Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

ULTIMATE UCLUELET

Posted Jul 21, 2014
THE ROOMS ARE FANTASTIC! Great ocean views from the bed, the living room and even the tub! The food was exceptional and the staff was knowledgeable and very helpful,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow, this place is gorgeous.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The view: on a clear night the ocean and stars were magnificent. Then to wake up and sit on the balcony and listen to the ocean.
Cons: The "kitchenette" - Not the best appliances or kitchenware.
Family - 2 adults, 2 kids; 11-13. The views and surrounding area are absolutely gorgeous. The suites are clean and comfortable. The kids thoroughly exploring the trails and climbing the rocks (be careful). We stayed 4 nights, wanted to stay longer but had to continue with booked plans.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from courtenay

Didn't take advantage of facilities so hard to say

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Room and view great. No air conditioning. I really just slept there as was attending a wedding in the area so I didn't take advantage of all the wonderful amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A place to stay while fishing

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Nice setting, new and it has double suites.
Cons: On the next morning we awoke at 5 am and went fishing. We left please make up the room notices on both suite doors. They were not touched.
Location: It was a bit annoying not to have the rooms made up as there was no coffee nor tea for the second day breakfast. Expedia bookers should not expect suc
I have stayed at the Black Rock before and found it to be the best place to stay in the area. Now that I am retired we brought friends who had not been fishing off the west coast of Vancouver Island nor had they been to Ucluelet before. Back in February I booked the Black Rock through Expedia. I do not like using such websites as one has to pay up front and there is no cancellation possible. However, it was half the cost of a normal July stay so the chance was taken. The impression given on checking in and out was that her was a party that was staying at a hotel for which a proper price had not been paid. Our room was on the third floor at the end of the level. One supposes this is given to those who do not pay full rack. The first night we ate at the hotel after a day of fishing. When we fronted up at the dining room we were chastised for not having made a reservation. This we were told was mandatory. This was not made clear at check in or on any forms provided. We ate in the Float restaurant and while the meal was probably as good as what could have been had in the dining room it was served in reverse order. The main course came first followed by the shrimp cocktail appetizers. When we commented we were told that it did not matter as the shrimp cocktail was a cold dish. The second night we dined in the town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel sitting on top of rocky coast

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Black Rock Oceanfront's main building is a modern, sleek multilevel hotel. Not your usual west-coast style. Beach access is not directly through the hotel since it sits on top of the rocky coastline. A great trail is running directly along the hotel. The little town center of Ucuelet is in walking distance. Rooms are spacious, very well appointed. The only negative is the somewhat noisy refrigerator. Staff is outstanding. A stay there is a nice contrast to other resorts in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxing and Magical Romantic Get Away

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: The location and views are magical and extremly romantic. The food at the restaurant is wonderful.
Location: You can walk out of the hotel (literally out of the door in the restaurant)and do a 9 km hike down the Wild Pacific Trail. The trail is breath taking
Our stay was a romantic get away. We stayed 2 nights and it was magical. Everything was top notch from the spa to the rooms to the restaurant. The only thing that I would have changed is our view, we booked a view of the rainforest instead of the ocean. The rocks and the ocean are so magical - we really should have paid the extra for the view; although we did get to appreciate the views from the restaurant, lobby and hot tub. We also spent some time warming up after a rainy day hike in the hot tub overlooking the rocks and the ocean. It was a really special experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Hotel was great. Room was fantastic. Loved the huge, deep bathtub, a shower that could fit 10 people and heated floors. All of the staff were amazing - so very friendly. I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ucluelet

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Awesome weekend hiking. Great views and location. Friendly, prompt and professional staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Vancouver Island

Beautiful hotel and awesome location on water

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Nicely appointed rooms. The fridge was noisy as it cycled on and off. The cleaning staff used walky talkies which were loud and disturbing. We would still go back to stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Close to Beach and Walking Trails

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The staff really went out of their way to make our experience special. Hand dipped chocolates awaited us in the room when we arrived. Bubbly at dinner
Cons: Breakfast, lunch and dinner are all served in the same space without much change in the decor. Dinner service could be a little more up-scale.
Location: Fabulous hiking trails in the immediate vacinity.
We chose Black Rock Resort to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary weekend . Booking was simple with Expedia as we were not able to get a room through the hotel directly. Our suite was lovely with a beautiful view of the ocean. The front desk staff get a special shout-out and Jillian in particular, who was able to get us a dinner reservation at a well-known Tofino restaurant last minute! Thank you so much!!