Ratings based on 1,083 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Got charged twice.

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Everything
Location: NA
Very basic and cramped room. Hair in the shower. Had my card billed twice for the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Good hotel, well located

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: better pricing giving the tiny size of the rooms
Location: lots of options. Chruch St, Yonge st an Little Italy easily accessible. 10 minutes away from Union Station by subway.
This hotel is nicely situated on Carlton between Yonge (busy street with tons of stores) and Church (the gayboorhood center), and 2 minutes away from the College subway station. The room was fairly small though. The one we had featured a king size bed but not much more than that. The window was tiny with no view at all, and very little natural light. The hotel is clean and in good shape; our stay was very comfortable. The parking is very weird: traffic lanes are swapped (drive lane is on the left), there is very little space to maneuver, and my car rental barely fitted in height (it was a grand Cherokee, which I did not choose and was the only option available at the rental office at Pearson Airport).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Hotel Disappointing; Location Great

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The location is great; the swimming pool was clean and a good size. Staff was very friendly. Room was clean.
Cons: See above.
Location: Not far from Eaton Centre; beautiful Loblaws next door.
For the price of the hotel, I was very disappointed. Here are my comments: 1. Location is great. 2. Indoor parking very difficult. You drive into the garage on the left; and if there is any car exiting (on the right), there is not enough room to manouever the car. I had to back up to allow a car to turn into the exit lane. 3. We asked for a change of room. Our first room was so dark and dreary; very small window; narrow view between two big buildings. It felt like it was caving in. 4. Second room was better, although the TV should be wall-mounted in front of the bed, instead of to the side sitting on the credenza in front of a window air-conditioning unit. 5. The noise from someone using the showing in either the upstairs room or adjoining room was so loud, that it ridiculous. It sounded as if someone was using our shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Margaret, thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will share your comments with our Department Heads and discuss what can be done to improve in these areas. Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sarnia

close enough to walk to waterfront

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: lots of parking
Cons: hot tub would be nice
Location: close to everything,all walkable
friendly staff,no hidden fees,clean but small rooms,didnèt expect more considering location
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Homer. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you had a wonderful time at the Waterfront. Thank you for staying with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Location is good, however hotel rooms are small

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Rooms are super small, curtains, walls, floor carpet, chair, & side lamps are dirty. Wall picture detached from frame. Stains on bed sheets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small Room

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Clean and pleasant workers.
We had a 2 double bed room. It seemed a little plain, it wasn't the most comfortable sleep and over all felt small. We didn't realize that we had a fridge in the room until leaving the next day when it was found in the closet :/ The bathroom was beautiful though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, and sharing your experience. Due to our room size, the fridges and safes are often tucked into the closet to maximize the amount of living space for our guests. We're sorry you didn't see these amenities before you checked out. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St John's, NL

Nice hotel in Downtown Toronto

Posted Aug 11, 2014
The hotel placement was perfect but they had an unreasonable damage deposit, $200 a night which is ridiculous
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York, Uk

Great access to Downtown

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The room was small for 2 adults and 2 kids, but larger rooms are available if you book earlier. Access to the subway, trolley buses and hop-on/hop-off tours are all within 100 yards on the junction of Yonge and College.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you, Mark, for your your review. Our Tour Desk is located in the lobby, and is a great resource for information regarding tours of the city, or information on using public transit. Thank you for staying with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude hotel staff!!!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: Everything!
Location: Anything we found ourselves because the hotel staff were the worst when we asked them anything!!!
The staff were rude and not accommodating at all!!! The maintenance staff were extremely helpful when we were looking for the work out facilities and pool! I would never pay to stay there again! Expedia staff were also very misleading in their representation of this hotel! ALso Expedia staff said they checked to see if my employer had a company rate with this hotel and said they did not……however they did!!! NEVER AGAIN WILL I BOOK WITH EXPEDIA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Unpleasantly surprised

Posted Aug 9, 2014
The hotel was pretty comfy (except that the thermostat was a little out of wack) and clean. Everything went well or so I thought until I tried to use my credit card the day after I checked out. Attempted to make a purchase which was declined. Called my credit card company only to find that a separate charge of $500 was showing up under the hotel name. Called the hotel and was told to my surprise that it was a security deposit. I explained that I was not told about any security deposit at the time of check-in and the person proceeded to tell me that they ALWAYS mention this as guests check in. Told her that maybe she does, but the person that checked me in didn't otherwise I wouldn't be calling now. She asked if I'd signed a paper and I said yes, but what I read said that it was for the wristbands that were mandatory for guests staying during the Caribana weekend. Don't think that she was really listening to anything that I was saying. As a matter of fact she didn't apologize or even sound like she cared. Her end to the conversation was, "Well, we sent notice to the credit card company to let them know we didn't use the funds. Since Monday's a holiday you just have to wait till Tuesday for them to receive the notification."