Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

They did not put their best foot forward.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: The cleanliness in the common areas, room service (room cleaning), and staff customer service.
Location: The hotel is well situated to the revamped downtown area with many specialty shops and restaurants.
I stayed at this hotel about 5 years ago and I then felt it was a great place in a great location. After this stay, I will not choose to stay there again. During this stay, their lack of customer service and the dirty common areas caught my attention immediately. The elevators (which are almost required due to the floor-plan) were very dirty (quite gross) during the entire length of our stay. We stayed for multiple nights, and our room was never serviced. The pool and hot tub areas were also very dirty. When I shared my concern (three times) about our room needing service, the staff was less than helpful, and obviously not empowered to make things right when things did not go well. They shared that they would like to give me some options to assist with our challenges, but because we booked through Expedia, they could not and would not help in any way. I am a regular user of Expedia and really enjoy the customer service given through Expedia. Expedia, thankfully, made things right with us when I shared my concerns about the condition of the hotel and the lack of customer service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2015
The close proximity to all the restaurants and bars on Massachusetts St. was really what sold us on this hotel. Awesome location. The free breakfast was quite decent too. I'd definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One day trip

Posted May 4, 2015
Travel to Lawrence atleast once a week. Never stayed at this hotel room but it was very nice and would stay again. Very quiet. Room kept the glaring light out. Within walking distance of everything on Mass St
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by Edgar R., Hotel Management
Thank you for the overall positive review. We always enjoy hearing that our guests enjoyed their time here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MO

Great hotel, close to everything in Lawrence.

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: I loved the location, the view of the river, the cleanliness and friendly staff.
Location: The hotel is right by Lawrence's downtown area. They have so many places to eat, shop, drink and plenty of entertainment.
The staff was very friendly, helpful and fast during check-in. The room was really clean and tidy and the beds were super comfortable! We didn't have time to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast but they offered complimentary coffee all throughout the day which was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by CHEYANNE from Kenosha, WI

Great stay!

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful! The rooms were equipped with a fridge and microwave which was very convenient! My only complaint is that we asked for fresh towels at the reception desk and were told that they were still in the drier. The girl working said if we see a cleaning person to ask them but that she would also bring us towels when they were dry. I had to seek out a cleaning lady. 2 hours later we still hadn't received towels from the girl at the front desk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wichita

Great location, small rooms.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The location is great because the building follows the curve of the river and it is very close to the shops and restaurants on Massachusetts Street.
Cons: The rooms really needed to be larger.
Location: Perfect downtown location.
We expected larger rooms but loved the location and health club facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The view of the river and the breakfast was ok.
The hotel keys didn't work so they have to give us a different room. The door on the closet was falling off. The bedding not as clean as we expected. There was little things in the room that needed taken care of. It wasn't as nice as expected!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Edgar R, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate when our guests inform us of any defects in our rooms. We like to address them as quickly as possible and hope that they do not cause any major inconveniences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Clean, excellent breakfast!
Cons: Needed hot water in shower Sunday a.m.
Location: Easy walk to shopping and eating establishments.
Only complaint was no hot water Sunday morning around 8:30 a.m.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Monte from mcpherson

Jawhawk date night.

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here after a Jayhawk basketball game. Nice hotel but I must say they have the weirdest shape rooms I've been in at a hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Matthew from Tulsa, OK

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel staff was very friendly. Walking distance to downtown shoppes, restaurants, and pubs. There is train noise but it did not bother me.