Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by S from NZ

Shame

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Staff were good and the wifi was fantastic as I was the only one there
Cons: Facilities
Didn't know it was under new management, no restaurant no atmosphere no other guests
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trevor from Christchurch, New Zealand

The best shower in Polynesia!

Posted Jun 16, 2013
Pros: Excellent fine dining restaurant on-site and if you stay at the lodge, you don't have to book ahead!
Location: Waterfront location, five minutes walk fron the centre of town and fifteen minutes walk to the wharf for the Island boats (e.g. Fafa).
I was having a short break in Tonga (3 nights) and have stayed at the Seaview Lodge. My room, 302, was in the annex and was very well appointed, had a good selection of mini-bar items (although, this isn't something I use), an in-room safe, very comfortable bed, tasteful decor, wi-fi, and a TV with 20 channels (including two for sport). The shower room was clean and damp free, which is quite an achievement in the South Pacific, with fresh towels daily. The shower (whether you wanted hot, warm or cold), was very powerful and quite invigorating - again, somewhat of a rare find in these parts. Breakfast is served daily in the restaurant, which is also open every night, except Saturday and it serves the best food on the Island. My Hosts, Franz and Gudrun made me feel very welcome, as did the local staff servicing the rooms and waiting in the restaurant. Airport transfers are conveniently arranged and are charged to you bill, with no nasty surcharge. My three days at the Seaview were relaxing and it could be described as a home away from home. I look forward to going back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Brisbane QLD, Australia

Great cooking, friendly service.

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: The resturant!
Location: Very convenient, quick walk to town, quiet street.
Overall Gudrun and Franz make you feel at home and like it is your home. Their hospitality is especially warm and welcoming. The highlight has to be the wonderful cooking of Franz, you will not have better lobster than at Seaview; and it's offered up so many ways that you can try a different style every night of the week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

July 2012

Posted Jul 20, 2012
We stayed for three days in July 2012 and enjoyed our time. We stayed in the ocean-view room and found it clean and well-appointed. The only criticism is that it is rather too expensive, and the meals in the restaurant are too costly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Seaview Hotel ,Tonga

Posted Apr 18, 2012
Pros: The lovely owners
Cons: nothing!
A great hotel with a wonderful restaurant and charming hosts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Connie from Germany

Good Service and restaurant

Posted Apr 14, 2012
Pros: Superb international dining at the Seaview restaurant with Franz as the chef. Interesting guests from all over the world.
Location: Just a 10 minutes walk to downtown Nuku'alofa and the major bars and coffee places. Only 3 blocks to the palace of the King of Tonga.
I really felt comfortable at Seaview with Gudrun and Franz as the hosts and Bianca, their daughter, who took me on a great Island tour. Seaview Lodge is a family run hotel with all the advantages of a small and cosy place. I really enjoyed 10 days staying at Seaview, having a German talk every day. Thanks a lot, Gudrun & Franz & Bianca for your assistance in learning about Tonga and it's culture from a foreigners perspective doing business here. The local service crew were really nice and always had a smile on their lips. Great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JB from Sydney Australia

Best in Nufa'loka

Posted Oct 11, 2011
Run by an extremely efficient German couple who are coping with a not so efficient Tongan way of life this is an interesting hotel. The hotel is over furnished with local wood carvings and an array of memorabilia that could make it a tourist attraction in it's own right. The town unfortunately doesn't offer a lot to see for the visitor & the waterfront directly across the road is less than inviting, but for a stopover night this hotel appears to be the best local option. About 35 minutes to airport due to the ubiquitous potholed roads