Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joseph from Chicago, IL

Good location and friendly staff but rough sleep

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed with my wife at the Oak Hotel for 5 days at the beginning of a 2 week trip of Japan and it was mixed. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were the largest we stayed in while there - which is still pretty small - but we both had a tough time because the beds are rock solid! I even made sure we got the Western-style room option (ie. not the Japanese futon-style bed) anticipating a less-than ideal sleeping situation but it was worse than I had prepared for. We stayed in 2 other hotels while in Japan and the beds were certainly not what we are used to in US hotels but our next hotel Osaka was like a cloud after staying in the beds at the Oak. The neighborhood was great and close to public transport - the hotel itself is a little tricky to find at first since it's tucked inside an alley off a main street but once you get used to the area, it's fine. Overall, this would have been a much better experience if our backs and necks weren't killing us after a few days from sleeping on those beds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maumu from Singapore

Really small and basic.

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Affordable for budget solo travelers.
Cons: Wireless internet.
Location: Go to Asakusa and visit the Sensoji Temple, where there are rows of street shopping for snacks and souvenirs.
Even though it is a single room, the room's walkway is twisted which makes the room even smaller. Bed is a pure single bed and room is cramped. Very basic, don't expect any views out of the window. Wireless internet is quite poor - connection would drop or not work at certain times, have to ask them for alternatives. Staff is however very, very friendly and are happy to help. Location is quite far from the main Ueno Station (15 mins walk) but is just 3 mins walk from the smaller Inaricho Station (must change and pay another 160 yen for just a station distance, which is not quite worth it). Location is however close to Asakusa and the east side of the city. No shopping nearby - just neighbourhood shops and eateries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Victoria from Kalamazoo, Michigan

Inexpensive and well located in Tokyo

Posted Dec 4, 2013
The Oak Hotel was a very accommodating place to stay while in Tokyo. It is a relatively short walk (20 min) to Ueno Park and the accompanying neighborhood. The hotel is small, but tidy and clean. The room was very small with barely enough room for the double sized futon mattress. But for the price and convenience we were well pleased. We would recommend the Oak Hotel to other travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robbie from Beijing

Very clean and close to subway station

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Pros: Location, cheap price, kind stuffs, clean room, information exchange in the front desk for travelers
Cons: The toilet doesn't have the washlet as all others do, which is not convenient for the one like me who is very much used to it.
Location: One convenient store very close, an Indian restaurant, and yoshinoya nearby. One stop to Ueno park, National Museum, etc
I was staying there for 3 nights and it is a very good place to be recommended. The stuffs there are very kind with good English, the room is very small as usual but very clean, they have CNN channel for me to kill sometime at night, and it is very close to the metro station ( about 300m away). Having said all such, it is very economical hotel comparing with others nearby, so I will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small budget hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2013
Pros: good location, nice staffs.
Cons: room a bit too small
Location: good location for shopping, train stations, park , restaurant
our 2nd time in this hotel and we are very satisfied with staying here. good location, close to train station, shopping area, restaurant etc...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel and location

Posted Nov 27, 2013
great location and price was amazing. The only slight negative was the bed was very hard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert Palmer from St. Paul Minnesota, USA

Great Budget Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location and price. The staff is friendly and helpful. Lobby had a full kitchen and guests prepared meals for themselves and swapped travel stories. Just a block and a half from the Ginza Subway Line , 2 stops from Asakusa and 1 stop from Ueno. The Hotel is an old style business man hotel but the rooms were no smaller then the newer holels I stayed in on this trip. It will be my first choise when I return to Tokyo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by William Yap from Singapore

Comfortable beds

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Small comfortable hotel. Staffs spoke good English. Room was a bit small but clean. Beds were comfortable. Located near a subway station and within walking distance to Asakusa and Kappabashi area.