Ratings based on 360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great location, reasonably priced

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Great location, reasonable price, helpful staff. Beautiful garden in the center of this three-hotel complex.
Location: Five minute walk to Shinagawa station, easy access to subway and high speed trains. Walkable to waterfront.
I was told Tokyo was expensive; this very convenient (subway, bullet train) hotel was very reasonable. Prior to my two days, I stayed in the Prince Tower in the same complex (paid by business); if I hadn't had that newly renovated and more expensive hotel to compare to, I probably would have rated this one even higher. But still a very comfortable, large room with desk, refrigerator, twin beds, good bath. Beautiful sheets and very clean and great staff. Lots of variety of inexpensive restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great Upgrade!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Beautiful Japanese garden, classic well-maintained vintage hotel in the grand style--outer appearance of the hotel is not impressive but nice interior
We were upgraded to the 15th floor 45m room for an extra 1000 yen per night! What a great deal! Could be the best hotel deal in Tokyo. Good free shuttle service to and from Shinagawa station. Make a reservation for the shuttle the night before to get your preferred time for the shuttle ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Jacksonville, FL

A perfect room from which to explore Tokyo.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the JR East Rail Shinagawa station and the very helpful staff, especially the concierges.
Cons: The only point I took off was for the firmness of the mattress.
Location: The location within 10 minute walk of Shinagawa station allowed easy access to all the rail lines and had plenty of restaurants .
Professional, Courteous, and Helpful staff made the stay extremely enjoyable. The facilities, although small by American standards, were more than enough to get restful sleep and plan out the next days adventures. The room was clean and well stocked with amenities. If you are like us and do not want the room cleaned every day, they will give you ¥500 (about $5.00) for any day they do not clean to spend in the Hotel shops or restaurants. Our economy double room had a queen size bed and faced the Tokyo tower. There was plenty of room for two, but would recommend the next size larger if you have a larger group.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gerry from Derbyshire

Third time to stay here

Posted Jun 11, 2014
This hotel is a in a great location for business. I have stayed 3 times and it costs me a lot less than London to stay.
2 out of 5
by Denise from Newcastle Australia

First two nights in Japan/Tokyo

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Beautiful gardens. Pleasant staff. Close location to station, shopping and food outlets.
Cons: Room Comfort, Air-conditioning and Bed
Location: As above
We are a married couple in our early 60's. Location and access to Hotel was fine. Close to the station which was handy and a nice walk. Shuttle bus available if required. Size of the room was big compared to the norm in Japan. Enjoyed the quiet surrounds of the place, but our beef with this hotel was comfort. There was no air movement in the room and we had no way of controlling it or the temp. The room was basically hot and stuffy. The size of the double bed was ok, important given my husband is 195cm tall, but it was very hard and not comfortable to sleep on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Prince Takanawa

Posted May 31, 2014
Wow! the room was great. Staff is super helpful despite language barrier.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK hotel, looking over Tokyo Tower,

Posted May 26, 2014
The room is typical Japanese small. The fridge is quiete, the bathroom is OK, although I noticed the sewage smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Birmingham

Grand Prince Takanawa Hotel

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Size of room and location
Cons: The hotel was tired and needs refurbishment. A nice touch would be tea/coffee making in the room.
Location: Close to Shinagawa train station and the Shinagawa aquarium (Prince group residents get a discount for entry).
The hotel is well located and is comfortable. We were on the 14th floor but were close to the lifts which were not modern or quiet. The room overlooked the Japanese garden which was lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by glenda from san francisco

Name is "grand" but room is very average.

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: The garden is lovely, the lobby and the hotel staff are nice.
Cons: The room had a very musty smell and the size, probably average japanese standard, small by a western standard. Also the bed was rock hard.
Location: Walking distance from Shinagawa station, but uphill!
Solid 3.5 stars. This is clearly an older hotel, and the rooms reflect the age. This is not a fancy hotel as the name would suggest - although the garden and the lobby was quite beautiful. The beds are hard, but this is a Japanese hotel so that is to be expected. We stayed on the 14th floor and it had a great view of the city. The hotel staff are very nice and provided great service. If you are looking for a clean, decent room at a good price, with basic amenities this hotel will suffiice. But, if you are looking for a room of a 4 or 5 star level, you are in the wrong place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by plum blossom from portland, OR

Excellent location for value and comfort.

Posted May 15, 2014
My husband and I are in Japan for 2 weeks ( this is day 5), traveling all over Honshu using JR Pass. Wanted a hotel near the train station for convenience and Japanese friend recommended Shinagawa area rather than Tokyo. Found hotel based on reviews on trip advisor and other sites. Booked it on line 4 weeks in advance: twin room non-smoking on higher floor with garden view. Stayed 2 nights. Would have stayed 3 when itinerary changed a week before departure but all sold out! Everything was as reviewed: convenient (short walk to station and there was a hotel shuttle too), great view of a tranquil garden from room, which was a good size with comfortable beds, quiet (could not hear train noise) and clean, wonderful staff (Mia you were a gem), thoughtful maid (who noticed that we used the hot water pot the first day and thereafter kept it filled and plugged in), a safe in the room for storing valuables, and free WIFI. The Shinagawa station is beautifully designed, chock full of places to eat, and easy to negotiate. On a side note: we purchased a Green JR Pass (first class) and it has convinced us only 5 days into the trip that it is a great way to go. When we activated the pass upon arrival in Narita, we also asked the agent to reserve seats on all the train operated by JR for our entire trip. (We did our research on Hyperdia (fabulous website) and had the same Japanese friend write down our train schedules to show the agent.) You can change your reservation if plans change later.