Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Emilia Ko from Taiwan

Good choice

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel. The C/P value is high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PS from Singapore

Value for money

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Albeit a bit of a walk from the train station, I have no complaints about the hotel in general. The room is clean, comfortable and not too small. If I had to make one complaint, it would be the pillows. They are kind of flat. :P
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Derby

Cheap and cheerful, but great value

Posted Sep 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
The standard of room cleaning was very high, although the method employed did take quite some time. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. The location was very good, with nearby access to the JR station at Ikebukuro. There were lots of local 24 hour shops, so there was no danger of going hungry or running out of beer! Yes, the hotel could do with a facelift but that's nit-picking....you get what you pay for and this was very affordable. Free wi-fi was very useful (but try not to be in a room too far away from the router - the signal in my room was quite weak). The air conditioning struggled a bit but just about coped when left on at full tilt. I would certainly stay again at the New Star again, mainly down to the excellent standard of service that the staff provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by ZeroDS from Japan

A nice stay once again

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Can't beat this hotel if you're on a budget, 2nd time staying here. Once again completely great for the money.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Lor from Vancouver

Not good

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
I did not enjoy my stay. I requested a non-smoking room but the room and the whole place, except the front desk area, reeked of cigarette smoke. Although there was an air conditioner, it seemed to bring in cigarette smoke air too. The front desk staff were nice though. The location was okay and allowed me to do some sightseeing at Sunshine City. If you are a non-smoker or sensitive to the cigarette smell, then I do not recommend this place. I will not go back there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
ROOM VERY HOT EVEN TURN ON AIR CONDITIONER TO HIGH; ROOM VERY SMALL
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by ZeroDS from UK

Great for the price

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great place to stay. The only thing that was a downside was the wallpaper. It needs to be changed and. Other than that great hotel for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Frequent Flyer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Ari

Reasonable for students on a budget

Posted Jun 13, 2013
A short walk from Ikebukuro Station, the hotel is on a main road & is easy to find despite only having a small sign outdoors. The front desk is staffed 24h, which is useful since you leave your key with them when leaving. There are no laundry services but there is a 24h coin laundry a few minutes up the street. There are also countless convenience stores within a five minute walk for all your snacking needs - as a vegetarian with very poor Japanese language skills I found it difficult to eat in restaurants, but there was plenty of delicious, cheap and surprisingly hearty food at the 7-11s, Lawsons, and FamilyMarts in the area. My room was a standard single - as expected, there was very little space in the room not occupied by the bed or desk. They provide fresh towels, bathmats, robes and toothbrush/toothpaste/sachets of green tea each day and collect the used towels/robes as well as your trash. Since I keep odd hours (sleeping through the morning, staying up late) I took to leaving the bag and towels outside my door and they were collected while I slept. They leave the fresh ones in a bag by the door if you are not in/awake. The room is not very well lit but it's not horribly dark either. There are four electrical outlets - three on the desk and one on the bed. The control panel on the bed also allows you to control the AC and some of the lights. The room has a fridge and a hotplate with a small kettle you can use to heat up water for tea, soup, and cup noodle.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok but dissappointing staff

Posted Aug 3, 2012
Pros: Free coffee
Cons: Staff sttitude
Location: Ok, easy access by subway to Yamanote line attractions and sites.
The hotel is old but ok. The staff was not very kind so the stay was not very enjojable. Apart from that everrything was ok.