Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tokyo

Traditional Japanese Inn

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Every one must try this Inn Wonderful! Recommend if you want to seek a cultural experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Alexander from Chicago, IL

Great stay for average sized people

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Of the four hotels I stayed in on my trip to Japan, this was by far my favorite. The staff was warm and accommodating, spoke very good English, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Full disclosure: the hotel isn't built for very big people. The doorways, elevator, pretty much the entire place is pretty cozy. I'm 5'10 and I was comfortable, but I imagine that anyone above 6' would feel a little cramped. That said, the 7.5 tatami mat room was pretty much perfect for me and my buddy who stands a little shorter at about 5'8. The location is solid if you're looking to sight-see around Asakusa (i.e. Senso-ji, Skytree, etc.). The neighborhood is also very interesting. There's a small shopping lane a few blocks down as well as some of the best ramen at the end of the street I had during my 10-day journey around Japan. We also had the breakfast package and it was phenomenal. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking to visit the Asakusa and Ueno areas of Tokyo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oz

Beautiful Japanese style.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
The building is beautiful, room is clean and comfortable. we loved the japenese tea as well. The staff are very kind and helpfull. It was a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by STEVEN from Honolulu, Hi

taste of old japan

Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent location for exploring the Aasakusa area. Best to cab it from the Ueno station when checking in. A taste of an old style Japanese Inn in Tokyo. Great find for value, location and experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Hyunhee Kin from Korea

최상의 위치!

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels
엄마랑 가면서 료칸체험을 하고싶어 갔다왔습니다. 무엇보다 친철하고, 아사쿠사에서 엄청 가까워서 좋았어요, 그리고 체크아웃할때 기념품으로 나무에 이름을 새겨서 주셨는데 그런 세심한 점도 좋았습니다
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C

rare gem in Tokyo

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: I've been there three times now and cannot fault the consistently welcoming and gracious service.
Location: The Senso-ji temple is nearby and well worth a visit. You can find original souvenirs in the many small shops on its grounds.
This modern ryokan in the Asakusa district of Tokyo is famous for its antiques filled interior and has been used to film period movies. It may look like it belongs in the time of the samurai, but it offers every modern comfort: the rooms have telephone, flat screen TV, safe, a thermos of green tea and minibar, and the bathrooms supply toothbrushes, shower caps and bath products. Two public baths are available for same gender bathing in alternance: cedar wood from 4 pm to 11 pm, then stone from 11 pm to 10 am. Yukata (traditional robe), happi coat and slippers are provided to relax in around the hotel. There is a lounge behind reception with books and more antiques. The food is abundant and delicious, served in one of the spacious dining room at a low table reserved with your name written on an origami crane (a symbol of good luck and fortune). Upon departure you're presented with a luggage tag engraved with your name.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by R450570 from 東京

浅草らしい日本旅館

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Location: 浅草演芸ホールへ数分だったので、夜の寄席を楽しみ、翌日は浅草寺にお参りして帰りました。花やしきもすぐ近くです。
玄関先に人力車を置くなど外観に和風の趣きがあって、一緒に行ったメンバー数名(全員40代半ば)が喜んでくれました。お部屋は古いですが清潔で、十分快適に過ごせます。浮世絵が掛けてあったり囲炉裏がある部屋があったりと、日本情緒を感じさせる心配りが随所にあり、日本らしさを求めて来る外国人は勿論のこと、浅草見物に来る全ての方におススメしたい宿です。スタッフも明るく感じがよいです。共同浴場は岩風呂と檜風呂があり、時間で男女入替えになるそうです。今回は檜風呂はメンテナンス中で、使用できず残念でした。朝食は畳敷きの和室で他の宿泊者と一緒にいただきました。焼魚、お味噌汁、佃煮など純和食で大変おいしくいただきました。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from CA

Comfortable ryokan geared to foreigners

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Great stay for people who want to experience the traditional ryokan in Japan. Best part for my husband and I is the traditional breakfast that came with it and that every room had a private bathroom/tub. Traditional ryokans only have public bath houses and Sadachiyo did too but it definitely was nice to have the comfort of our privacy when you're not used to public baths.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Matt from Oakland

Loved it

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels
Great people and ambiance and lack of cars near a temple with locals cutting through on bicycles. Service and helpfulness were great to gaigin - but still felt very faithful to Japanese traditions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels