Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by brian from new york

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
very basic room but nice location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Terry from Australia

Hidden Treasure

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Erice is a very special destination . It is a mountain retreat , well kept all round with buildings and environment plus breathtaking views. There is a tranquil ambiance in Erice that would appeal to relaxing, reading , walking, eating and just being there. Great for a little personal retreat. La Pineta we found good value for money, brilliant location and very good service at their restaurant. Overall a special place in Sicily - pleasant surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by AnitaMW from San Francisco Bay Area

Convenient, pleasant location

Posted Jul 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 3 nights as our base while visiting western Sicily. The property is lovely, on the edge of the hill, with a lovely common area under pine trees and views down to the water. The common area is the only place you can receive wifi, and it is only adequate if you sit right outside the office. Onsite parking was very convenient. The rooms are definitely "rustic", and the shower is tiny. If you pay additional for a "superior" room, make sure it's one with a real, private balcony with a view. Our balcony was delightful. The rooms have a refrigerator, which was useful because any food left out attracts ants. We were able to leave our balcony door open the first night with no bugs. The second night there was wind, and we had to latch the shutters else they banged all night. The AC was adequate, but it blew directly on the bed. Beware that driving directions lead you to a very narrow, winding road. But if you take the road to Valderice and then into Erice, the road is easier to drive. Once you get into Erice, follow the signs to the hotel on the narrow streets. The breakfast was adequate, except for the juice (watery) and the coffee (ask for a cappuccino or espresso and you'll be happier). I recommend La Pineta for location, price, peacefulness, and view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Helen & Bill from Sydney NSW, Australia

Most pleasant stay

Posted Mar 8, 2013
Pros: View from room
Cons: Wet doormat outside room
Location: Great view, short walk to centre of town
Staff were very helpful and courteous and the room was comfortable. Convenient location and easy parking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bill from Basking Ridge, NJ

Gecko in the bidet

Posted Nov 9, 2012
Pros: Drinks at the bar.
Cons: Lizard in the bidet and the small shower stall.
Location: Easy to find by the signs and good for walking around town.
The drive up to Erice is breathtaking and more than a little hairy, but the signage for La Pineda is excellent. There were only a few of us in the hotel (or in town for that matter) this week. It was chilly up on the mountain, but our room was very warm (we actually turned off the heat). We had a lovely balcony looking over the valley. The hotel was convenient for walking around town which we did both in the afternoon of our arrival and the following morning -- be aware that in November the castle is only open by appointment (24 hours in advance) on weekdays. The room was clean and bed firm. The bathroom was small; the shower minuscule; and then there was the small matter of the lizard in the bidet! -- I granbed him in a towel and threw him outside. We ate elsewhere in town, but came back for a drink at the hotel bar -- pleasant and well poured. Breakfast the next morning was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

spectacular views

Posted Sep 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
A lovely tranquil setting, perched on the cliffs overlooking the sea.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by jo

Pluses and minuses

Posted Sep 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
There are certainly advantages to staying at this hotel, the location is very convenient, the view is spectacular. The rooms are all self contained chalets. We stayed in September, so the temperature had dropped and our room was damp and a little cold. The bedsheets and pillow cases also felt damp and we could not open our window, so we had no natural light entering and couldn't air out the room. It was staying in a cave. The breakfast, like most hotels in Sicily was poor. I would not rule out staying here again, but it would not be my first choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cyndy

5 lovely nights

Posted Jun 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
I loved La Pineta! The rustic, no-frills cabins with stairs in between may not be for everyone, but it was exactly what I wanted. The grounds and the view were amazing and the staff was very helpful and kind. (Knowing we were getting up early on our last day to go to the airport, they packed us a nice breakfast the night before!) The location of the cabins are a short and beautiful walk to the main part of the town and there is ample room (for Italy) to park a rental car. I highly recommend you stay here if you want a relaxing and authentic visit to Erice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maxine age 61 from Bosotn, MA

Beautiful hotel and great value

Posted May 31, 2012
An amazing view and location, on the side of the incredibly steep mountain on which Erice sits. Free parking. Excellent location! The hotel is a series of lovely small stone buildings, each housing one or two rooms, along the mountain. Everything is gorgeous, including the large terrace. Free wifi. A terrific find.