Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver Co.

nice Japanese hotel, Ryokan

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: nothing
Location: Ueno zoo, Ueno Park, and a very large city with plenty of shopping and eating
This hotel is close to Ueno zoo,park and you can walk or take a city bus to the trains This is a good place for Tokyo tourist. We where there for six days. You can go any where by train from Ueno.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maui, HI

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Best was early chk-in, host spoke some English and was very pleasant. Downstairs area had shoe storage, house slipprs, ice mkr, water cooler.
Cons: We enjoyed our stay at Ryokan Katsutaro
Location: Walk 5-15 min to Ueno Zoo, Ueno Park, Toshogu Shrine, JR Ueno Station.
Room was spacious, futon bed on floor, cold a/c room unit, window opened to street side, free wi-fi. Double room had two large futons which were very comfortable & floor table, hot water pot & tea packets. Convenience store across street always seemed open. Single shower with changing room could be locked. Toilet at end of hall with a hand rinse at top of tank was different. Stairs are narrow and steep (expected at a Ryokan) so do not plan on large/heavy luggage or small children who may find stairs irresistable. There is a small shared fridge and sink. Washer/dryer combo available - minimal cost, laundry soap provided. As it is 5-15 min walking to Ueno activities (Zoo, Park, Shrine, JR Ueno station, Ameyokocho shopping section) there are also occasional taxi passing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for short stay

Posted Jul 5, 2014
This place is good for people who wants to experience traditional Japanese room. Room is clean and comfortable. Only cons is that you might need share bathroom with other tenents, which might not be convenient for people who wants to stay for couple days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by lionelyeokc from Singapore

Authentic Experience

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you are looking to 'live' like a Japanese, Ryokan Katsutaro is the place for you. It is furnished like a typical Japanese home with futons for beds and tatami flooring. It was very comfortable and cosy which makes it good for families. It is located about 15mins walk away from the very well connected Ueno station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jay from Australia

Beautiful ryokan in a great location!

Posted Apr 1, 2014
This ryokan was a great find! It was clean and had a lot of room in the room we were staying in. The futon was super soft and comfortable and there was air con and heating. The staff were super helpful and friendly! The ryokan is located between two stations and is very close to the Ueno zoo, a temple and a giant street full of shops is only a 3 minute walk away! Yet it was quiet and very homely! Only one stop away from akihabara! This hotel was a great place to stay while exploring tokyo and I would gladly stay there again and again. If you are going to Tokyo and want a very reasonably priced ryokan that is clean with a lot of room plus the traditional Japanese feel this ryokan is perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Hoaura from Sydney

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cozy clean ta ta mi while the sink in the bathroom isn't working well. Served by a nice old lady who is the owner although only speaks Japanese. Closed to the bus stop 18 and Nezu metro station in Chiyoda line. There is a short cut to the station opposite the bus stop. Around 700 Yen by taxi from Keisei Ueno Station where you can catch the sky liner to NRT airport. All in all then, it is a nice place to stay within the budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phyllis from Houston, TX

Lovely place close to the Ueno zoo and museums

Posted Dec 5, 2013
This is a beautiful ryokan tucked away from the bustle and noise of the city. Walking distance to zoo and museums. Everything we could have needed was provided at this quaint Japanese style hotel. We loved the experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by db from Armidale, NSW

For a Ryokan quite roomy

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
quiet, excellent location for Ueno museum-goers. Kimono provided, very clean, good air (ability to open windows). No idea if the price was good or not: it seemed very reasonable for the location.