Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

It's a Japanese Hotel for Japanese

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: very nice facility, near transport, restaurants, coffee shops. People very nice though they could not speak A WORD of English.
Cons: Would help immensely if they had at least one moderately capable English speaker. In Thailand MOST everyone speaks some to very good English.
Location: Sumo stadium and museum. Reasonably priced restaurants from sushi to burgers, bakery, two great coffee shops where people spoke some English.
The hotel was clean, well appointed, room very good, bathroom excellent but I would not recommend this hotel for non-Japanese speakers. When we checked in, a smiling young lady said, 'Welcome!..passport?', and that was the entire extent of English that any staffer ever spoke to us. There were few English words in the room about anything and when I went down to try and find out the 'check out time', it could have been a comedy sketch. They were all super nice but no way could I communicate what I wanted to know and despite their bringing in most everyone who worked there to try and help, I never found out the check out time. I just assumed it was noon. If I had had a room problem, or health problem, it could have been...bad. The tv in our room was not free nor was the wi fi. Talking to the staff for more info would have been impossible. There was also no pool nor exercise room. Though not near any foreign tourist site, it was 30 seconds from a subway station and five minutes from a train stop. it was a 5-7 min walk to a street with excellent REASONABLE and good places to eat and coffee shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Toronto, Canada

Great location and pleasing facilities

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Great location.
Cons: It is more than adequate for a stay in Tokyo. Highly recommended.
Location: Walking distance to Asakusa market.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Dai Ichi Hotel. The hotel was well located and the room was clean and had all of the necessary amenities. The room is small but served the purpose...a place to relax and sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fabian from Singapore

Reasonable hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2014
While not in the central area, there's the subway just beside it and the JR line 10 minutes from it. There's also lots of cheap authentic japanese food en route to the train station (mostly ranged 600 to 1300 yen) Very convenient if you'll visit places like akihabara.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Sumida area hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Hotel is next to subway stop near good neighborhood that is famous for shabu shabu like cousine called chanca. The only problem is no wireless in rooms though they have a cable hook up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Convenient, quiet

Posted Mar 18, 2014
I stayed here with my husband and 2 kids (aged 4 and 1). The hotel is close to 2 train lines (JR and metro), so it was very convenient to get around. The metro line is right next to the hotel! The JR line is about a 7 minute walk; but I found the stroll to be a pleasant one each morning we left. The hotel is next to the Edo museum, which is also next to the Sumo museum. The Skytree is just a couple of stations away. From my room, I could see the Tokyo tour and Mt. Fuji on a clear day! The staff were all friendly; however, not one spoke sufficient English. I was surprised that even the concierge staff had trouble giving me directions. We had to communicate using gestures and maps and broken vocabulary.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A bit out of the way

Posted Jan 18, 2014
This hotel is located next to Edo museum and the Sumo stadium. The location is ok, but not in the heart of anything. About US$15 by cab or $1.30 per person by subway (1 change) from Tokyo station. The hotel is good value and the rooms are reasonable. Our only complaint was that the beds are hard in the Japanese style. The staff were helpful and friendly. The guests were mostly Japanese, which is a good thing as you enjoy the experience more. There are plenty of inexpensive restaurants, caf├ęs, bakeries etc nearby. Tip - there are 6 sumo championships on each year. Iris well worth going. Buy unreserved seats in the morning and return for the afternoon session. Book in advance for weekends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to subway station

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Nice hotel in convenient location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stratis

Modern hotel with great city views

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: The view.
Cons: The bed matress.
Dai-Ichi Ryogoky is a modern hotel, very reasonably priced for what it offers: namely, breathtaking views of Tokyo. Rooms are in top floors (14 to 24, mine was in 22) and I'm pretty sure most, if not all, have great views. My room was spacious, bathroom too. It had all modern amenities (small fridge, kettle, flatscreen tv). Window doesn't open, just air vents. What I enjoyed most however was the view, which included the new Tokyo SkyTree tower. If you get the chance, ask for a room in that side! The hotel location (Ryogoku) isn't bad either. There's a metro station entrance right next to the hotel entrance and a JR station a few hundred meters away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by dnch from singapore

daiichi hotel ryogoku

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a good hotel. 24/7 there is a receptionist at the counter and their receptionists are all well trained in English. The hotel is clean and spacious as well. The location is good as well..1 subway station within 100m 2nd station within 400m. Everything is within walking distance even thought it is slightly off the crowded area of Tokyo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shannon from Chicago, IL, USA

Great option for families or business travelers!

Posted Aug 17, 2013
Pros: Hotel has large rooms and western style baths.
Location: Safe and secure location close to the Ryogoku train station. There is a convenience store at the hotel as well as a bakery and coffee shop.
The hotel offers a true Japanese experience with many western features including a large room and western bath. Bath toiletries are provided including shampoo, conditioner, and bath soap dispensers, toothpaste, toothbrush, hair brush, make up set with cotton pad and Q tip. Bath sponges are provided each day in lieu of washcloths. Four of us stayed very comfortably in a triple room which had two double beds and a twin. There are no English TV stations however there are Video On Demand movies available for $10/day. The hotel location is close to the Ryogoku station which requires traveling one station to transfer to direct lines for the Tokyo and Shinjuku stations. The Edo Museum is very close by as well as the Sumo wrestling stadium. The hotel is also very close to Asakusa which has a fabulous temple and authentic shopping area. Hotel offers Internet with a LAN cable so bring a wireless router if WiFi is needed for computers, tablets, cell phones, etc. If a three prong grounded plug is needed please bring an adapter. Hotel staff do not speak a lot of English but are very anxious to help in any way possible. Would highly recommend staying here!