Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Capitol experience

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Room was comfortable for two with separate bedrooms. Nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great for the price for business trip

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I stayed here with a business associate. I was drawn to this hotel because of the price and the proximity to my meeting. The hotel was quite interesting, I wish I had more time to explore and understand its history. The room was quite clean, the bathroom had been recently renovated. The bed wasn't the most comfortable and the fitted sheet was so thin that my back sweated through and stuck to the plastic bed cover beneath. However, for the price I was quite happy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Mar 26, 2014
After reading other reviews decided to stay at this place. Not an average chain brand hotel. Had to drive across town for dining choices, not that big a deal. This hotel is nothing special despite the reviews that mention it being "a delightful experience in a historic building". I think next time I would pick a different place. It was quiet and comfortable but not extraordinary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ginger from andover, ks

Room smelt beautiful

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Our room smelt so amazing we kept looking for an air fresher but couldn't find one. The building was beautiful and the history readout the front desk gave us on it was interesting. For a mom of an 17, 14, and 5 year old to find a place to stay where everyone was happy, was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a quaint little hotel close to the State Capitol

Posted Mar 19, 2014
it was the most relaxing evening I have spent in a while
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BusyBizTraveler

Solid, clean but dated

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Pros: Location, room sizes
Cons: See comments above
Location: In the heart of Topeka.
Stayed one night during business visit to Topeka. It is fine for what it is. It's old, clean, spacious room. The overall sense is that the whole place is "dated" and not in a quaint way. Can't knock it for cleanliness. It was clean. The place just feels worn out. If the owner's would invest in the property, it would be "the" place to stay. Lots of potential. Staff (front desk) was very, very helpful but dressed very casually for a staff member. There's nothing to recommend about the place other than the room sizes. But there's nothing really to detract about the place either. It is a solid "C".
5 out of 5
Recommended
by C.W. from Garden City

Nice Hotel, Great Breakfast

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a two bedroom suite. The "master" bedroom was nice sized the secondary bedroom was off the living room but due to the size of the bed in the room the door was removed so that was a little odd. But that said the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The hot tub had enough chlorine for two or three hot tubs. The continental breakfast had waffles, biscuits & gravy, sausage, and the traditional continental fare, it was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JackS from Oklahoma City

As a Business Traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is superb but the property is getting pretty tired. The beds and furniture should be upgraded to keep in the running and things like warped doors repaired but, that being said, it's a very unique property with a great location next to the state capital. Cleanliness was excellent, staff was courteous and helpful. The amenities & fixtures seemed accumulated by the piece without much forethought. It is however a really cool place with good small meeting facilities on the lower floor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Margaret from Salina, KS

Loved it!

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a getaway for my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday. We love the location. The room was very nice. We loved the balcony. This is now our favorite place to stay when we are in Topekac
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014