Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester UK

Perfectly satisfactory if you don't expect much

Posted Jul 16, 2014
I read the reviews before booking it, and would say it's fairly accurate. The location is very good, staff are very polite. Room was tiny and hotel in general was in need of a re vamp, but was clean and pleasant enough. Wouldn't stay for more than 2 nights
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paul from Yorkshire

Quite Sufficient

Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Hotel is superbly located for the whole Shinjuku area - a 15 min walk from the main railway stn and 5 min from a metro station. The infrastructure is fairly old for japan but this is compensated for by the friendly attitude of the staff. Room is small - but so were all the rooms we stayed in during our stay in Japan. WOuld happily stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent choice

Posted Dec 27, 2012
The rooms here are not big and not luxurious, but the location is excellent and it's good value for money. Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Tateshina. Yes, the rooms are small and the quirky bathroom feels like you are in a campervan but who cares? I came to see Tokyo not spend thousands of dollars on a hotel and sit in the room admiring its amenities. The people at the front desk are friendly, it's clean, quiet yet close to Kabukicho and Shinjuku station. Definately reccommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brazil

Much better than the photos can show

Posted Dec 24, 2012
Nice Location, with a variety of restaurants and convenience stores, about 5 blocks from the busiest part of Shinjuku.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Brampton, ON, Canada

Great place to stay to visit Tokyo!

Posted Dec 7, 2012
Pros: location was great, as were the staff
Location: Hotel is very close to the action of Shinjuku station, but far enough away to have nice quiet nites!
Very close to subway station and only about 15 min from Shinjuku station, so great location for touring the City via public transportation. Staff were very friendly, and helpfull, providing an appreciated bottle of water upon arrival, and lots of maps/guides for the city. As others have said, very basic, but was all I needed, a bed and bathroom. Both were comfortable, but small, but since I didn't spend much time in the room other than sleeping, it was all I wanted. Great area, nice and quiet. Great western breakfast if you want one, prepared fast and fresh by the staff. Then even gave me a birthday gift while I was there, which was very much appreciated!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Basic comfort

Posted Nov 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
OK, it's not exactly Ritz nor Savoy, but hey who needs that kind of hotel if you are in a city like Tokyo, 24HRS party town ? They are aware it is a tad bit difficult to find them, not on the main road but they have a good sign, can't miss. Their breakfast price is a slightly more than an average, but you are in Shinjuku, you must be blind if you can't find any place where serve breakfast anyway. They have 2 computer free to use for all the guests, even you can hire a laptop, and that is a good idea. Highly recommedable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Terence

Low Quality Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Tateshina Hotel is a really low quality hotel! I think Hotels.com should not even list them in their website. The rooms are really small and cramp, it makes you feel you are in a chicken coop! And I cannot understand why one should pay more for a non-smoking room than a smoking room! One really feel you are inside a smoke chamber. Apart from that, the hotel claimed to have wireless internet access in the rooms but their signals are so weak, you really can't receive anything except at the lift lobby. I will never stay in that hotel again even if it is free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good value for money

Posted Oct 17, 2012
Pros: beer and drink machines, free use of internet on PCs provided plus laptop rentals if needed, local to metro and attractions of shinjiku. good value
Cons: breakfest would be better served until 10 instead of 9
Location: great for being smack band in the heart of shinjiku
great hotel. staff very helpful, polite. free use of internet plus maps given from staff. right near the main attractions of shinjiku, so not far to walk to local metro stations if you want to head out of the city plus all the shops are just a little stroll round the corner. good value for money if you are on a budget. cant fault this very good little hotel