Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sukh from London, UK

Great hotel for everyone!

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: The room layout and space, the pool and everything
Location: Located next to the sea/beach, restaurants, ice cream shops and the centre
The hotel is great, literally across the road from an amazing beach and sea. Restaurants and the best ice cream places can be found along the main road where the hotel is located (perfect for those with a sweet tooth like me). Inside the hotel and room is super clean and all the staff are really nice and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable at all times. The view was amazing from the room. The pool is nice and big with enough room to swim. I cannot express in words how much of a great time I had here! I will 100% be back!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by petermc72 from glasgow

utter disgrace

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
We arrived on monday 8th July to an average room which was supposed to be superior. On the 2nd day there was a power failure rendering the hotel without running water, sanitation, lights, air conditioning or electricity at the socket outlets. We were advised this would be restored on various ocassions which proved to be incorrect. The power was off for almost 48hrs with no assistance from hotel staff ie providing candles, bottled water etc. As soon as we found another hotel me, my wife and 2 young children left immediately.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paul

Posted Oct 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
It is in a convenient location about a 10 minute walk from the city center. It is on the waterfront, but about 1 km from the beach. The waterfront is littered with trash and smells badly in some places. The staff is efficient, but not everyone is very helpful. They speak limited English. The lobby is nice, but the hallway where my room was located needed to be refurbished and smelled a bit odd. The room was plain, but clean and a nice size by the standards of many European hotels. I did not try the restaurant. It is an adequate hotel, but is nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephanie from New York

Very nice

Posted Jul 27, 2012
Cons: Pool towels cost 5 euro each to rent :( we air dried!
Location: Close to the beach, but not actually on a beach that you can go to. You need to walk a few minutes to get there.
We just stayed in the Mahara while visiting family in Mazara and it was very nice. Clean room, free wi-fi, large shower, nice pool and a pleasant staff. It's definitely not a four star, but I read reviews before staying there so that's what I excepted, but it was still a great place for the price and I would stay again!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from boston

Not impressed

Posted Sep 11, 2011
Not really a four star hotel but do not know if there are four star hotels in this city. Breakfast was mediocre at best
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2010 on Hotels.com
It is clean and does the job. But, there is nothing special about this place. It is not inspiring. It is a type of place a package tour would choose to use. It was a bit too expensive for what it is.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from suburbs of NYC

If you have to go to this town........

Posted Mar 10, 2010
....this was a decent place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Very good hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2009
Good hotel, excellent swimming pool, good location. Over priced drinks, restaurant, wine list. Friendly staff. Good free underground car park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Leighton buzzard

overnight stay

Posted Mar 23, 2009 on Hotels.com
very comfortable stay, quiet location on the promenade. OK for a couple of nights but would'nt have wanted to stay in the area for longer. Excellent restaurant just next door to hotel, very good value and lovely fish and pizza.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Toronto

No hesitation to recommend highly and to return

Posted Oct 8, 2008
Mahara was outstanding value. The staff were especially helpful with restaurant recommenations etc. Nice to cach some English language news on BBCWorld. Room was perfec.