Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel - inexperienced staff

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms, tranquility and access to the Pacific Rim Trail
Cons: Service. Staff needs training. We stayed at a number of other hotels while on this trip. Staff at all felt more welcoming and engaged than here
Location: Close proximity to the Pacific Rim Trail - Tofino, hiking or running trails at your doorstep. Beaches, surfing, sea kayaking, good restaurants nearby
We spent three nights at this lovely resort in a one bedroom suite. The rooms were spacious and well appointed - the kitchenette had everything that one might need. We unfortunately did not get an ocean view room. If you are intent on an ocean view I recommend that you speak to the hotel directly to ensure. Our expansive deck faced the forest but we could catch a glimpse of the ocean at one end. The resort guarantees a 4 pm check- in. We arrived at around 3 and let the front desk know that we had arrived. We waited in the bar and had a snack? When we went back to the front desk at 4 they had given our room to another guest. We had to wait another 20 minutes or so while they went to the room to move the guests to their assigned room. There was no one to greet guests or assist with luggage on arrival. With the exception of our server in the bar, staff seemed very inexperienced - lacked "polish" We had no dvd player in our room (the hotel has an extensive library of dvds) and our fireplace did not work. When we mentioned to the front desk staff, their response was- "were we sure - there is a dvd player in all rooms it should be there" and the "fireplace should work". They did not seem particularly concerned. We did not pursue as neither the fireplace nor dvd were a key priority. Overall pleasant stay because of the tranquil location and access to the pacific rim trail, but could not help thinking that for a five star resort there should be five star service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Burnaby, B.C.

Lovely Get Away

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The bathroom is huge (about the size of my son's bedroom back home) and the tub is amazing! We enjoyed going to the louge one night for drinks.
Location: The town of Uclulet is pretty tiny but cute. It's within walking distance of the hotel. The deli at the Co-Op is a great place to stock up on snacks
We just got back from staying at the Black Rock for three nights. We had a one bedroom suite that had a partial ocean view. The suite was really nicely appointed and comfortable. We enjoyed our morning coffee out on the deck and it was wonderful to hear the ocean every night when we went to bed. We took several trips down to the hot tub but weren't brave enough to get into the "plunge pool" as it wasn't super hot when we were there. I had a massage from one of the RMT's who works at the spa. It was fantastic. She even came in on her day off which was pretty amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Nice hotel and room.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Overall very pleased with our stay. Great location, clean, awesome bathroom with heated floor huge bath and rainfall shower, fire place, well equipped kitchenette and attention to details (real milk and cream for coffee, super comfy bathrobes) etc. My only complaints are the following. Our room was close to the reception hall. There is a big door that separates the hall and the corridor for the rooms; it does a great job at keeping the sound of the hall from the rooms, but that door slams hard every time someone uses it. Make sure your room is as far as possible from that door! The only other minor annoyance was the fact that our suite, although having a fancy convection Miele oven, didn't have a table to eat on (it was raining, so we couldn't eat on the balcony).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Resort on the edge of BC's west coast

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Everything! A place for romance (they do tons of weddings), adventure for the whale watchers and hikers or a place to chill for people like me.
Cons: The fireplace was a bit tricky to light but other than that everything was first class. Including free wifi.
Location: Location is a bit isolated. Four hour drive from Victoria but once you are there, you are in west coast heaven.
Four nights on the edge of Canada. There are well groomed trails along the edge of the coast. A full service restaurant and a pub. The spa was incredibly relaxing and technically competent. We stayed in a suite overlooking the ocean with a fully equipped self serve kitchen and spa bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on pacific west coast.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Relaxed atmosphereo
Beautiful views of remote Pacific west coast. Relaxing hotel. Numerous outdoor activities available.walking trails, hiking, biking, running, kayaking ,whale watching, fishing and photography .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delta, BC

Five day stay at Black Rock Oceanfront Resort

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: We liked the location of the hotel with its good views of the bay and the ocean; liked the clean and spacious suite; liked the courteous staff.
Cons: The size of the swimming pool is very small... it's really a plunge pool, but not advertised as such on the resort website. Hot tubs are two person.
Location: Many outdoor activities to be found... walking, hiking, biking, ocean swimming, surfing, fishing, cruises, photography. Visiting Ucluelet and Tofino.
My husband and I had a mini vacation for our 45th wedding anniversary. Stayed in a one bedroom lodge suite on the fourth floor at the end of the building. It was very clean and spacious, and had an enormous wrap-around balcony with good views of the bay and ocean. We welcomed the kitchen with its amenities so we didn't have to eat out all the time. The staff were very courteous and helpful. They sent us a congratulatory card and a bottle of sparkling wine when they found out about our anniversary. This was a very pleasant unexpected surprise. We enjoyed walking along the trails which passed through the resort. We did not go to the restaurant or the lounge while we were there. My husband did try out the hot tub and the plunge pool. Although neither of these is very big, it serves the purpose. I was tempted to try the Spa, but in the end did not. This resort is quiet and comfortable. It is a good place to relax and enjoy the surroundings and to make day trips to the many nearby beaches, to Ucluelet, and to Tofino. There are many activities to be found in the area especially if you like fishing or watersports, and also hiking/walking, and cycling. Be sure to take your camera because there is a beautiful sight at every turn. In spite of the slightly rainy/misty weather, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Black Rock Oceanfront Resort, and the surrounding area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

ULTIMATE UCLUELET

Posted Jul 21, 2014
THE ROOMS ARE FANTASTIC! Great ocean views from the bed, the living room and even the tub! The food was exceptional and the staff was knowledgeable and very helpful,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow, this place is gorgeous.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The view: on a clear night the ocean and stars were magnificent. Then to wake up and sit on the balcony and listen to the ocean.
Cons: The "kitchenette" - Not the best appliances or kitchenware.
Family - 2 adults, 2 kids; 11-13. The views and surrounding area are absolutely gorgeous. The suites are clean and comfortable. The kids thoroughly exploring the trails and climbing the rocks (be careful). We stayed 4 nights, wanted to stay longer but had to continue with booked plans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from courtenay

Didn't take advantage of facilities so hard to say

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Room and view great. No air conditioning. I really just slept there as was attending a wedding in the area so I didn't take advantage of all the wonderful amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A place to stay while fishing

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Nice setting, new and it has double suites.
Cons: On the next morning we awoke at 5 am and went fishing. We left please make up the room notices on both suite doors. They were not touched.
Location: It was a bit annoying not to have the rooms made up as there was no coffee nor tea for the second day breakfast. Expedia bookers should not expect suc
I have stayed at the Black Rock before and found it to be the best place to stay in the area. Now that I am retired we brought friends who had not been fishing off the west coast of Vancouver Island nor had they been to Ucluelet before. Back in February I booked the Black Rock through Expedia. I do not like using such websites as one has to pay up front and there is no cancellation possible. However, it was half the cost of a normal July stay so the chance was taken. The impression given on checking in and out was that her was a party that was staying at a hotel for which a proper price had not been paid. Our room was on the third floor at the end of the level. One supposes this is given to those who do not pay full rack. The first night we ate at the hotel after a day of fishing. When we fronted up at the dining room we were chastised for not having made a reservation. This we were told was mandatory. This was not made clear at check in or on any forms provided. We ate in the Float restaurant and while the meal was probably as good as what could have been had in the dining room it was served in reverse order. The main course came first followed by the shrimp cocktail appetizers. When we commented we were told that it did not matter as the shrimp cocktail was a cold dish. The second night we dined in the town