Ratings based on 722 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Quiet and Comfortable

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Easy parking. Great breakfast. Comfortable pillow top beds.
Cons: The pool was a bit chilly and the pool area chairs are not accommodating to larger individuals.
Location: Nice downtown. Plenty of restaurants, shopping and beach parks.
We stayed for two nights as a "little getaway." The staff was wonderful and accommodating to my request of my room to be located near the pool and breakfast area, due to my difficulty to walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Jonathan P., Hotel Management
Good afternoon! Thank you for your little getaway to Traverse City. I hope you had a good time around the area - glad we helped you have a good time in the room you requested. Have a nice rest of your day! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Had a great time. Looking forward to go back. Great view, location is good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Jonathan P., Hotel Management
Good afternoon! Thank you for your stay and your kind review. Happy you enjoyed the view and location. We're looking forward to your return! :) Have a great day! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Great place to stay! Definitely will stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Jonathan P., Hotel Management
Good day! Thank you for your stay and your kind comment. We'll be here for your return stay! :) Take care! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids, MI

Great room and friendly staff, spotty wifi

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Big room, very friendly staff, downtown shuttle, great local coffee
Cons: Wifi
We came up to TC in the off season for a mini-honeymoon and the hotel was perfect. The room was big, the staff was friendly, there was free breakfast, endless free coffee during the day, fresh baked cookies, and a free shuttle to downtown TC. The only issue was that the wifi is a little spotty, but it did not really interview with anything we wanted to do and my husband was still able to download the new Community episodes from yahoo :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Good afternoon! Thank you for your mini-honeymoon in Traverse City and our hotel. Congratulations on your marriage. I'm really happy we helped you have a great start to your marriage with our big rooms, friendly staff, free breakfast, endless coffee, and more! I'm sorry the WiFi was spotty, but I'm happy your husband was able to download "Community" episodes still. Have a nice day and come enjoy for your anniversaries! For the love of hospitality, Jonathan P. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kimberly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paulafrom Cheboygan

Great place to stay

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great hotel, beautiful room and the jacuzzi was wonderful. We only stayed one night but would definately stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Good evening! Thank you for your stay, Paula. I'm glad you thought the room was beautiful and you had a great time with the Jacuzzi. Thank you and have a wonderful day! Best, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Excellent Place to Stay!

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
This was our third year staying at the Cherry Tree Inn and we love it! It is a beautiful hotel, super clean, and has an awesome staff! We could not be more pleased with this hotel and we will be back next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Good evening! Thank you for your return stay. I'm glad you enjoyed it once again. We'll be happy to have you back next year. Thank you and have a wonderful winter! Best, Jonathan P. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by soheefrom okemos

Nice Hotel~

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
indoor swimming pool is smaller than I expected. Sauna machine was out of order SO I couldn't use and it was disappointing. Except that it was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Good evening! Thank you for your stay your review. I'm sorry that you didn't care for the size of our pool and for the sauna not working properly. We have a part on order for it. It's working, but the read-out for the temperature is not showing correctly. Thank you again. Have a nice February! Best, Jonathan P. General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisafrom Grand Rapids, MI

Okay

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
We have spent a winter weekend in Traverse City for many years now. We typically stay at the same hotel and decided to try something different this time even though the price was a bit higher. Initially we were impressed, the size of the room is great, the lobby area is very nice and welcoming. However, noticed several things over our two night stay that would have been easy to take care of. There was a bench directly out of the elevator on our floor that had the same broken potato chips around it from the time we checked in Friday to the time we left Sunday. The pool was never busy which was great, but we always had to ask for towels and the staff acted like it was a hassle to get us towels. Meanwhile, the dirty towel bin was overflowing, the trash in the exercise room was overflowing, breakfast was decent, but again so much trash that we couldn't even throw our trash out. There is a window overlooking the pool area from the exercise and game rooms and both sills were covered with dead bugs. Maybe we've been watching too much Hotel Impossible, but all these are easy things to take care of and would present a much nicer atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2015 by Jonathan, Hotel Management
Good evening! I'm very sorry for the delay in my response regarding your stay in January. I'm very sorry for the poor experience you had, too. I did address all of these items shortly after your review. None of these are common with our property. Thank you for bringing them to my attention and I'm sorry I wasn't more on top of it with my team to avoid letting you have a poor experience. Please do try us again. Thank you and have a great day! Best, Jonathan P. General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels.com