Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Great Chinese restaurant outside!

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Nearby area
Cons: Room too small for two.
Location: A lot of food options, excellent small places Shopping: O1O1 and street markets The zoo and several museums
Near the Iriya Exit of Ueno Station, convenient if you like Ueno area. The best Chinese food right around the corner, very impressive, after having a lot of Japanese food, it's time for a change and it turned out great, way better than expected!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Gold Coast

OK hotel in great part of Tokyo

Posted May 27, 2014
Location: Ueno is great with the Ameyoko shopping district open until very late, the zoo and park, and there's a lake where you can hire out paddleboats too
Loved being in Ueno and was about five mins walk from station so very convenient. Best part was being just far enough away that the noise from the busy nightlife didnt affect us trying to sleep. Unfortunately the beds were really really uncomfortable and this was a big let down and not something we could look past in our memory of this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steph

Small rooms but good location

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: good service and clean
Cons: bigger rooms, place for taxi to park
Location: Near Ueno park and Train station
Hotel was in a great location near the Ueno train station and park but the rooms were a little smaller then expected. The service however was good and the rooms clean. Overall good for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dave & May from Perth, AUS

Noisy but great location

Posted Apr 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is so convenient with railway, bullet-train and subway to almost everywhere. But beware no block-out curtains, hard pillow and bed also the Highway can be outside the window so sirens, traffic, noisy cars and announcements. You won't get much sleep. Bathroom isn't moldy and have great hot water to freezing cold. We knew Japan had small hotel rooms so we were not surprised but we thought we had booked a bigger room so check you got the right room before you book. The room is sufficient for most of your needs. Cleaners are so nice and do such a fantastic job. They leave clean towels and robes outside your door when you leave a 'don't disturb sign' on the door. They also don't clean until late in the morning if you are in the room. Reception staff are mostly friendly and helpful. Most speak good English and understand your requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Good, rooms small but nicely put together

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Free continental breakfast. Rooms small but comfortable. Close to market and train stations, and park. We will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Big room in a crammed city

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location was great - only few mins walk from Ueno station - everyone has their preferences in Tokyo but staying at Ueno was useful this time. Room was....large....for Tokyo. Spacious bathroom area leads into the bedroom, which had a long desk on the window wall. Bed was large too, but unfortunately the hard pillow syndrome in Japan strikes again, and it was difficult to sleep for more than a few hours at a time, and the outside noise only really decreased at around 11pm/12am. Room was clean though. Would consider staying again if I needed to be in that area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from Chicago

Pleasant Hotel close to rail station

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Good location, clean, nice bathroom, free tea.
Cons: The rooms could be a tad larger.
Location: Right next to Ueno station and Ueno Park with its zoo and museums.
The rooms were small but that is expected in Japan. The bathroom, however, was rather spacious for a Tokyo hotel room, which was unexpected. Only a block away from the Ueno train station, the location was good for getting around Tokyo as the Yamanote Line stops at Ueno. The hotel also provided a basic continental breakfast (bread, juice, coffee, tea) which was a nice way to start the day. A little something to hold you until lunch - the Japanese don't really "do" breakfast. The 2nd floor "ice machine area" also offered free tea (green or English - hot or cold) and ice. The hotel was clean, but there were no English language TV stations available. Great for practicing your Japanese, but hard to keep up with current events. - although the American baseball playoff games were live on TV every morning. I would recommend it as a good base in Tokyo.