Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Modern Trendy

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Slick unique style But very basic No parking but good municipal lots nearby We will use again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Welland, ON

Basic room in middle of Chinatown

Posted Jun 30, 2015
This was my first stay at Hotel Ocho, as I got a pretty good deal of 225$ for the night during the Digital Dreams music festival. First off, I had some trouble finding the brick building because we drove by too fast. It can be easy to miss. After that adventure, we almost missed the check-in desk because it's hidden below the stairs. Okay I can deal with that. We had the 3rd floor corner room #26, which had two bright windows, without curtains, and was smaller than what I'd expected. I guess this is how more modern hotel rooms are nowadays. The bathroom was quite large and the shower was fantastic. The room was very clean and tidy. I noticed we only had two towels and we had three people who were going to take turns showering. According to the hotel welcome manual/services book in the room, 43 was the number for room service and reception. I tried calling on four separate occasions and not once did anyone answer. This was mildly irritating because we were preoccupied with getting ready and locating a place for dinner, so neither of us were too keen on going down to reception, especially when there was a wedding in progress and we were supposed to steer clear of the main lobby. To add to that, we were unable to use any of the hotel's facilities, such as the bar or lounge because they were reserved for the wedding.. I would perhaps call in ahead to check if anything is going on. That problem aside, the room was great for the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Qc

Convenient location

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, staff
Cons: Reception desk was underneath the stairs, didn't even know it was there.
I did not know what to expect and I was very surprise. Surprised in a good way. I enjoyed my stay and would stay there again. The only negative thing I can say is that when I entered,I thought that I was at the wrong place. You see I did not see the reception area for we walking into restaurant and bar. Thank you
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Nice design, good location, staff were friendly.
Cons: Service! Friendly staff, but poor follow through.
Nice looking place and staff were friendly. I was there for 6 days and asked right away to have my shower fixed, as the on/off knob was so tight it took two hands and a washcloth to crank it on/off. I was told it would be taken care of. When it was not fixed by the next day, I was again promised it would be taken care of. I ended my stay with the shower never addressed, despite asking four times, and no one ever even bothered to follow up with me. The toilet handle was broken (they did fix that, actually), and the room had ants. Never again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Cool hotel in great location

Posted May 17, 2015
Hotel Ocho is convenient to The best of Queen Street. Jamal was great at check-in. The hotel bar is a great spot. Our room (queen bed) was basic, but clean. the bathroom is large and modern. You can hear the music from the bar in your room - given the feel of the hotel, with its exposed brick and wood beams, and the location, it is a minor distraction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2015
Staff was amazing, location was great, can't wait to stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and quiet for a city central hotel.

Posted May 3, 2015
Really enjoyed my stay at Ocho. Great location and comfortable room and bed. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2015
The building is so disappointing but the room is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Quick stay in Toronto for business. Great hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Proximity to downtown core.
Nice hotel. Very friendly staff. The location was also very close to the downtown core.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Cool minimalist boutique hotel, amazing staff

Posted Mar 29, 2015
I loved my experience at Hotel Ocho. I found it through reviews on Trip Advisor and Yelp, and picked it based on its central location (a couple of blocks from Queen St and within five minutes from both business meetings I had booked) and because people raved about the staff. I heartily echo these endorsements now: the location was fabulous, and the staff made me feel completely at home. Jamal, the manager, knew my name and a bit about why I was in Toronto and made a point of checking in with me to see how the day's work had gone, each day I was there. Genuinely nice. Ocho has also got a great little bar/restaurant that's perfect for business travelers: you can plug in your laptop and have a glass of wine or a meal as you work--and when you're done there are plenty of other travellers and locals to chat with at the bar. Great drink specials too. Loved my stay, will definitely stay again.