Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Do not stay here for the comfort!

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Convenience on Highway 395, Gambling, Gas, Store all there
Cons: Bring back the dedicated Check In and Out Clerk! Clean Up your rooms...Temporarily...while you start a major renovation process.
Location: Topaz Lake recreation...
Gone way downhill and almost hitting bottom since Super 8 took over awhile back. They just do not keep up the rooms like the original owners did. They closed the Check In Office. Now you wait for the Cashier/Checkin Clerk to help you. Come on, when you arrive in the early evening, and the gamblers need their chips, etc., and you have been on the road all day, should you have to wait in line with the freakin gamblers to check in? It gets better, in our room the light next to the bed had the switch missing (stolen) so it could not be turned on. Someone forgot to flush the toilet. There were stains on the carpet AND the Bed Cover. Folks, this used to be our favorite place to stay. We would look forward to it all day traveling. However, best to get drunk while you gamble so you don't really care about where you are sleeping! This Motel is now in the older Motel 6 category for cleanliness, service, and comfort...at more than TWICE the price!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Adrian from Vancouver BC

OK Stopover with a Great View

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great view from the room and cafe (amazing hand built stagecoach replicas on display in the cafe) - price was right - dog friendly room and outside surroundings appreciated - however the room itself was a little tired, but maybe that is the price to be paid for a cheap and pet friendly motel. All in all a good stopover on Hwy 395.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the lake, especially at sunrise.

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: It's location.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Skiing. Fishing.
Quietest motel I have ever been in. Easy check in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephen from sonora, ca

good stay

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
enjoyed our every time we go.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Cons: Better labeling of location when listing hotel.
When I booked the hotel room I thought it was located in Gardnerville according to the listing. Drove right past it at Topaz Lake going north on Highway 395. Had to come all the way back down (30 miles and now dark) to the Lake and look for the hotel entrances/parking/room in the dark. When I expressed my confusion and false advertising related to location, the hotel clerks (that night and next morning) were indifferent and uninterested in people's experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

nice view on Topaz Lake

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Perfect for a night coming from scenic hwy 4 on the way to Carson City or Virginia City.
Cons: The real name is Topaz resort and is only managed by Super 8, so don't worry if you can't find a typical Super 8!!
Location: Topaz lake is nearby for a walk, or a casino visit if needed!
It was a nice comfortable Motel room with a view on Topaz Lake. The only thing that worried a bit: it's far out of Gardnerville itself (about 15 miles south) and far away from Carson City (about 50 miles). So don't forget about that. Has a little casino in the main building, a gas station and two restaurants with great food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Christophe & Sandra from France

sur la route entre le lac Tahoe et Yosemite

Posted Aug 20, 2014 on Hotels
Hôtel mal indiqué, le nom n'est pas le même que celui indiqué sur le site. Motel éloigné de la ville (30 min en voiture). Très grande chambre avec vue sur lac, petit déjeuner compris avec possibilité de salé pour quelques dollards de plus, casino et resto dans l'hôtel. Bien pour une nuit de passage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean...comfortable and quiet. Beautiful lake view. Wifi worked fine. Steakhouse is really good. Only downside is that is kind of far from town...like 15 minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by C.Snyder from San Jose, CA

NOT IN CARSON CITY OR GARDNERVILLE!! NV/CA Border

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels
Yeah, the hotel was fine. Handy having it's own gas station, convenience store, casino & restaurant there, since it is 20+ miles South of Gardnerville city and 40 miles South of CC. It may have even have a Coleville address.It is by a pretty lake Topaz. If you wan to be that far down Hwy 395, by Nevada/Calif border, then it is nice to be out of city traffic. My GPS couldn't find it, rather a call to the hotel. Also, it was not a typical Super 8, rather acquired as a previous lodge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels