Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Just ok for price

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: It's ok , hi priced
Cons: Paint rooms clean baseboards
Location: Concerts, etc
It could have been better. They have the location, space. Food sucked. Staff great. Rooms need work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Find a hotel with parking spaces.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Not much!.
This hotel has NO parking garage and few parking spaces on the property. It is almost imperative that you pay extra for their valet parking as they use a garage that is a block away. When they get busy, such as on a Saturday evening, there is just loads congestion. We had to wait almost 30 minutes to get into the small lot in front of the hotel and we had been checked in for over 24 hours and just wanted to pop into our room to "freshen up" prior to heading back out to a group dinner. They also make it difficult to get luggage into and out of your room without having a bellhop do it for you........I swear they must hide the luggage cart or carts. I will not stay there next year, but will go to a hotel a short distance away which has lots or parking space around the building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Not too bad, older hotel but nice on the inside

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The rooms are nice, bathroom light could be brighter.
Cons: Elevators are ready for a refurbishment
Location: Downtown Toledo looked pretty abandoned. I drove across the river to have dinner at the restaurant complex that you can see from the hotel.
The hotel like the surrounding downtown area is a bit older but the rooms and lobby have been updated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Orange County, California

Depends on what you are looking for.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nice room with a nice view.
Cons: Service & training need much improvement for restaurant and I.T. Parking situation needs correction and needs alternatives.
Location: OK for walking to Fifth Third Field to watch the Mudhens play. Not much else happening downtown these days. Take a car to the museum and zoo.
Overall hotel condition is excellent. Cleaning staff first rate and friendly, which is a plus. Nice, modern rooms with good views. Problems: WIFI was not working our first day, so I don't know what business travelers are expected to do. The parking situation is strange-- it is valet parking only, and BE AWARE THAT THIS IS MANDATORY and will be added to your bill. That being said, the valets were friendly and accommodating. It would be much nicer if there was an arrangement with one of the nearby parking garages for validating tickets as is done at many hotels and businesses. Constantly having to call the valet seemed not only inconvenient for the guests, but for the valets as well. The real problem we had was with the ground floor restaurant which looks out over the river. They seemed to be VERY understaffed. We sat down and were not served, nor did we see anyone come out of the kitchen. There were two tables which had been served, but there was no staff. It seemed as if they had just left or taken a long break. The hotel desk staff couldn't explain it, nor could they suggest any other place for breakfast within walking distance. We ended up checking out early and driving to another restaurant on the other side of the river.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

What was good

Posted Aug 16, 2014
-was not told when I checked in that they never had wifi or internet -$16.00 day valet is mandatory to park in the front lot. Also was not told of this at check in, only on the 2nd day when they called my room and demanded my keys. -the king bed was comfortable. -the television signal kept disappearing every 40 seconds or so. -the hotel shows it's age. Old and worn out. -you can hear the old elevators from your room unbelievably well. Keeps you up for hours. I can go on and on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Family Reunion

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms.
Cons: Valet Parking...what a nightmare. They could use some help!!!
Location: Hotel location was great....
The hotel rooms were clean and comfortable. The Valet Parking was horrible. They are severely understaffed. It took quite a while to get your car and don't bother calling in advance...no one answers the phone. The restaurant is a joke... Several weddings and a couple of family reunions and they had only one person cooking. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel in downtown Toledo

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Rooms were nice, clean and comfortable.
Cons: TV options were limited, lots of news sites, no guide. Most PPV was expensive, on demand was very limited.
Location: Museum, Fifth Third Park, Hollywood Casino.
The Grand Plaza is a nice hotel in walking distance to multiple attractions in the downtown area. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. We did not use any of the facilities outside of the room. There were a few things to be weary of... First, the WiFi did not work in the hotel and it appears it had not been working for several days when we got there. If you need WiFi, I would strongly recommend checking that it is working again before check in. We did have a problem with the drain in our bathtub and it took several hours to get fixed, they did extend our checkout times due to this issue. Once it was 'fixed' it only worked for one shower, it was plugged again for the next shower. One other note, if you are planning a visit to the casino. They do have a shuttle bus, but it only runs until midnight. If you are a night owl, plan to take a taxi back to the hotel. I will say, we called for the shuttle at 11:50 and our awesome driver already left with the last pickup for the night. He did a u-turn to come back and pick us up. Over all, it was a nice experience and the staff was great, but there were definitely some tweaking they could do to increase their ratings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Western Grant Park

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The hotel staff was pretty friendly and knowledgeable, but somewhat overworked. The location was GREAT, close to the Shedd Aquarium, Loop, etc. We were pretty disappointed that the "in house" restaurant apparently converted to only serving breakfast, but the staff directed us to restaurant close enough to walk to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dayton, oh

No convenience.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
There was no parking unless you valet or walk across the busy street to the parking garage. The hotel staff was friendly. Valet drivers, not so much. They were rude because I didn't use their service. No mini fridge or microwave for convenience. Will not be returning to this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Old and neglected

Posted Jul 23, 2014
It's just an old building and needs some paint. One light bulb in the bathroom, windows are disgusting. Bar staff isn't happy about having to get drinks or mix them and everything is a hassle. There is a lock on the door that works and the a/c was great in my room. The parking out front is weird because you tip them for getting your car 50 away.