Ratings based on 1,110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St John's, NL

Nice hotel in Downtown Toronto

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The hotel placement was perfect but they had an unreasonable damage deposit, $200 a night which is ridiculous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, Uk

Great access to Downtown

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The room was small for 2 adults and 2 kids, but larger rooms are available if you book earlier. Access to the subway, trolley buses and hop-on/hop-off tours are all within 100 yards on the junction of Yonge and College.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you, Mark, for your your review. Our Tour Desk is located in the lobby, and is a great resource for information regarding tours of the city, or information on using public transit. Thank you for staying with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude hotel staff!!!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Everything!
Location: Anything we found ourselves because the hotel staff were the worst when we asked them anything!!!
The staff were rude and not accommodating at all!!! The maintenance staff were extremely helpful when we were looking for the work out facilities and pool! I would never pay to stay there again! Expedia staff were also very misleading in their representation of this hotel! ALso Expedia staff said they checked to see if my employer had a company rate with this hotel and said they did not……however they did!!! NEVER AGAIN WILL I BOOK WITH EXPEDIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Unpleasantly surprised

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The hotel was pretty comfy (except that the thermostat was a little out of wack) and clean. Everything went well or so I thought until I tried to use my credit card the day after I checked out. Attempted to make a purchase which was declined. Called my credit card company only to find that a separate charge of $500 was showing up under the hotel name. Called the hotel and was told to my surprise that it was a security deposit. I explained that I was not told about any security deposit at the time of check-in and the person proceeded to tell me that they ALWAYS mention this as guests check in. Told her that maybe she does, but the person that checked me in didn't otherwise I wouldn't be calling now. She asked if I'd signed a paper and I said yes, but what I read said that it was for the wristbands that were mandatory for guests staying during the Caribana weekend. Don't think that she was really listening to anything that I was saying. As a matter of fact she didn't apologize or even sound like she cared. Her end to the conversation was, "Well, we sent notice to the credit card company to let them know we didn't use the funds. Since Monday's a holiday you just have to wait till Tuesday for them to receive the notification."
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Ok for the price. But probably won't stay again.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Better ventilation.
Location: It's literally the downtown, walking distance to the Eaton Center, City Hall and other touristy spots.
The room is on the small side, but given it's downtown location, we are not looking for more. The room has no self-controlled ventilation, so the bathroom can become really humid after shower. The parking surcharge is relatively high (CAD 28/day) , and there is no complimentary breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice location

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Convenient location for us, but the room was very very small, and bathroom facilities outdated. Shower head wouldn't stay in place, and toilet always flushed over the top.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elmira Ont

Good location...

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Great for a place to sleep. Close to lots of Toronto attractions. Room service is expensive. Lots of restaurants around to chose from as an option.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Reasonable hotel in a convenient location.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The hotel's location and the hotel staff.
Cons: The size of the rooms and no bathtub.
Location: The College Park Shopping Mall, several restaurants (breakfasts, pubs, fast food) are nearby. Dundas & Yonge streets are within walking distance.
The standard double room is quite small with little room to move around. There was only a shower in the bathroom. The hotel staff was friendly & helpful. The hotel's location is close to a subway station but it is also within walking distance of several attractions & restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Rita, thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and felt welcomed by our staff. If you would prefer a room with a bathtub during your next stay with us, please let us know prior to your arrival, and we will do our best to block a room with a tub for you. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

good location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Close to transit and downtown area. Lots of restaurants, cafes and stores within easy walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Anne, thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We're glad to see you enjoyed your trip to Toronto, and hope we'll see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Holiday Inn Review

Posted Jul 29, 2014
The only negative was the room was too small - not enough room to get around at the bottom of the bed. Also, the bathroom was cramped, with no bath tub available. Great location and friendly staff, though!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad our staff made you feel comfortable during your stay. If you would prefer a room with a tub in the future, please let us know prior to your arrival, and we will do our best to honour your request. Thank you for staying with us.