Ratings based on 694 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2015
It's a good hotel. Rooms are very nice and spacious with 2 TVs They had a airport shuttle free(round trip) . The pick up spot was cold and they took quite awhile to get me. The locals calls are 50c a call, first time I was charged for local calls It does have pool and gym Still underconstruction in some areas. But it is still really nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for the price

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Positives: For the price it was better than expected. The room had 2 queen beds & a pull out sofa with 2 seperate tvs. The pool & hot tub were nice. Negatives: The waterslide in the pool area they dont have operating because of a name change with the hotel. Not sure of the underlying reasons. The hotel was very short on staff. I only saw like 5 staff my entire stay. When we needed some extra towels. I called down & the guy said he would bring some. After 20 mins I called back & the guy said it would be a little while because he was the only staff in the entire hotel. This was at 10pm. If your the type that can look over the staffing issue & some other minor flaws it would definitely be the right hotel for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maryfrom Winnipeg

Compliant

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Hi Our room had no heat, so it was very cold. We called down to the hotel desk and complain, he came and check it out and he could not get it to work. So they got us another room. The heat worked but it smell like smoke. It needs some remodeling and updating etc. etc. No restaurant or coffee shop. It could of been a lot better for my money. Thanks Mary
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to airport and restaurants.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: 2 weeks free parking, shuttle to the airport and convenient location to the airport, along with plenty of restaurants.
Cons: None
It is always pleasant and comfortable. Love the separate suite idea. And we appreciate the covered parking. Front desk staff is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

I would stay again

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
This was a great deal. We left our car and had the shuttle to and from the airport. Dont love the pool in the basement ( and slide wasn't open)
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom toronto

Very noisy!

Posted Jan 6, 2015
The hotel is very noisy... They didn't respect the costumer and put me in the same floor where they were doing renovations. So you could hear every early morning people shouting, hammers, moving furnitures... Impossible to sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by suefrom kincardine ont.

not impressed with the shuttle service

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
we were happy with the room what we weren't happy was the shuttle service we called when we got out luggage at the airport they told us 5 min. 25 min passed waiting outside at the post 5 like they told us shuttle shows up tell us he cannot take us as he is the one from down town, called back another 20 min and a shuttle from holiday in says hes picking us up meanwhile we are waiting In the van and the driver is outside arguing with a tow truck driver yelling at each other , gets in the van to only stop again to argue with the same guy... needless to say there was no tipping... also the nite before our flight we noticed a dirty diaper on the coffee table in the foyer I mentioned it to the front desk , we went back out about 30 min later on our return with food..... the diaper was still there had to tell them again to remove it... I called to hotel upon our return to complain and left a message with the manager and no answer so far its almost a week now.. doubt we will stay there again......
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Sandman rated

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
Big change from past visits when it was called Stage West. Renovated lobby looks great. When the Denny's is complete I am sure it will become a more complete experience. Staff was very pleasant and did thier best to meet all our needs. Our room was clean however we could tell a previous guest had smoked in the bathroom. I believe it would be a great idea to have coffee available in the lobby throughout the day especially during renovations of a restaraunt Our room was available with a coffee maker however each day we only had 1 pack regular blend and 2 decaf blends availabe to us. Found that rather odd. If you do not drink decaf than one person is out of luck. Pool is always great. The room was very warm. We ran the air unit but ended up opening the window to cool things down.Could not find any othr way to cool things down. Please do not take this a critism of the hotel. I travel often and understand hotel expectations. Overall we are pleased.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Danielfrom Sarnia

First time at Sandman is my last

Posted Jan 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
We took 3 adults and 4 kids for 4 days of family time. The hotel was under construction. The restaurant did not exist. The pool was ok but we selected this hotel for the water slide which was locked up and never open. The hot tub didn't work some days. The fridge was broken. The room was very dirty like they didn't vacuum. Left over food and candy wrappers from previous guests. The closet doors were broken off the slides. The Sandman is the bottom of my list for future travels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: We were able to use pool and hot tub which was great for the kids before a long car ride home.
For the most part it suited our purpose and didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. The hotel is under major construction so not many services available.