Ratings based on 520 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Traverse City

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2015
My stay was a two day mini vacation to have quiet and solitude. I read books, snacked, relaxed in a very clean room. The staff was very friendly and I thoroughly enjoyed my quiet stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Howell

Close to town

Posted Mar 3, 2015
For $50 a night you can't really complain. It has been updated so it looks decent on the outside. Beds are not the most comfortable, you get what you pay for. Rooms were clean. The check in person isn't the most friendliest or talkative. Cab ride to town is short and inexpensive. Overall it works if you need a place to stay in Traverse City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The people were pleasant from the time we got there until the day we left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Holland, MI

Close to downtown

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: Rooms were very clean
Cons: Front desk staff could be friendly. They are the first person a guest speaks to.
We traveled to Traverse City for their comedy winter fest. After traveling over 5 hours in a blizzard (white out conditions) because I was told the day before the room could not be canceled. Now to told we could not check in until 3 o'clock or until the maids had cleaned all rooms. We arrived at 2:25. This was not what we wanted to hear after the drive there, just wanted to get of the car and rest our eyes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom up

Quiet comfort

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Shower and scent bed
Location: Close to medical center restaurants and beaches
A great stay for e price. Our room was updated with new paint and a new tiled shower. The towels were thicker and more luxurious The room had a refrigerator but it wasn't loud and didn't keep us up. Quiet night. Good stay for the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cheap and clean

Posted Feb 7, 2015
What else would you want in a hotel... cheep clean and close to down town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Just used the hotel for a place to stay for the night but it was nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom d

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The hotel was clean and neat! The staff was good too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, MI

Christmas mini get away

Posted Dec 27, 2014
Pros: I loved everything, especially the pillows and the heart shaped jetted tub
Cons: NOTHING!!!!! it is perfect
Location: You are just a few minutes from all downtown attractions, the airport and night clubs!
From booking to check out it was a perfect experience! The staff treated me as if I was at a 5 star hotel and the hotel room was perfect! I was able to sit back & relax in a heart shape jetted tub after a crazy afternoon & evening in Traverse City. The pillows were amazing especially and perfect and the staff even gave me a late check out to allow me to enjoy just a little more:)! This will be my hotel of choice every time I come to Traverse & this will be where I recommend my friends and family to stay as well as employees. Howard Johnson is a true slice of heaven in the beautiful town of Traverse City, a must stay for anyone!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels.com