Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Hotel close to KU

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness
I was very pleased with our stay at this hotel. It was clean, well managed, and very comfortable. A little bit far from campus, but not out of my comfort zone in a new place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Nice hotel close to KU.

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Close to where the conference was located.
Cons: Air conditioner was a little loud.
Location: Located on a main street with many fast food restaurants nearby.
Perfect location when attending conferences at KU. The staff was very friendly and the room was in excellent condition.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gem in Lawrence, KS

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: I liked that the attentiveness of the owners! The check-in process was fast and easy.
Location: There is a great downtown area with restaurants and stores!
This hotel was a gem to find and stay at in Lawrence, KS. The owners take great pride and care of this facility. We felt very welcomed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Owners tries their best to make it a decent place

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: beddings
Cons: do better with the bathroom, get rid of that "public restroom" smell
The outside of the rooms look like a run down motel, but the inside is decent. Despite the fact that it's been renovated, a really bad smell in the bathroom is still there, it smells like a gas station restroom. The bed is clean and comfy. Breakfast is ok if you're need something quick to get going in the morning, then go for a decent breakfast somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2015
We left very early in the morning to get back on the road to Colorado. There was no place to get any coffee or breakfast until we got back on 70. Also it would be nice if you put decaf coffee in the rooms or ask when the guest check if they need decaf. Some pool can not drink reg. coffee
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Nice large room with comfortable beds. I would have given it five stars if it weren't for a faint scent of cigarettes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Close to Topeka

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: It was very clean and they have done a lot of stuff to bring it up to date.
Cons: breakfast was okay but for the price I was okay with just the coffee. Don't expect a breakfast you might see at other hotel chains, primarily cereal
Location: Our event was in Topeka and it was a short drive to get there. We went via US 40 to stay off the interstate and that was a nice drive.
We had a late check in and the room was very nice and clean. I hate to see them replace towels everyday and I wish they would offer to replace them on request or every 3 or 4 days. Kind of a waste of resources (IMHO) to replace them everyday. Lots of food options close by too. We walked to Biemer's BBQ for dinner as it was about 3/4 mile away so it ended up being a nice walk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Very close to everything

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Great hotel and great price!! Very close to everything. Being from out of town and booking online you don't know what to expect but I was pleased!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient and nice hotel for the price.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Convenience and accessibility to town. Great value for money.
Virginia Inn was just a 5-minute drive from Mass Street. Hotel staff was very friendly and personal. The room had been recently updated -- perhaps not in everyone's taste -- but was clean and welcoming. The beds were great and the huge TV screen a treat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Very pleasant visit.

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Overall, the motel offered a good value for its price and quality.
Cons: No recommendations beyond its current performance.
Location: The Lawrence, Kansas location is within easy driving distance of dining and other services.
The Virginia Inn is well-maintained. The room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was adequate for its small allotted space, with a good variety of breakfast fare.