Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Bargain hotel with million dollar views

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The views, cleanliness, pleasant staff and positioning of the hotel close to the medieval streets of Erice but beautifully quiet from the hordes.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Erice is a gem of a town towering on cliffs overlooking the coast. One can wander the narrow streets and lose oneself in the past
This was an excellent find! Although rooms were smallish, they were adequate and clean. The downstairs lounge & breakfast room is cavernous. Breakfast was very good but the highlight of San Giovanni is the magnificent views down to the coast north of Trapani. Make sure you book a room with this view. The steep, twisting road to the top that the GPS led us along is not for the fainthearted! Once Erice was reached the actual hotel was difficult to find. In a narrow-laned, car-less town the hotel managed to provide parking space outside the door.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Chichester.UK

Great location

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: The views
First appearances can be deceiving. The hotel is comfortable, spacious and the accommodation is good. Make sure you have a room with a view of the sea and landscape as this is spectacular. Good parking and very close to the centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Manuel

close to all must-see sights, central location

Posted Sep 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
Considering it is a 2-star hotel one cannot expct much, however, breakfast is extremely poor. There is no TV in the room. Otherwise, the room is clean, one can enjoy unique views from the balcony, the staff is quite helpful and the location is very central.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Biagio

Posted Apr 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
Beautiful building with wonderful views, peaceful quiet, charming surroudings, good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 10, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Europe

Very Nice Pilgrimage Hotel in Historic Center

Posted Sep 15, 2011 on Hotels.com
We were very happy with this hotel & its staff. It was touch & go when we arrived. There was no parking nearby because the town was overflowing with tourists & pilgrims. It was also a Saturday evening! Finally, the clerk had us park behind other cars by the hotel (blocking them in) & taking our key for any needed emergency. Later we found our car parked in a spot nearby. The breakfast was also more than adequate with lots of fresh 'croissants' as well as bread, jams, cornflakes, etc. An Italian pilgrim group was also staying at the hotel & it was nice sharing tales with them. A quiet group. Erice itself is enchanting & the hotel staff pointed us to a very nice restaurant nearby which we'd also recommend = La Pentolaccia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Beautiful view

Posted Sep 4, 2010
Very nice staff. Room had balcony overlooking Taramina and the sea. Bathroom was very small, even by European standards. 6'2" husband had difficulty fitting into shower as well. Breakfast was ample. We stayed an additional day, as the place was so relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

location and sight

Posted Jul 23, 2010 on Hotels.com
Location: all of Erice
the location is very good that can see all the wonderful sight for the room. clean and comfortable. there is no airconditions - this is the only thing that miss this hotel but the view and the balcony means more to me than the aircondition. the car parking is infront of the hotel and this is very important.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul, MN

most beautiful view

Posted Jun 20, 2010 on Hotels.com
This is a no-frills place to stay, except for its breath-taking views of the Trapani/San Vito di Capo area below. The location is wonderful--Erice is a charming medieval town, with several great restaurants, fantastic pastry/sweet shops, friendly folks, and peaceful surroundings. The hotel is quiet, has a nice breakfast with good coffee, free parking, and shy-but-nice staff. The rooms are spartan, but comfortable and very clean. They reminded me of a college dormitory, but with private bath. If your plan is to be out and about, and just use your room to sleep and clean up, you will be delighted with this very economical and professional place. My only criticism would be that the hallways are a bit noisy, but only if the hotel is crowded. We were there five nights, and the first one was when the town was (unbeknownst to us) host to a slot-car race, and the hotel was full of folks who live for noise. The halls rang with their voices and shuffling about. But then they all cleared off, and the place was absolutely serene. We would stay there again. Bring a good camera to photograph the spectacular view outside your window and the breakfast area. We were there in May and the fog made it colder outside than we expected. Oh--keep in mind that Erice is a tiny town with no place to do/take laundry or internet point. The hotel has free wi-fi, however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Location & View

Posted Oct 16, 2008
I was very pleased with Hotel Giovanni. Spartan but good value and great location for a spectacular town - Erice. No hesitation in recommending it.