Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice ... Breakfast

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The only issue was slow internet and wireless service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel rating

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Cons: install an elevator
Location: lot of choices to go and visit around there
We thought your hotel was nice, clean, and the desk attendant was very helpful, however you lack in the handicap accessibility area! We are no longer able to climb stairs or carry our luggage up the stairs like we use to. There was not anyone available, except the desk attendant, to ask to help with our luggage etc. which I did not think was fair to her. No one asked if they could help even when they saw we were having a problem trying to get some of our stuff to the room on second floor. We failed to ask for a main floor room, because we did not know of the absence of an elevator, but we were told when we arrived there was only one room left, so we had no choice. I don't think we will book with you in the future for these reasons.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Friendly staff got us settled in. Breakfast of waffles and Sausage Mac Muffin work out. Drank too much Orange juice. :-D
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tom from minnesota

No internet

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: See above.
No internet - not even narrow band. Lost my reservation. They had no record of me or my confirmation number. Nothing. Blah.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very clean and offered a great breakfast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LRB from Minneapolis

Comfortable, and nice location

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Served our purposes well - as we had too many people along to sleep at our rental condo. Good price and easy access. Pleasant hotel & welcoming staff.
2 out of 5
by Marie from MN

Nail clippings from past guest still on carpet

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Location: There are many state parks around this hotel. Walking around Temperance River and the Superior shore was my favorite part of the stay.
We didn't spent much time in the hotel so it wasn't that bad and definitely didn't ruin our day. I was charged more for the stay on arrival than what I was quoted when booking the room online. When we got to our room there was nail clippings on the carpet from a past guest. Not just a few either that could easily be missed by a vacuum, there was a trail of nail clippings going behind the chair they had leading to a bigger pile of nails under the end table. Everything other than that in the room looked clean. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. I wouldn't recommend this hotel but it was cheaper than other available hotels at the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Nice overall

Posted Sep 9, 2013
Pros: Beds, Breakfast, location.
Cons: Wifi
Location: Enjoyed going to Grand Portage and Piegion falls.
Nearly everything was very nice including the breakfast. The only negative point was the Wifi. Although it was not a major problem for us this trip. Beautiful location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tofte AmericInn

Posted Aug 30, 2013
This is not the first time we have stayed here, and are certain to stay again. We took a short day trip up the North Shore, enjoying a picnic, a climb up Palisade Head, and great view from the Lutsen tram, all with our dog. The AmericInn has a pet-friendly room that was perfect for our family. We enjoy that the lobby has an up-north ambience, 24-hour beverages, and a gift shop. The pool, hot tub, and sauna are perfect, and open up to a deck with a lovely view of Lake Superior. We had a campfire that evening and guest services provided s'more kits! The next day, we enjoyed the leisurely, northwoods drive to Ely for more tourist sights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comforable hotel with pleasant staff

Posted Aug 21, 2013
Pros: Pet friendly, great breakfast buffet, clean.
Cons: Wi-fi
Location: About 25 minutes to Grand Marais. Many hiking trails and falls nearby. Right by Lake Superior
Wi-fi was extremely slow so don't count on using your computer. Otherwise everything else was great.