Ratings based on 549 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pay extra for bar fridge!

Posted May 26, 2015
You have to pay extra for a bar fridge which they will deliver to your room unless you have room with a king size bed, this was an absolute first for me. Comfy beds and pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sudbury, ON

Good location but...

Posted May 23, 2015
The hotel location is wonderful and for that reason we would stay here again. A couple of things did bother me however. The cleaning service happened way too early we were still sleeping when they knocked on the door. Also the room service menu for the hotel bar (Fox and Fiddle) was not at all accurate. We tried to order a 200ml bottle of spiced rum(as is clearly stated on the menu) but we were told that it was only possible to order wine by the bottle. This put a damper on the first evening as there isn't really an LCBO close by and it was frustrating enough to not want to give them our business for the rest of our stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Great location, very nice hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
Great location, on a downtown street with lots of restaurants and shops. Right next to the subway station. Hotel is clean and comfortable, friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

Convenient location at a reasonable good price

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: carpeting is worn
Close to the ROM and Yorkville, but the common areas are very tired and could use updating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hard working hotel, clean and nice staff.

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Great location, free wi-fi and coffee machines.
Cons: Room refrigerators
Location: Museums, restaurants and the university
Perfectly fine, decent accommodations, nothing fancy
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester NY

Great location but stinky rooms

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Great location. In & out parking privileges ($21 a day). Near the subway. Lots of good restaurants/shopping/museums nearby.
Cons: air quality in the rooms…theyare pretty stinky
Location: Very good shopping, dining, several museums, film festivals, running neighbourhoods, small theatres. 30 minute walk takes you right down to the lake.
I stay at this Holiday Inn 3 or 4 times a year. I am part of the HI loyalty program. Love the location and the price (plus parking) is fair. However last weekend will probably be the last time staying at this location. All the rooms have a strange smell. At first I thought it was cigarette smoke or maybe even BO. However every room has this smell so it might be a ventilation system problem. I have reported it to the staff but for the last 3 years it has not improved. Pity, it is a good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Parkhill Ontario

Handy to everything we wanted to see

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Not terribly expensive and handy to what we were going to do . The Fox and Fiddle next door has quite acceptable food.
Cons: The decor of The Fox and Fiddle is very dated.
Location: Royal Ontario Museum, Royal Conservatory of Music, St. Thomas's Anglican Church, Bloor St. Shopping, Indigo Books, Winner's, movie theatre...
A two-night stay in a quiet, clean room made our weekend in Toronto very pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: The bed was splendid. Cleaning staff couldn't be nicer.
Cons: Lighting needs to be improved. I found the room dark and a bit dreary.
Location: Bata Shoe Museum is across the street, the ROM is two blocks away, the U of Toronto's main campus is right there. The Annex is two blocks west.
I was in Toronto for business recently. Got this room as part of an Expedia flight-and-hotel package, which made it extremely competitive. Since much of my work was at the Ontario Institute for the Study of Education (OISE), it was a perfect location. There are meant to be lots of restaurants nearby but, frankly, there aren't and the ones there are don't stand out. Mercurio does a nice pasta but it's unexceptional. There's a nice mom-and-pop Hungarian restaurant of 1970s vintage in the Annex and that's worth a visit for comfort food. The pubs nearby are pretty much uniformly awful. Brilliant bookshop two blocks west on Bloor. The hotel is well located for transit and cultural facilities. I'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2015
There was an employee at the hotel (can't recall her name!) and she went out of her way to attend to my requests which was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Eastern Ontario

Friendly, efficient staff - great downtown locatio

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The front desk staff is always friendly, efficient and kind.
Cons: Change the plastic glasses and paper cup to real glass and mugs. Upgrade the coffee makers to Keurig's. Make the heating/AC more responsive.
Location: Terrific location - super close to the St. George subway. Great strolling neighbourhood. Bata Shoe Museum, ROM, U of Toronto, Bloor St. restaurants
We arrived early on a beautiful sunny mid-April weekend. Our room was ready, parking is really convenient below ground and it's easy to park before check in. We found the room a bit warm, and even though you can open the window a bit, it would have been nice to be a bit cooler. We weren't able to really cool the room down, but that might have been because of the season. I like this hotel very much and almost always stay here when I come to Toronto.