Ratings based on 1,420 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newmarket

Great

Posted Dec 16, 2014
All staff we encountered were amazing. Stayed at a lot of hotels. I have never had better service.I was truly impressed by everyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Georgian Bay, ONT

Holiday Inn was great, still lots of potential!

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Great staff, even better location, decent amenities for it's age (built in the sixties?).
Cons: Just attention to detail with the laundry, bed spread, curtains. That's from my wife. I was pleased with everything!
Location: I loved the decent restaurants nearby. What's great also is the subway station on Yonge and Carlton/College streets intersection.
I loved how the hotel was off Yonge St but with a College St./ Carlton St subway entrance nearby. My wife's hospital was a block away (Women's College Hospital) and I was pleased. She did find some stains in the window coverings and bedspread indicating some need to sort out issues of attention to detail. I was happy that the location was fabulous since I was not going to do anything else but sleep in the hotel room. The room was on the small side, but I did not care. The staff were most pleasant, helpful, and cheery. Kudos to them for doing their best to make my stay really comfortable. Everything else was great and I was pleased.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cold showers, poor response.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Bell Staff/ Starbucks
Cons: Response of customer care
Had a great experience on check in and through discussions with the Australian bell staff but the rest of my experience was less than desired. There was no alarm clock present in the room- which I believed to be standard. On my second morning I was unable to get hot water for my shower. Upon calling down to the staff I was asked if "if the water was not hot, was it warm at least?" followed by "There is no one else reporting this issue, and the boilers seem fine". It was the coldest shower I have taken in 15 years and I think the questions was weird. I am pretty sure as a paying customer I should be the one deciding on how how hot I would like my shower to be. The water never actually got any warmer prior to check out 45 minutes later.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ottawa

It's ok. One night.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Room was small. Very Clean. Bed was comfortable. TV was small and in difficult to watch location. Room service food was iffy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you found the bed comfortable, and will forward your comments regarding the location of the television to our Director of Engineering. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Burlington, vermont

First time despite frequent travel in TO

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: location, quiet, on-site parking ($$)
Cons: cheaper parking, comp something when guest takes time to call with concern, in this case limited hot water...
Location: cinema, Yonge Street shopping, on subway line so lots accessible...
I frequently stay in Toronto on business, but have never stayed at this hotel...usual places booked so I tried this one, and will definitely return...great on-site dining options, well-staffed, great location, and quiet, despite central downtown location...corridors a bit drab, room small but comfortable...
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Mois. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and are planning on visiting us again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

okay inside, horrible parking and streets

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: it had a bed
Cons: parking and access to parking
Location: make parking easier, you shouldn't have to walk around the streets to get to your car and charge 30$ to do so! it should be included in the hotel pric
hotel itself was okay, nothing spectacular, super small, but it was just for a room for us to sleep we did not spend much time there. parking was ridiculous, they tell us there is parking for holiday inn but then we found out when we got there the lot was "full" so we had to use an even sketchier parking lot and to get to the parking lot you have to walk around all of the other buildings (not just holiday inn) remember its Toronto, there is really no where to stop with your luggage in front of the hotel... we were also two girls, we were not leaving each others sides. needless to say was not the greatest hotel, horrible location. probably would never stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that our parking garage was full when you arrived. We apologize for the inconvenience and are sorry if this made you feel uncomfortable. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Although the hallways are narrow and tired looking the rooms were newly renovated and very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and hope we'll see you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Barrie, Ont

Night out

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Went to the city for a concert and to visit with friends. Just needed a nice place to stay over for the night close to the venue Was enthusiastically and very politely engaged by the staff at check in. Very comfortable and nice but not spacious room. Checkout was quick and equally well handled Close to many amenities
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you Mike for your wonderful review. We hope you enjoyed the concert and time with your friends. We're happy we could be part of the occasion. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Nice hotel for downtown stay

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Please ask your reception staff to "greet their guests first" - will really make people feel better
Location: Location is great. I havent even used public transport, i pretty much walked to all the main points of interest. CN Tower, RMO, AGO - it's all there
It was a rather short stay for me, just one night. The reception made me frown a little both on check-in and check-out - i am not used to acknowledge myself to reception staff. Both times i have to actually make an effort to be noticed, but after that everything went real smooth and it is a well deserved 4 out of 5. The concierge (Alex, if i am not mistaken) was extremely helpful, i was looking for a map to shadow my google maps if the phone dies and got plenty of useful suggestions as to where to go and discount coupon for AGO, which i gladly used later. I thought it was an ideal place for a short stay - i only planned to come in to sleep (so didnt care for the view much, and the little window in the room didnt bother me), i had a handful of things (so didnt need plenty of closet space), and all i cared for was proper bed and proper bathroom, and those i most definitely got. Speaking of - well done to housekeeping staff, the room was very clean, and would've got 5 out of 5, if it wasnt for obvious dust line where floor and wall meet for the whole perimeter of the room. This should definitely be a part of spring cleaning plan. Nice touch was the list of measures to guarantee your safety, i think that it is a very important issue and it was very good to know that management shares this idea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Maria, thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. We have forwarded your comments about Reception to the General Manager and our Director of Front Office to review with his team. You are absolutely right, as our guest, we should be more proactive in acknowledging you first. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will also be sure to pass your compliments on to Alex, the concierge. Alex is certainly one of our stars, and we're happy he was able to help you with directions during your visit. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Girard, OH

Centrally located and a great price

Posted Nov 30, 2014
The parking garage was a tight squeeze and a little hard to find, but was for hotel customers only. There was an exhaust fan in the bathroom, but it did not work as there was no switch for it. Otherwise, a nice hotel in a great location for a good price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you Breena for your review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our location, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you for staying with us.