Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by GMS from New York

Had to switch rooms

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The staff was pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast, while limited in choice, was tasty and well stocked.
Cons: The layout/design of the rooms. The hotel clearly skimped on some very simple things that would've made the rooms a lot nicer.
Location: This isn't very near the sights, but it's about 2 blocks from the subway, so maybe 15 minutes to downtown.
The first room we were given was tiny and awkward. There was only room to get out of the bed on one side (the other was against a wall), there was one tiny window, no dresser. The TV was placed very low on the wall, and there was a standing fan in front of it, blocking the TV partially. (We didn't watch any TV, but this was still quite odd.) The bedside table was more like an end table--it had no base or drawer, just a small table with four legs. But the thing that made us switch rooms was the bathroom door. The room was so small that the hotel had removed the normal bathroom door and replaced it with a sliding, closet-style door. The door was hung wrong and couldn't be pulled over far enough to actually close. It appeared that even if the door could have been pulled over, there still would've been a gap between the outside wall and the inside of the door. The staff was very accommodating switching our room. Unfortunately, we were given the same corner room, but on a different floor. Due to some fluke, this new room at least had enough space to allow for a real bedside table and space on both sides of the bed. The bathroom door worked, in the sense that it pulled over far enough. But to really close (and lock) it, we had to first slide the bolt out, then shimmy the door around for the bolt to slide in. (If there'd simply been a handle on the interior of the door, that would solve the problem!) Location OK, continental breakfast OK, staff nice, but bad design.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old but close to the subway

Posted May 12, 2014
Breakfast was simple but good. Quite old building, slow internet but room was quite big. No toothbrushes or conditioner
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room too small with a very small window

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: their staff is not too bad.
Cons: maybe a thorough cleaning of the hotel and serve more appetizing breakfast.
Location: the location is not very inviting.
they don't serve anything but breakfast and breakfast is not very good. the carpet haven't been clean for a while. the room is dusty so is the glasses and the coffee maker.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice-looking hotel on quiet street, bad soundproof

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: The bathroom was pretty nice and the bedsheets looked clean.
Cons: Fix the ventilation system so the rooms don't feel so stuffy and soundproof the rooms better. Could add a mini-fridge in the rooms too.
Location: Block away from subway station, some historical buildings on the same street; be careful when walking street at night though if female and alone.
Hotel is on a quiet street, so barely heard any traffic noise, but neighbouring hotel tenants could be audible entering and exiting the floor until about 3am. Mostly doors slamming were heard, but there was some loud conversation as well. Hotel clerk spoke sternly to me about not smoking in my room and the consequences if I did. The room when I entered had the mild stench of cigarette smoke already inside, which I found rather ironic. You can't call a room non-smoking when clearly someone had already smoked there in the past or people in neighbouring rooms had been smoking. I would have complained, but I had already spent 16hrs. that day travelling and lost 3 hrs. with the time-zone change, so I was really just wanting a quiet restful night. But of course aside from noise from the other guests, my thermostat was fixed at 26 degrees Celcius all night, and the fan ran all night but did nothing to change the temperature to a cooler 19 degrees. They had a cooling fan already in the room, but I wanted to avoid the extra noise. I think I got a whopping 2 hours of legitimate sleep in there and had an interview early the following morning so I couldn't take advantage of the free continental breakfast. Overall, I got better sleep on my 4.5 hour flight home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emily

Clean, cheap and cozy

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Cons: Add extra lighting in the room (it was kind of dark)
Stayed for one night. Located close-ish to the downtown core in a quiet area. The room itself was quite small and cozy, but was clean and good for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lol

Posted Apr 29, 2014
N.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lee from Durham Region

Wonderful place to stay.

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: The room and the staff, restaurant, were exceptional.
Cons: The continental breakfast could be a bit more. Possibly oatmeal/cream of wheat packets (just add boiling water)
Location: Very close to family living in the city. Dined in the restaurant at the hotel.
Initial room was small, though efficient. Was moved to another room because of a heating issue. This room was exceptional, LOVED it, over and above my expectations The desk clerk was extremely helpful (Molla). Had great dinner/drinks at the restaurant in the hotel, wonderful wait staff. When staying in the city will certainly make the Isabella my primary place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tasha from north bay, Ontario

Hotel with character

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Very accommodating, friendly staff. Beautiful older castle looking building with a different picture background on the wall behind the bed. Pretty good breakfast and WiFi aswell. Also has a gabbys restaurant attached with a patio for the summer
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiffany from Toronto

Not bad for the price.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Given the awful reviews on here, I was pretty hesitant to stay here. However, the room was actually nicer than the pictures online, and we had no issues with heat (it's the winter), or water pressure/temperature. Overall, as long as you know this isn't a five star place, your getting what you pay for. There are no toothbrushes supplied to guests, so make sure you being your own. Also, take a taxi if your coming in late at night. This isn't the safest neighbourhood.
2 out of 5
by sheehan and ant from new jersey

Staff rude and inadequate

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Staff gave us two occupied rooms before giving us a room with water marks on the ceiling.....we almost walked in on a man taking a shower.....we requested a late checkout...the staff started calling us telling us we had to leave because they had no notes regarding a late checkout....they must have called us 20 times in 40 min ......