Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbury, MN

Nice place - terrible cell phone reception

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Staff was very friendly/helpful. Breakfast was good. Service area and tables were always clean. Newspapers were available daily, even Sunday.
Cons: Cell phone service
You enter the hotel on the 3rd floor and our room was on the lowest level, the first floor, not a problem. The issue we experienced was that on the lower level, we had very spotty cell phone service and at times, even with the cell phone lying by the window, we had no service. When we asked about the terrible cell service, the staff informed us that yes, it had been an issue for a long time. The issue went for texting as well as phone calls.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay for Visit to KU.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
We needed a hotel room for several nights so my daughter could tour KU. I had been told that it would be a good idea to find a hotel close to Mass St since that is where most of the shopping and restaurants are located and this hotel is one block off and a 5 minute walk. It is also the most expensive hotel in the area. Although there was nothing strikingly bad about this hotel it just didn't warrant the price of the room. The building was a former mall and that is exactly what it felt like walking down the halls. The first impression when walking in the hotel was the swimming pool smell and that continued with a very smelly elevator. The rooms are good size, somewhat weird shape, but the bed was comfortable. The morning breakfast is pretty much the same as you will find on any other hotel breakfast. I guess when booking a hotel and one priced so much more than all the other hotels in the area I was expecting something a more. If the only reason you are staying in this hotel is to be close downtown I would recommend paying the meters on the streets and save a lot of money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Edgar, Hotel Management
I’d like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott in Lawrence. I would also like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to give a review regarding that stay. We always appreciate receiving feedback from our guests. Good or bad, we share every comment with our staff to ensure they are aware of the guest experience and how we can make it better. I am very sorry that you found our hotel to be overpriced. As you mentioned in your review, we have a highly desired location and pricing is set by the market. No fees are hidden, everyone knows the rate they are getting when they make their reservation. Thank you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Julie from Oklahoma

Nice hotel near Mass st

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: pool, room, breakfast
Cons: Entryway
Location: Mass St, Wheatfields bakery, shops, KU
Nice modern room, delux breakfast and excellent location to downtown. Pool nice and clean. No problems here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AJ from Kansas

Good suites hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a good hotel to stay at near downtown Lawrence ks. Rooms and service were good. Standard marriot breakfast. Location by downtown is the best feature
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kim from Missouri

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
A clean hotel with friendly staff. Was not impressed with rooms for the money. Entire hotel smelled like the pool and could hear lots of noise from hallway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2014 by Edgar, Hotel Management
Hello Kim from Missouri, We appreciate your honest feedback. Our property is quite unique in that it was once a shopping mall. We have an open atrium which gives our guests a great open view of the Kansas River from our lobby. That atrium, however, opens to the first level where our indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi are located. It is a fantastic feature for watching the eagles, wedding photos, etc. but it does have a slight draw back in that when the chemicals are fresh in our pool and the door is open for a while, the smell can get out. Thank you for your feedback. Edgar Ramirez | General Manager SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lawrence
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marc

Scary pool...great location

Posted Mar 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I visited with friends, the pool was a complete disaster. The hotel needs to invest in some dehumidifying equipment--puddles stayed for days, smelled like mildew and gym socks, no scent of chlorine whatsoever (which wouldn't normally be a downfall, but when It smells terrible otherwise...) Rooms were clean, comfortable beds, roomy. Location could not be better for walking access to Mass street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2014 by Edgar, Hotel Management
Hello Marc, Thank you for your honest feedback about your experience while staying at our property. We are looking into your experience with our swimming pool. We do have proper drainage around the pool and our maintenance and housekeeping staff visit it daily to ensure the towels are stocked, the furniture is clean and the chemicals are balanced and safe. Some have even commented that you can smell the chlorine in other areas of the hotel. You did stay with us during Spring Break and this time can be pretty busy for our swimming pool with heavy child and guest use. Thank you again for sharing your comments. Edgar Ramirez | General Manager SpringHill Suites by Marriott Lawrence
3 out of 5
by Dave from overland park, KS

Unexciting

Posted Feb 24, 2014
nice enough, clean enough, but just kind of dead. good view of the River from the window, however trains made noises all night long. It is convenient to Mass St.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2014 by Edgar, Hotel Management
Hello Dave, Thank you for sharing you experience and opinion about our hotel. When travelling to downtown Lawrence, most enjoy our stylish decor and 25% larger suite rooms. Being at the end of Mass St. and all the downtown shops, restaurants, bars, etc. doesn't hurt either. Downtown Lawrence does come with a small set back of the Amtrack train but well worth it for all there is to do within walking distance of the hotel. Again, thank you for sharing your experience and opinion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2014
Hello Dave, Thank you for sharing you experience and opinion about our hotel. When travelling to downtown Lawrence, most enjoy our stylish decor and 25% larger suite rooms. Being at the end of Mass St. and all the downtown shops, restaurants, bars, etc. doesn't hurt either. Downtown Lawrence does come with a small set back of the Amtrack train but well worth it for all there is to do within walking distance of the hotel. Again, thank you for sharing your experience and opinion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 18, 2014
We stayed one night at this hotel and had a nice experience. The best thing for us was the location since it's very close to Mass Street. It made it easy to walk to dinner and the bars afterwards. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by KUDAD from Kansas

Mass Street alternative

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pretty good breakfast. Rooms a little spartan but clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mike from apex

Not many choices in Lawrence

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Well, it is Lawrence, KS after all so your choices are limited as far as convenient walking locations.. It is a 3 star hotel so don't expect a lot of bells and whistles. The staff is very friendly and helpful although sometimes at night I could not find anyone at the front desk to ask a question. The free breakfast buffet is also very generous and ample. Just a block from Massachusetts street which is the main street with all the dining and shops. Also, sits on the Kansas River at the edge of a small dam. Bald eagles like to fish there and saw them every day. All the rooms have a river view. Unfortunately, the view is obscured by dirty windows which just makes the whole pace seem unkempt. The rooms are oddly shaped but spacious enough. Bed is average and pillows flat but my king bed had 5 pillows. There are 3 floors and you enter the hotel on the top floor. I had a room on the second floor. Although for the most part quiet, whenever the room above me showered is was very noisy. I'd suggest getting a third floor room if possible.