Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfy rooms, lots of nature, close to airport

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: I loved the tropical forest in the middle of the complex
Unfortunately, we only stayed one night between travel transfers. We thought highly enough to include it in our return transfer. Being fit and able, I thoroughly enjoyed the place. A mini tropical forest between the entrance ,restaurant, bar area and the rooms was really cool for first time visitors to Australia. I really have nothing to complain about. A fair price, great location for us, tidy and comfortable. I would recommend that travelers to this motel ask for ground floor rooms if they are unable to climb 2 flights of stairs to the upper rooms. Smokers were well catered for in the allocated smoking zones.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Nice hotel, good restaurant but the service is very very slow...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2014
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Antonio from Innisfail

Great service

Posted Dec 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service was very pleasant and absolutely professional. We could even ask for a pillow of choice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2014 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments Antonio. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to let the team know that you found them to be very pleasant and professional. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Peter Riordan from Hughenden

FANTASTIC SERVICE

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice, pool beautiful, especially at night, from the restaurant. The food from the restaurant exceptional. Perfectly located with Lake, shopping center and fast food venues only 3 mins away including Sizzlers. Service top notch from the reception, bar staff to the cleaners, always friendly, with a hearty hello or good morning. I always enjoy my stay at mercure as I have stayed many times. Only one small gripe I would like to have maybe a 2 seater couch to sit on rather to sit on the bed or a wooden chair to watch TV at night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2014 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you Peter for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Mercure Townsville. As a regular guest it is wonderful to hear from you. I will pass your feedback on to the team as I am sure it will serve as motivation as we strive to provide our guests with exceptional service. Looking forward to welcomming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Manjula from Sydney

nice clean hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Cons: Mercure restaurant food are very expensive. better if we had brekki included to the room price
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Peter, Hotel Management
Dear Manjula Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. I am very pleased you found the hotel to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Juanita Trickett Assistant Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joel from Townsville

Good start to my wedding

Posted Dec 9, 2013
The hotel was great, I was diappointed with expedia who did not send any info to Mecure Inn that i was coming. So when I arrived they did everything that could to get me into a room and then sorted it out while i was relaxing with some dinner in a room. Then for the 2nd night they upgraded me to a better room . Mecure inn thanks very much. Expedia - im never booking with you again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Peter, Hotel Management
Hi Joel Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us, we really appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am so pleased our staff provided you with such a high level of service and started your wedding off positively. I look forward to seeing you again at the Mercure Townsville Kind regards Juanita Trickett Assistant Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Convenient and close to the airport for early morning flight. Rooms were clean but didn't have a chance to utilize much of what the hotel had to offer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2014 by Peter, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Mercure Townsville. We are pleased that you found the hotel to be convenient for your needs. We hope that we see you again soon for an extended stay with us so that you can utilize the hotels facilities and experience the friendly service here at the Mercure Townsville. Juanita Trickett Assistant Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by fen from Melbourne

Great holiday but the staff left a sour taste

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
1. Money was taken off my credit card randomly, admittedly reversed very quickly but should never have happened and I had to notify the staff that it had happened. 2. Requested a late check out the day before we left and was told yes 12noon no worries I'll put it in the system. Got a call at 11.46am saying the cleaning staff were wondering if you were still planning to check out today. I explained that we had been told we could have a late check out at 12noon. The reception staff member said no worries they would let the cleaners know. Then about 5 minutes later the cleaning staff member basically stood outside our room with the cleaning cart until we left. 3. The restaurant had a policy that all diners had to go to the front desk of the restaurant and wait to be seated despite all the empty tables, no reserved signs on the tables and no signage saying that was what you had to do. We arrived at the bar the second night we had dinned there and the shift supervisor requested with a sour unsmiling tone that we follow her to the desk for her to check her book despite 4-6empty tables. No worries we did as we asked despite not having to do that the night before. We observed one couple and a single diner sit themselves and then be scolded by the wait staff for sitting themselves and not presenting to the desk first. 4. We attended a wedding reception there as well. A happy fun event but you would never know that from the exhausted looking unsmiling staff running the night.