Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

Economy hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: The staff and the restaurant
Cons: Towels were quite old and thin. Toilet was running for several minutes after being flushed. SHower head needs replacement. Entire floor smelled of smo
Location: Did not get out much
The hotel is fairly old and run down. While it was convenient to my office there, it was not a hotel I would stay at again. The staff were very pleasant and the restaurant on the main floor had good service and food. It looks like they are doing some renovations on it now, but my room definitely was not one of those.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom brampton

Renovations happening ...

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: none
Cons: the appearance of the rooms. a warm reception
The night I stayed there appeared to be renovations happening. I could here drilling going on through the walls. My room was okay; very dated. I have to say the person at check-in was not very welcoming. I do not think I will return
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2015 by Tushar, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review! We are currently in the process of renovations however our renovations only take place during the business hours of 9am - 5pm. I've passed on your comments to our front line staff in hopes of better improving future guest satisfaction. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Sincerely Jit Tanna
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Travelodge Toronto East

Very lose to highway 401and and Markham !

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Conviennent location , friendly service,hot breakfast
Cons: Inside room the paint start fading and some water stains on the ceiling . The pillows and the sheets of the bed ,the quality can be better.
Location: Close to highway 401 and Markham road where all my business are going on so save the traffic time .Cloae Scarbrough town center and good restaurants.
The hotel still need the improving ,the room I stayed the window can not be closed properly. During the windy day ,it was noisy. I complained the manager did offer to change the room but I was too tired to do that but the next day I did move to another room which solve the problem. A minor discomfort but for the price I paid and conviennent location ,still it's worth going back to stay there. The hotel stuffs are very supportive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2014 by Tushar, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review on Expedia.ca. We apologize for having to move your room but we did so in order to ensure your comfort for the rest of your stay. We've since then taken to sealing off all the air condition units in order to prevent any further complaints during the winter season. Our staff is pleased that you found us supportive and that you we pleased with the price and location of our Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Sincerely Jit Tanna.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Affordable hotel covering the basics

Posted Nov 11, 2014
It's a mediocre hotel at the heart of Scarborough. The hotel room is dated and requires renovation. The free breakfast is okay and the restaurant at the lobby (Shoeless Joe) offers an ample variety of food. It's a decent hotel if you just wanna relax and chill for a day or two. Location is not that great, it's quite far from the city's attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2014 by Tushar, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Expedia.ca. We are currently undergoing renovations in order to improve guest satisfaction. We are glad that you had an enjoyable experience using our amenities. I've passed on your comments to our team and we hope to welcome you back again in the future! Sincerely Jit Tanna
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to hwy

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Didn't get what expected. Dirty hotel and very small rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2014 by Tushar, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Expedia.ca. We apologize that your stay failed to meet your expectations and we have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping department. We are also undergoing renovations in the coming months and hope to amend your opinion of us during your next stay, Sincerely Jit Tanna
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom ottawa

simple clean close to things

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: close to the 401 pool was nice
Cons: update lighting they were well used and some were coming apart, more outlets needed
Location: close to 401 and a large shopping mall
this was a great hotel for the price, there was nothing fancy but a good place to sleep A little outdated but very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by Tushar, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review on Expedia.ca. Our staff is pleased that you enjoyed your stay! I've passed on your comments to our maintenance department for further investigation. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely Jit Tanna
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing Special.

Posted Oct 22, 2014
I know. It's a travelodge. But somehow they managed to be just a little disappointing. The staff was nice. But my room what not ready when I arrived at 4:30pm! I know it's not exactly bedtime but after a long drive I really wanted to put my feet up. Instead we had to wait. On my second night the elevator was not working so I had to take the stairs, luckily, a highrise it is not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2014 by Tushar, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review on Expedia.ca. Our team is pleased that you found us accommodating and friendly. I apologize that your room was not ready upon your arrival! Check in time is 3pm and I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping department for further investigation. Unfortunately one of our elevators was placed out of order for emergency repairs we had done this as a safety measure to ensure that no one became stuck in it. We hope to improve your opinion of us during your next stay! Sincerely Jit Tanna
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sandeepfrom ottawa

sigh -smelly

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
price was good for a very dated hotel , people were nice but the hotel rooms very run down
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Tushar, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review on Expedia.ca. Our staff is pleased that you found us accommodating and friendly. Your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping and maintenance department for further investigation. We will be undergoing room renovations within the near future so, we hope to improve your opinion of us during your next stay! Sincerely Jit Tanna.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ottawa, on

Ok

Posted Oct 9, 2014
This was an ok hotel. Strange they wouldn't give us a copy off the hotel receipt. To show we paid
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2014 by Tushar, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review on Expedia.ca. Our staff is pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! Unfortunately we do not give out invoices for third party reservations. The website that you booked through should have sent you an invoice immediately after you paid online. We hope to welcome you back in the future Sincerely, Jit Tanna.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jasonfrom Wiarton

Needs remodeling

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room I booked was not cleaned, so I was moved to a different room. The 2nd room had a bad mold problem behind the toilet. The had a bad smell.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Tushar, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review on Expedia.ca. We had changed your room in hopes of better accommodating you. I apologize that your stay failed to meet your expectations, guest satisfaction is of primary importance to us here. Your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping and maintenance department for further investigation. We will be undergoing room renovations within the near future so, we hope to improve your opinion of us during your next stay! Sincerely Jit Tanna.