Ratings based on 389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Tony from Buffalo N,Y

Not too bad at all

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Price, Friendly, Front desk calls for taxi rides, good looking room
Cons: A better outdoor sign, security fee notification,
I would like to give an honest review. After parking and walking in, the desk worker was very friendly. All of them were in fact throughout the night. We were shown to our room, and it was very nice. It actually looked renovated. Anyone can tell this by looking at the outside(old motel look) and the first floor check in area. The room was pleasant and clean for the most part, and the beds were comfortable in fact. I didn't see many people, but the crowd wasn't too sketchy and just wanted what I did- A clean, affordable decent hotel that we weren't going to stay in much. The area is fine. It just isn't right near the nice city centre. A cab ride will cover that (or walking in the summer months). It won't cost more than $12 for most parts around the city. Our room also didn't smell like smoke which is a positive. I didn't like having to pay a $100 security fee but they might have had problems in the past.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daniel from Melbourne

Clean, comfortable, modern

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Location: Right ner Queen street, trendy shops cafes and bars. Great for younger people.
I was pleasantly surpirsed by my stay. The hotel was modern and extremely comfortable with free wifi and a nice big flatscreen. Bed was extremely comfortable and bathroom clean and modern. Would stay again, espcially with a good rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jarrod from Dresden,Ontario

Clean rooms close to hospital.

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: The room was very clean
Cons: access to drinks and maybe snacks would have been nice
Location: didn't find anything to do with in walking distance
I use this hotel because it was close to the hospital my Girlfriend was in. The rooms were nice and clean but i could find no ice machine and no vending machines. Which is a must in a strange town because I had no idea where there was a store or anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For that price, it was worth it

Posted Dec 30, 2013
I went to Toronto and I looked for an affordable hotel close to Downtown. It was a nice choice for the price, I really like it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2013
1 out of 5
by Matthew from Toronto

Sketchiest Hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2013
From the outside, Grange Hotel is what you think it is. Located in a sketchy area of Chinatown at the heart of Toronto. Grange Hotel is the ultimate definition of a kill zone. Walking in you are greeted by a man in a desk and his laptop which is basically the hotels' customer reception area. No flowers, no decoration no painting the hotel is simply straight forward used for staying the night or murdering someone. We initially got a room at the second floor and walking out of the elevator we already heard a couple fighting. We asked for another room because we did not want to be murdered so they did not hesitate to give us another one. It is probably because no one stays at this hotel. The room is old and the windows could not be opened hence, a total kill zone. The room numbers at the door are also sketchy. They used sticky notes for the room numbers. I guess this is ideal if you would like to kill someone and deceive the cops. We knew what we were getting into since the hotel was really cheap. We knew that there were risks involve staying at this hotel. Risk maybe an understatement. Regardless, We made a bad choice and realized that we should have paid more to get a better hotel.