Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and great value

Posted Mar 23, 2013
Don't be fooled by the outward appearance. My daughter and I stayed here at the end of a seven day college tour, and this hotel was better than all the "name brand" hotels except the ones which charged 2.5 to 3 times as much. Large rooms, large bathroom and well kept. Would definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ia0002 from Columbia, MO, USA

Nice place for a very good price!

Posted Jan 14, 2013
Pros: Price, proximity to KU, cleanliness, room size.
Cons: Heater was a bit noisy
Location: Short drive from KU
The stay was very good, as was recommended by the earlier reviewers. I gave 4 for the comfort: there was a slightly noticeable drift through the door, so I had to put a towel on the floor and hang my coat on the door knob, since the temperature outside was in teens. The heater had to stay on constantly, which was a bit noisy, but didn't bother us very much. The stuff was very accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Osage Beach, MO

Good hotel for the price.

Posted Dec 17, 2012
Pros: The price and location.
Cons: The only blanket was the very heavy comforter.
Location: Great location.
This hotel is a little outdated, but was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KU Traveler from MN

Virginia Inn - Great!

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: Favorite things: the owner is there virtually all the time and ensures customers are satisfied.
Cons: I am not very fond of the wall color but it is fairly freshly painted and in good condition so I can certainly live wtih it.
Location: Very convenient to the University and not far from Mass Street.
This is a great hotel for the price - the rooms are very clean, the bed linens fresh, the in room amenities like refrigerator, microwave, storage and free internet are very nice. We will stay here any time we are in Lawrence!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from Wichita, KS

Comfortable and clean

Posted Aug 4, 2012
Pros: clean
Cons: bed was hard
Location: clean rooms, kind of dark
The room was clean. There was no pool. The lobby smelled like curry. The beds were hard but clean and the light bulbs in the bathroom were very low wattage, hard to see even with the lights on. If you don't mind a firm bed, it would be fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JH from Oklahoma City, OK

Great room, great value, for any reason

Posted Jun 29, 2012
Location: 6th St., with easy access to Iowa (US 59), the KU campus, and west Lawrence
This would be a great stay even if the price weren't so low. When I arrived, the A/C had been turned off. When the temps were over 100, that made for an uncomfortable start. The A/C unit was noisy, like any window unit would be, but cooled things down QUICK! Breakfast was a very sparse affair, but those were my only two complaints. The room was large, well-decorated, the wireless internet was fast, DirectTV in the room, beds were comfortable, and the woman at the front desk was attentive and concerned about the quality of my stay. I am definitely going back when I visit Lawrence again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tom from Derby Kansas

Another wonderful stay!

Posted Jun 11, 2012
Pros: We enjoyed the walk in shower...I enjoyed the cleanliness and the quiet of the room, not only at night, but also in the day time.
Cons: No complaints
Location: Across the street from a 24 hr. Dillons grocery store...tons of restaurants within just a few minutes drive
Every year we come up to Lawrence KS for the 70.3 Iron Man Competition. Last year we stayed at The Virginia Inn and enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed there again this year and will continue to do so each year. The rooms are very clean, the beds are more comfortable than what I sleep on at home! The rooms are huge compared to some of the more expensive hotels we've stayed at in the past and the staff are actually happy to see you! When in Lawrence...this is the place to be! Thanks to you guys at Virginia Inn!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tracy from Joplin, MO, USA

low price and great room

Posted May 4, 2012
i wasnt expecting much with this place,because of the price,but my boyfriend and i got a smoking room, which did NOT reek of smoke....nice refrigerator,microwave,and porch area . comfortable bed. for the price, you cannot get a better deal. we will definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Good size room
Cons: Horrible service. Not hot water when tried to use jacuzzi
Location: Location was right off higheay
Jacuzzi had no hot water. That was the only reason I paid more for the room. Bathroom door would not close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diana from Wichita,KS

Fabulous

Posted Apr 6, 2012
Pros: The bedding was beautiful and cozy.
Location: Convenient location
The staff bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed! They were simply fantastic. Our room was beautiful and the bedding was cozy and fresh. I would recommend this lovely place to anyone who wants a relaxing night in Lawrence, KS. LOVED IT!