Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Pleasure

Posted Jun 22, 2015
This resort offered everything for a quiet retreat, you did not have to leave resort great golf spa restaurants and casino bars and yes,, shopping!! I say go, and bunk in for a weekend, you won't be sorry!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent visit to Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. We appreciate your review and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are happy to learn that our on-site amenities added to you enjoyment of your stay and that you were also able to visit our nearby sister property, Turtle Creek Casino. We hope to have the opportunity to have you stay with us again. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Great hotel

Posted May 24, 2015
Great experience! Clean and nice location close to the Bay. Convenient parking!!!!!! Will visit again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Hello Jess, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent stay at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We enjoyed having you. We love our location so close to East Bay! It was pretty cold still when you were here but it is warming up every day. I hope that you can fit in a swim when you visit us again. Thank you again for your feedback as well as for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, quiet

Posted May 24, 2015
The room was clean but not very updated and very simple. The hotel is not located very close to downtown Traverse City. There is an a lot to do other than golf nearby. Staff was very friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2015 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Hello Katie, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent stay at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. I’m so happy to hear that you found our staff to be very friendly and helpful! We are very pleased to have you stay with us and we always try to convey this during our guest interactions. It is also great to know that you found your room to be both clean and quiet. We have been working on renovations of our Tower rooms and we strive to keep the noise levels to a minimum to avoid disturbing our guests. We are located about 15 minutes from downtown Traverse City and it can be a blessing and a curse. It affords us the space to offer, 3 golf courses, an onsite Spa, Beach Club, multiple onsite restaurants as well as our Gallery of Shops but our guests that are without cars sometimes need to take our shuttle to Turtle Creek Casino, the airport or other destinations. Thank you again for your feedback as well as for choosing to stay with us. We hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, spa and health club amenities.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Family friendly. Great hotel, spa and health club amenities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your December stay at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Resort amenities like the Health Club and Spa Grand Traverse added to your enjoyment of your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you and your family again soon. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sarah from Gaylord, MI

Nice resort, good value for a quick stay

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
My 5 yo daughter and I stayed at this resort for just one night when we were in town for a play. Our stay was very pleasant. Check in was reasonably quick, but I was disappointed that we didn't receive any info about the resort amenities. There was also no resort map or info in the room, so I had to call to ask for pool hours and directions to the pool. The room was quiet with absolutely no noise from neighboring rooms or the hallway which was awesome. We had an oblique view of the bay and the beds were very comfortable. The phones are cordless, but there must have been a problem with the charger on ours because the battery was dead and the only way to make a call was to use speakerphone, which was a little annoying. Our breakfast from room service arrived super fast and was very good. The pool was great with a small splash pad and a good sized slide. Overall, I thought it was a good value for a quick trip and we will probably stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Hello Sarah, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent stay at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. I’m happy to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and that the room was both quiet and comfortable. I'm pleased that you were able to take advantage of our Resort amenities like the pool and room service. I hope that you were able to try the water slide too. It is a lot of fun! I do apologize that we do not currently have in room compendiums containing our pool hours and other information. Although we include Resort maps in every key packet, I know how helpful if can be to have an in-room resource and we are working hard to finalize a new version of the compendium and get in rooms for our guests. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We are so pleased to know that you would stay with us again and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you both again. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robert from Robert Wolschon

Grand Traverse Resort Stay

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was extremely crowed and the hotel resturants seem overwhelmed and under staffed. Food was slow, cold and much lower quality than I would have expected for a resort like that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Kelly, Hotel Management
Hello Robert, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent stay at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. I’m sorry to hear that your dining experience did not meet our standards. It is always our goal to exceed your expectations and in your case it appears that we missed the mark. I hope that we were able to address and ameliorate the issue for you at the time of service. Please know that your thoughts will be shared with our staff and management team. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton MI

Great facility

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Aerie's and Sweetwater offered excellent food! The spa was great. The entertainment in the lobby at night was also fun and really good.
Cons: Beds and pillows are HORRIBLE! We awoke each day more tired than when we went to sleep. Tossed and turned all night!
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. The spa, pool and amenities were very nice. Staff was not very educated on the facility. The front desk did not know why nor did they offer any help when our movie wouldn't load. The bellhop did not know when the restaurant in the Tower opened etc. Our phone did not work properly; the maintenance man told us to just use the speaker phone. We had to ask him to replace it or we would have been stuck with a phone that was not functional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Management at GT Resort, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent stay at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is great to hear that our onsite amenities like the pools at our Health Club and Spa Grand Traverse added to your enjoyment of your stay. Please accept my apologies that your interactions with our staff did not exceed your expectations. Please know that your feedback will be shared with our staff and management team. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rosebush, MI

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Relaxing. Everything you need is right there, no need to go anywhere else!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management, Hotel Management
Hello Tammy, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent stay at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very proud of our onsite amenities and it is great to know that you felt like you had everything you needed for an enjoyable weekend right here at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manton

3.8

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pillows are too hard and the heat is way to loud and in the cold weather ran way to much, our food at sweetwater was cold and took an hour to get was very good would have been better hot, staff was great and very friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management, Hotel Management
Hello Dan, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your recent stay at Grand Traverse Resort and Spa. I’m so happy to hear that your staff experiences exceeded your expectations. We were so happy to have you with us and I hope that the quality of your staff interactions reflected that. Please accept our apologies on the timeliness of service that you experienced in Sweetwater and know that your feedback about this issue as well as the room for improvement in your hotel room will be shared with our staff and management team. Thank you again for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon. Thank you, Grand Traverse Resort and Spa Management