Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Al.

Convenience

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Though located in the side street of the city location was convenient
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Veggie in Japan from Bristol

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: Location
Cons: Cant really improve on this but room space
Location: Ideal for travelling around Tokyo
Hotel room very small, no wardrobe or drawers for clothes or space to put suitcases. Small sofa in room just taking up vital floor space. Very clean though and staff really helpful. Ideal location for travelling around, very close to stations and also to Ueno Park - beautiful place to spend looking at the shrines and temples, lake, many museums and zoo. Hotel suited to short stay rather than long.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by George from California

Not bad for the price

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
I needed a place to stay near Ueno, and this place was just right. The rooms are small, but that's the way it is in Japan. No wireless internet, but there is wired internet. You are within walking distance to Akihabara and Ueno. There's a convenience store right across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MINIA from Pune, Maharashtra, India

Stay at Ueno

Posted Jun 4, 2013
Pros: That i got a corner room.
Cons: The staff was almost rude.
Location: Very well placed hotel.
The hotel is centrally located and well connected by three different railway lines. Also there are are eating joints and convenience stores all around the hotel. The staff though extremely helpful could work on their communication skills. They are brusque to the point of being rude at times. But for the location alone I would certainly stay their again. Also the pricing was within budget.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good little hotel

Posted May 7, 2013
Pros: the staff. really nice and helpful.
Location: getting around tokyo is easy since you are not far from naka-okachimachi and ueno stations. which means ueno park and ameyoko is easily accessible to
some might consider it a bit of a walk from naka-okachimachi or Ueno station, but i didn't mind it at all. overall the stay was great. the staff was really friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great service but small room

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
it was easily accessible to the train station. Lots of eateries and convenience stores nearby. Great and thorough service from the staff on duty. Great amenities and really clean hotel. Bed was huge and comfy. However, the room was much smaller than what was expected. Was overall value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
by S.T.

close to major subway and trains lines

Posted Oct 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
Pleasant and lively neighborhood, conveniently located and easy access to Tokyo other neighborhoods. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Hotel staff is friendly. Rooms are very small, but hotel is very clean. A great deal considering the price and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephen P

Great hotel, quiet area

Posted Oct 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our visit to Ueno First City Hotel. As everyone is saying, the rooms are a bit smaller but not super tiny and work just fine. I am 6"1' and I felt very comfortable. There is no WIFI in the rooms but the wired Internet (cable supplied) is super fast. The area is very quiet and safe and has subway connections very close to the hotel. The hotel is very clean and everything was in working order. We stayed for five nights and would definitely stay again.