Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcie from Gold Coast

Centrally situated hotel

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Access to everything we needed.
Cons: We were happy with everything.
Good hotel situated on the Mall in Flinders Street. Close to Restaurants, Movie Theatre, Cowboys Rugby League Club and only a 10 minute stroll to the beautiful Strand with views to Magnetic Island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sid

Average

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Old building Staff very cooperative Breakfast below average Location good, close to city yet not too noisy, also not too far from airport Overall an average hotel
3 out of 5
by chris from country vic

Different to last time

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: Location,very handy to establishments that do serve a proper range of food AND DRINK.
Cons: Re establish a bar!
Location: See above
Since staying about this time last year,they have spent a lot of money renovating the rooms and corridors and they a huge improvement.The bed was very comfortable but my room was on a split level so I needed to bear that in mind during the night in the dark.HOWEVER,the renovations have also meant that there is no longer a bar in the place.You may well be able to get a drink when the restaurant is open between 6 and 9 pm but otherwise bad luck.And even then the choice is limited to wine or beer with a very limted selection of canned premixed and even the wine can only be bought by the glass if you are dining in.No spirits or liqueurs are available. As I could not get a pre dinner G&T, I dined elsewhere.Custom lost.A Hotel that does not have a bar is only a glorified guest house!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located in the CBD.

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: Central location, inhouse restaurant and great staff.
Cons: Bathroom was too little and cramped.
Location: Short walk to the Strand and Palmer Street. Sunday markets are right outside your door. Cowboys Leagues Club only one block away as are the Cinemas.
Staff were fantastic. Very helpful and exceptionally pleasant.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by G trentin from Mount isa

Lacking hot water

Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Have stayed at this hotel many times over the years.the last stay could be our last.main reason No hot Water
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ric from UK

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, clean well maintained. Helpful staff. Good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A from Townsville

Posted Apr 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
A good place to stay & close to everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AW from Townsville

Good all round

Posted Apr 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Handy location. Good staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stephen from Qld Australia

OK...but room for improvement

Posted Oct 29, 2012
Staff were friendly and helpful and location was good. My room had been refurbished recently but there were many parts of the hotel that were showing their age. Elevators were slow ... used the stairs more often than not... carpet in the stairwell was falling apart and certainly required replacement. Whilst the hotel was OK it was on the expensive side for its quality. The adjacent street is the old mall which has now been redeveloped to allow traffic flow however the development has not worked and there are a large number of vacant shops in the area.