Ratings based on 653 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milwaukee

nice place

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: very clean nice accomodations
Cons: replace front desk staff or provide training on how to print a receipt, change a room or resolve any issue
Location: on the shore is beautiful. rooms on the highway side of the hotel are not desireable but u can't hear the noise with balcony door closed.
location is a little away from town center but ok. room was very nice clean and comfortable. breakfast was better than most. hotel desk staff were either unable or unwilling to help with q's or solve problems. (jim and door county guy.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2014 by Jonathan P, Hotel Management
Good day! Thank you for your stay and I'm glad you enjoyed your room and our cleanliness. I'm glad you liked our breakfast, too! I'm very sorry that Jim and Chaz didn't provide you with better answers for your questions or issues. This is certainly not common for those two, but I will make sure that they see your comments and that we work harder to make every guest feel happy with our level of service. Thank you again and have a great day! Best, Jonathan P. General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not good value for us, but depends on your needs

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The view and size of suite.
Cons: Breakfast was terrible - small overcrowded room, queues, inadequate choice and quality. Air-conditioning did not cool the bedroom.
We struggled to find a suitable base for our three nights in Traverse City in August and selected Cherry Tree Inn because the suite offered a view of the Bay and seemed large enough for three people. It would have been better to find a hotel within walking distance of town as we did not utilise the small beach or swimming pool so these were no compensation for the inadequate breakfast and air-conditioning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2014 by Jonathan P, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and your time in reviewing our hotel. I'm sorry that you couldn't find a hotel that was walking distance to the downtown area. While our location can be very convenient to get around all the great activities in our fantastic region, we certainly understand if it doesn't work for a guest looking to be only in the downtown area. I hope you had a safe trip home and that you can come visit Traverse City in perhaps a location that would work and make your stay better in the future. We're certainly always willing to help you if you can't find one within walking distance. Have a wonderful day! Best, Jonathan P. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on beach and close to downtown

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Wanted a larger room for four people and this hotel fit our needs. Room was a little dark even with all lights on but breakfast nicer than usual "breakfast included" type hotels. Staff very helpful with area info. Pools in and out very nice. Quiet sunroom off lobby to do work, read..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great family hotel with a few quirks

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our second time here. The hotel is nice and the rooms are big. The beach area is great, pools too. Location is perfect. I will stay again. The do have a couple of issues that they need to work out - check in availability and luggage carts. Both times we have stayed our rooms were not ready at the 3:00 check in time with the excuse being it is busy in the summer. We have watched numerous others sitting frustrated in the lobby while waiting for a room. We got pushed ahead of some people this time because my wife said it happened to us last time. Had she not said that who knows how long it would have taken. I'm sure if I decided to check out after 11:00 they would not consider that OK and I don't consider it OK for them to make people wait for a room that should be ready. They also have very few carts so if you have a decent amount of luggage you have to stand at the front door and follow people to the car to get one. Otherwise it's multiple trips up a single elevator that takes forever to get during check in/check out time. These are things that are easily fixed. If it happens on our third time it will be the last for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from INDPLS,IN

Nice Hotel, Staff was Excellent Will come back

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: THE VIEW
Location: THERE ARE EATING PLACES ,SHOPS,ALL IN WALKING
BOOKED ONE NIGHT THEN ADD THE NEXT NIGHT BUT THEY ASK FOR THE SAME RATE BUT WHEN I LOOKED AT OUR ACCOUNT THEY CHARGE US FIFTY MORE DOLLERS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by julescan from Chicago

Get alot of extras!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Our room was much larger the we expected. The rate was very reasonable and we had extra room.
Location: Tons of things to do in this area. Staff will be very helpful to find thing your family would enjoy.
We had a wonderful stay at the Cherry Tree Inn. They went a above and beyond our expectations. The had coffee available all the time in the lobby. They had fresh cucumber water for there guest. The front desk had great maps and suggestions for the area. Love that this hotel had all natural products and was very GREEN. Breakfast was wonderful every morning was full of great items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MI

Free shuttle and great breakfast

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Clean. Free shuttle. Nice breakfast.
Location: Not walking distance to downtown, but a few restaurants near by.
My wife and I along with another couple stayed here for a wine weekend in Traverse City. The hotel is nice and clean. The water view rooms have a great view of the bay. We were very satisfied with the free continental breakfast and it was very well stocked and good. We utilized the free shuttle service to take us to and pick us up from dinner very night, which was a huge bonus for us (again, we were on a wine weekend).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com