Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Great location and staff

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Location and staff excellent - garden stunning
Cons: The pool - or rather lack of access and expense for guests
Location: Some great eating places very nearby and children had lots of fun fishing in the lake nearby
Lovely hotel, great location and v pleasant rooms. Only down side was the swimming pool - booked to stay here as knew that a pool would be great to cool down during the hot summer. Didn't realise though that would cost 11,000 Yen for one visit (!) and that most of the time it would be full (!). Great hotel overall but ignore the pool - it's an expensive extra (if you can get in) and was a new experience to have a hotel pool that isn't really a hotel pool!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Very Nice and Professional

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Location: Shinjuku-dori Avenue is only a block away, filled with banks, convenience stores, and restaurants.
The New Otani Hotel was a very nice hotel with a very refined atmosphere. My room was always tidied up when I returned in the evening and the staff was always greeting me with cheerful and polite smiles. There was a very good choice of food and drink within the hotel, as well as an in-room massage service and many shops. There were three train stations within a few blocks of either side of the hotel, making travel to and from the New Otani very simple and short. It was also only a couple of blocks from Shinjuku-dori Avenue, making any business I had on Shinjuku-dori Avenue very easy. As far as I could tell, the counter staff knew English, which made for a very easy check-in and check-out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunnyvale, CA

Old-World Charm, Convenient Location

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location, old-world charm, beautiful grounds. English speaking and very helpful and attentive staff.
Cons: Room decor is a little dated. More explanation of pool protocol would be nice. re-evaluate pricing of meals at restaurants.
Location: Close by to a lot of restaurants and shops, I recommend honolulu coffee for breakfast and itamae sushi for dinner.
When pricing out hotels for our stay (2 adults and 2 kids), the majority of hotels in Japan charged extra if you had more people stay in the room. Hotel New Otani Tokyo was not one of them and it was the only one where we could get 3 beds in the room. We had hoped it would be 2 singles and a double but it turned out to be 3 single beds in a 2 room suite. The outer "living" room had a couch and chair, a desk/chair, media cabinet with refrigerator. The bedroom had 3 single beds, TV. Although the room decor was a little dated the room was clean and very comfortable for our family. The hotel grounds were really, really nice with a large Japanese garden with waterfall. I can see why a lot of weddings are held here. Restaurants were good but really pricey so I would recommend going off grounds for meals. Make sure you sign up for the New Otani Club so you can get free wi-fi and pool use. Otherwise I think it's $15/day for wi-fi and $20-30/day per person for the pool. Going to pool is like going to a country club. It has it's own entrance to check-in, where you get a locker, robe and towel. You then need to go through locker room to get to pool. Despite some flaws, would not hesitate to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

One of the few hotels in Tokyo that's not cramped.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Try the hotel's excellent Japanese restaurant for breakfast. The staff and especially the Concierge desk are extremely helpful. Try the outdoor pool.
Cons: Check in speed. Also their luggage forwarding service (Takubin) is the least well run of any major Japanese hotel I know.
Great facilities. The staff try to be very helpful, but are hampered by inflexible management systems. Check in took 30 minutes before they could find the double room I'd pre-booked (sorry, apparently only "requested")months in advance (even though I'm one of their "priority" customers having stayed there 3 times this year so far). I go back because I like the location and it's one of the few Tokyo hotels not on a cramped site.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SFO

LOCATION GOOD....HOTEL JUST OK

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Location is very good. Japanese Gardens are still quite beautiful.
Cons: Nearly everyone agreed that the beds could be more comfortable. A higher level of English support would help make families feel more comfortable.
Location: The location is probably one of the best in Tokyo with most major attractions within a short train or taxi ride. No complaints.
The first time I stayed at the New Otani was 1994 and it still feels like 1994. At the time, it was THE hotel in Tokyo but the place just hasn't kept up with modernizing it's facilities. Today it's really just "ok". Beds were hard, rooms were pretty basic and very little English spoken by the staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Very disappointing

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The garden
Cons: Visa debit cards should be accepted. I was told later Japanese only have cash cards or credit cards. I don't know if they confused it with a cashcard
Location: Good location but the hotel just relies on its pool and gardens. No information about things to do.
I checked in, admittedly looking like a homeless person because I had been camping. I was put in a room which had a building In Front of it so there went my great views. The blinds didn't work and visa debit on check in. I should have complained but I was so tired and jet lagged it was just too much. The place is very 1970's and to be honest I've stayed in better travel lodges. The staff were polite at best and did their job but I did expect more. The place is huge I spent 20 minutes trying to find the gardens. Staff I asked just pointed vaguely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Experience overall was okay. Having just traveled through China to several hotels, I was surprised to find that the overall room was satisfactory, but not overly nice. Plugs were difficult to find for computer use and bathroom was very small. Toilet seemed older and not as clean as others I had experienced at less expensive hotels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Well positioned hotel near Akasaka

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Cons: Showers (mixing arrangements in particular)
Location: See above
The hotel has a good position near the Government Offices in Alasaka, close to the Ginza line underground and within easy reach of Marounouchi, Ginza, Minato and Roppongi. The hotel is vast and the service a bit impersonal (although the concierge was good). The rooms are reasonably well furnished and spacious but the bathrooms (especially the shower fixtures) rather dated. The tempura restaurant was "so-so" but the sushi and Nadaman restaurants outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jackie from Victoria BC

Excellent hotel

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
New Otani is an excellent hotel. Great location and has a beautiful garden with waterfall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vic from Oakland, California

Excellent hotel with everything you need

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Culture rich environment, especially the Japanese garden.
Cons: If the bed could be bigger, it would be great !
Location: Subway and JR Chou line are nearby. It is also located in the center of government/political buildings.
Two small beds is not in a USA standard. Except this, everything else is perfect.