Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Close to subway and JR station

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Even though I had a non-smoking room, my bathroom smelt heavily of smoke. Im guessing somehow it came from the room above or below.
Great location next to both train stations which is handy if that's how you are going to travel around Tokyo. Also the train from Haneda stops on this line. Owners are very friendly and gave me a departing gift.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small and pricy hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
The room facilities are old (e.g. TV was made in 90s) and their semi double room is too small to hold two persons. The location is actually not that good which still requires some minutes walk to subway station . You should be able to get a much better and cleaner hotel with this price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Qld Australia

Good for Price

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Location was great close to subway and JR line. Being a Budget Hotel the price was good. The Staff.
Cons: Fro me the Bed.
The staff were very good. My room was old but clean. The bed was to hard for my comfort.
2 out of 5
by Al from California

OK Location - but run down and a little sketchy...

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Off all the hotels we stayed at in Japan, this was our least favorite. While it was a little less expensive than most, it's very run down. The doors and walls are paper thin, the tiny and crammed rooms seem like they haven't been redone in 30 years, and there was a creepy stack of old empty suitcases sitting the hall. On the first night, we were woken up by incessant pounding on our neighbors door. No yelling, no words spoken, just five minutes of pounding. Since there are no peepholes on the doors, this left quite a bit to imagination and I was hesitant to open my own door to see what the commotion was. It finally ended with someone sprinting down the hallway and running down the stairs... Whether goon or ghost - it was pretty unsettling. You also have to leave your key at the front desk every time you go out which is a little annoying considering 2 of the 3 front desk staff we saw weren't very friendly - even for American standards. My best advice: spend a little extra per night and find something nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from New Zealand

Tokyos little secret

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: The owner, family and staff were so friendly and helpful. The service and cleaning of our room was excellent.
Cons: Room was a little small for 2 people.
Location: Convenient to JR rail station and subway. Only 6 mins to Tokyo Central. Tokyo Skytree tower, Sensoji temple, Ueno zoo, Edo museum, street markets.
My granddaughter is studying Japanese at High school, so I decided to take her to Japan to experience the real culture and food many tourists overlook. I have been there 13 times, but I could not have made a better choice of hotel. Yanagibasi Hotel was a superb place to stay. Tomoko's welcome when we checked in was heart warming. We immediately felt comfortable and relaxed as we chatted about our plans. Tomoko speaks good English, and her mother Sachiko did so much for us. A family type friendship quickly developed as we met Tomoko's baby and exchanged gifts with her mother. The cute young receptionist on saturday was very helpful with directions (sorry, I forgot your name), and we found the market and places I was looking for. We left with sadness as we could not meet Tomoko that day, but . . . "we will be back".
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bel Enriquez from Philippines

Convenient location

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is conveniently located near the train station, which made it easy for me and my son to go to the different spots of Tokyo. That it is only a station away from Akihabara appealed to my son much. Where to eat was not a problem at all as there are lots of options nearby. Room's clean, staff are very pleasant. Will definitely stay here again on our next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tan from Thailand

Nice hotel close to JR station.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
This hostel is very nice. Comfortable. Inside the room they provide lot of facility ex. Hair dyer, free wifi. Also it takes only 3-4 minutes to walk from the station. so it's very convenience for travelling and for the person who have to carry thier heavy luggage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paula from Boston

Good value

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is very small (like all hotels in big cities) but it has everything you need. It is close to the metro station that allows you to go through Tokyo easily and the staff is incredible friendly! They don't speak perfect english but always try their best to make you feel welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A quick stop over in Tokyo

Posted Mar 17, 2014
We had a 6 day stop over in tokyo before going snowboarding, the rooms are quiet small but they have everything you need private shower and toilet and comfortable beds. very well located right near a train station and walking distance to a lot of cool sites. the staff are very friendly and nice. we had an amazing time in tokyo and our room added to the satisfaction of the trip if your looking for a cheap hotel thats easy to get around from this is the one!!! would defiantly stay here again