Ratings based on 5,309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but poor facilities

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: location
We were there for two nights in Sep 2014. The hotel location is great and the room was clean, but the air conditioner was not working at all and the room was cold. We didn't have fridge in the room. When we wanted to get to our floor, we needed to wait for a long time in line to be able to take an elevator. Considering the price, I do not recommend it to anybody!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel, friendly staff

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Overall great experience. Friendly staff but not so great looking rooms but it has all you need such as free wi-fi, hot water, tv and clean sheets and room. Highly recommended if you are looking for a decent hotel in downtown core!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel from the Outside

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Our room was disappointing, no fridge, tv channels did not work, pigeons fighting outside the window. The shower was hanging off the wall Would not stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds UK

Amazing!

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Position, fantastic view of downtown Toronto. Very comfortable.
Cons: Minibar in room, general wear and tear.
Location: Great location, a step away from Yonge Street, diverse and many choices of restaurants and just things to see.
Spent 2 nights here, beautiful entrance area, staff delightful. The room was found through Expedia, and was a shot in the dark, price was reasonable. The room was immaculate, but showed signs of wear and tear, though I believe there is a process of upgrading going on? I have never seen so many people going through various processes, it was chaos, but totally organised, the staff were to my eyes very efficient. There was a delightful guy who guided us to the service lift, as there was a great queue for the lift, it was much appreciated. My only irritation was trying to check out via the hotel internet system, trying multiple times, then the front desk informing us that the system was down when we rang! Wasting time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right downtown

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Cons: First room absolutely gross with the smell of smoke, had butts sitting just outside the sliding door on the balcony
Location: Right downtown. Very close to Dundas square and the Big Eaton Mall. Longer walk to get to Air Canada Center and Rogers
We switch rooms immediately as the first one was terrible with the smell of smoke. Front desk was more than understanding and quickly switched us. Second room was stale smelling and a bit outdated but after opening the sliding door to outside it cleared out. Overall the hotel was nice but quite busy no matter the time of day
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Good central location

Posted Sep 27, 2014
We booked this hotel because it was in a central location and because of budget. By all means, if you're not restricted by your wallet, there are nicer hotels you can stay in. But for what you pay and what you get, the Eaton Chelsea is very adequate. The standard room we had was on the small side, with the bathroom having not much room to move between the w.c, bath/shower and vanity. Sure, the decor is tired and boring, but the room was clean, sheets spotless and comfy beds. Room was cleaned every day and plenty of fresh towels supplied. The cleanliness was not neglected anywhere and I really can't find any faults there. It's a big hotel and lobby and lifts are packed at any one time but it's organised chaos and we didn't find that this affected us much during our week long stay. The Eaton is in the centre of midtown and most attractions are a 15-20 min walk and we didn't find a need for a taxi anywhere. The main train station is located nearby and we used Gotrains to get to Niagara Falls. The nearest subway stop, College Street, is across the hotel, 2-3 mins walk if using subway to get around. For shopping, the eaton centre, is on the next block. We would recommend the Eaton Chelsea for a budget stay. We would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Good hotel in central location

Posted Sep 27, 2014
The hotel is very good, helpful staff and very clean. The roof top pool and gym facilities are excellent and adult only. There is a kids pool too. This hotel is very big so there are lots of people always in the lobby, but always lots of staff who are happy to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel location!

Posted Sep 27, 2014
I attended a conference at the MTCC and for a 20 minute walk, excellent location and truly best pricing compared to other hotels closer to the convention center. I find their dining choices over-priced but Yonge St is a 2 min walk where you have lots of choices to eat. Only thing I didn't like is that their fitness facilities don't open until 6am and I am used to hotels where you can swipe you room key 24 hours a day - 6am is too late for me to get in for a workout and get out the door for a 7:30 conference start.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Great location, way over priced

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Cleanliness, internet, modern updates
Location: great food at Dukes across the street and the little Italian place on elm
The hotel was fine. If i had paid full price I would have been unhappy. The internet was horrible, almost unusable. Most of the staff was friendly. We went to the lounge on the top floor and told we had to leave because we were not premier members, this was fine, our money worked across the street. The room itself was fine, like I said you are paying for the location. My parents were in the room next to us and their phone didn't work. There was also cigarette butts on their balcony and empty cans of food. Gross.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY, USA

As much charm as a barn: overpriced mediocrity

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Rooms, restaurants, food, decor, ambience, cable service, reception lines, garage, ... also suggest removing $520 rack rate from the room door sticker
Location: Location is great - close to downtown Toronto. Unlimited urban fun.
I spent 3 nights in Eaton Chelsea, a hotel that wants to be, pricewise, a Hyatt/Hilton/Marriott etc, but in reality is giant motel and a nickel-and-diming machine. The hotel has as much warmth as a railway station. Acres of naked low-quality marble floor welcome the traveler. The cavernous lobby, always overcrowded despite of its jumbo size, is a confusing labyrinth. Three street exits are matched by three different sets of elevators serving randomly selected floors; two extra elevators go to two separate sections of underground garage. $250+ room price doesn't get you a complimentary breakfast while room service offers only fast food. The room felt Motel 8-ish. Eateries: a sports bar adorned with sweaty hockey jerseys and featuring a collection of fat-based chow and an elephant-sized "restaurant" with sparsely populated islands serving carbos, proteins and fiber disguised as food. Breakfast for two will set you back $45+. Starbuck's-priced coffee of office quality nicely rounds up the experience. The garage offers an interesting challenge of parking spaces and ramps that cannot accommodate an SUV, but hotel offers a generous discount for guests: a $1 down from the $30+tax rate. But hey, you get unlimited in/out "privileges" so your car is not under arrest. Seemingly, since I had to spend several minutes trying to get by vehicles blocking garage entrances. Bottom line: be prepared to spend twice the published price tag and feel handled.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2014 by Alistair, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking time to provide feedback from your recent stay. We are sorry to learn that your overall experience did not meet expectations. Your feedback will be shared with the management team for review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Guest Experience Specialist Eaton Chelsea Toronto