a good central location from which to wander around. As is the case with most of these Baja towns, the main attractions have to do with dining and shopping. Some very nice clothes stores but my favorite activity was doing a little Tequila tasting in one of the little mall areas across the street from the hotel. Nothing like changing the pace of the day with a few shots of locally produced posada tequila. The hotel itself is clean by local standards with the usual sort of minor inconveniences (e.g., one of the shower handles came off in my hand - but who cares, the shower pressure is great and you get plenty of both hot and cold water.). The staff is very helpful and you will feel at home here. My only complaint was the "legendary lunch" at this hotel. My wife and I have a general saying - that despite the gringo opinion that roadside food is dangerous we have found, after many years' experience - the worst food in Mexico is almost always found in hotel restaurants or generally in places that have tablecloths. I was thinking about their fish berger for several days - maybe it was roosterfish? The other over-priced items were mediocre. Go to Miguels or try the coffee across the street at Felix's - there are may options. There's a neat little pool in the center of the hotel - next time I will relax there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Durango CO

Beautiful stay at the Hotel California!

Posted Jun 9, 2011
We had a great stay at the Hotel California even though we were under the weather with a mexican bug. The staff was very kind and helpful and the rooms were beautiful. The patio area and poolside were great and lit with candles at night to create a nice ambiance. No t.v. for those who want it. Also, the church next door airs their services on speakers over the whole town. If we hadn't been sick, we would have probably been out and about more and not noticed it as much. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Not for Physically Challenged Guests

Posted Apr 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
Great staff, food and beverage. Great location for exploring the town. Hotel is quaint and ecclectic, however, there are many steep stairs with minimal handrails. The listing on this site as well as the properties own website indicates they have a 2 bedroom suite. The room actually has 2 beds, not two separate rooms.