Ratings based on 736 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Small town Ontario

Convenient location downtown, but a bit drab

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Location, quiet
Cons: Brighten the lobby
Location: All downtown attractions are within walking distance or short public transit ride
The Cosmopolitan is conveniently located just off Yonge Street in downtown Toronto. The lobby is plain and quite dark. My room was a good size and clean, but being fully white even the smallest scuff marks showed. The fitness centre was reasonably well-equipped, but the treadmill was not functioning. Overall a reasonable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Grimsby

good location

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: please see above paint job in room, there were coffee stains on the blinds, blinds would not go all the way up
Location: great downtown location close to pubs and places to eat
we feel that the room needs a face lift or some tender loving care. We were disappointed that to use the hot tub we had to pay $25.00 each. We were looking forward to this feature. Staff were great. In the room the blinds had be set not to go all the way up. We were disappointed as the view was great but could not enjoy it because the blind was unable to go up far enough.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Parking is a problem at this hotel. They use a third party valet and have non of their own. When I inquired about leaving it on the road in a legally parked space I was informed the hotel would not be responsible for damage done to my vehicle from objects thrown down from the balcony. REALLY!!! Guests are throwing things from the balconies?
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

How was this a 4 star rated hotel?

Posted Dec 30, 2014
After booking the most expensive suite for ourselves (aside from the unavailable penthouse), we also had two friends each book rooms to join us in what was rated as a 4 star hotel for our night in the city. We were skeptical when we saw the exterior of the building but we convinced when the images in the elevator were the same as what we saw when we chose the Cosmopolitan specifically. Needless to say, we were greatly disappointed to open our door to find that there was a very dated space with less than satisfactory cleanliness. We were more upset when we recognized that the "couch" was an extremely uncomfortable ottoman sized, doctors waiting room-type piece of furniture. We specifically paid the most we could expecting comfort in a 4 star hotel to have a night away from the kids & celebrate my husband's birthday. I was greatly apologetic towards my husband (& embarrassed), as it was my fault for choosing this hotel for our stay. As a couple who enjoy spending time in hotels, I wish we had done better research to understand what we had gotten ourselves into, but seeing the affiliation with pantages & the high rating on Expedia, I thought I was making a sound decision. Even upon telling the concierge how greatly misled we felt, he responded (very kindly, I might add) that the marketing is meant for potential guests to assume that each room, especially the more deluxe suites look the same as the penthouse. What a misleading disappointment!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, good hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Stayed two nights. The room walls were quite scuffed but certainly overall clean. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Not enough room to unpack... No luggage racks so had to cases open on the floor even though there would have been plenty of room for a bureau or even wall hooks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Way too expensive for what it was

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Old building, horrible bathroom, dirty rug, marked walls, small bed, horrible view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for Biz

Posted Oct 23, 2014
The Cosmo is really nice for business travel. Full kitchen, washer dryer and work space made this an ideal spot to relax on the road and get work and laundry done. I'm a road warrior and wish all my accommodations could be this appointed. Also super close to everything you want to see and eat in Toronto.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by virginiafrom buffalo

nice stay

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was a bit run down...Just a bit, hallway could use some painting to cover up scuffs and the sink didn't have a drain cover. Also were some cigarette butts left of the balcony. But otherwise great location, walkable to many things, and easily accessible parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mississippi

Nice hotel, parking robbery.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Location: Right in the heart of the harbor area, lots to do and see, vert close to St. Lawrence Market.
Wonderful room , very clean and had Keurig coffee maker, a big plus. If you park at the hotel be prepared to raise your hands at check-out as the parking rate is $45per day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant surprise

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Great room, comfortable bed, so nice to have a separate seating area so everyone is not perched on the side of a bed while having drinks. Great location, close to ACC and Young street.