Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for vacation in Traverse City.

Posted Jul 30, 2015
This was my third time staying in this beautiful boutique hotel and I really do love it there, I do, for the absolute ease of getting around town as everything you would want is within walking distance from the hotel. I will mention that the walls are sort of thin or perhaps it was just that I had a particularly rowdy neighbor next door. Also, the front desk manager Diana was so kind and sweet and attentive. She was quick to resolve an issue I had with the evening front desk staff from the night before. Will come stay here again for sure!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Great location; overpriced

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: Way too much money for the value.
Location: Very near downtown and old town Traverse City; walking distance to the water.
First, our stay at the Park Place Hotel was just fine. It is conveniently located to downtown Traverse City and a few blocks from the water. It was clean, comfortable, and the staff was courteous. However, I booked the hotel sight unseen on Expedia. There weren't a lot of options in the downtown location, so I picked one that was available, assuming that Expedia would offer a good deal. For the price -- more than $375 dollars per night for a two-queen standard room -- I expected real luxury. Instead we got a good-enough room in a hotel that's looking a little shabby, and no extras -- like breakfast -- are provided. It was by far the most expensive hotel on our five-day driving tour of Michigan, but nowhere near worth that price. Again, no complaints about the hotel itself. But I if I went again I would explore other options where I might get more for my dollar than at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Haven MI

Downtown

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Bar hotel staff was rude. Desk staff were awesome. Room could have used some updates but what was there was clean. TV was broken but staff was in the room within 10 minutes of calling to fix it. Excellent stay if you want to be downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Great location, run down room facilities.

Posted Jul 10, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: updates to the rooms, specifically the bathroom
The location was excellent, very close to downtown and the bay. However, the room itself left something to be desired. First of all, I had to run the shower for 10 minutes just to get the temperature down from scalding to tolerable. Secondly, when it came time to give my 2 toddlers a bath, I found that I couldn't turn the shower off and just use the faucet to fill the tub. As a result, I slowly filled the tub, using the shower head. It took about 10 minutes to get 2 inches of water in the tub. The kids were then completely miserable given the amount of water and cool temperature of it. I did report this to the front desk, but nothing was addressed or communicated as a follow up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
The hotel wasn't extremely bad, however for the price it should have been a lot better experience. Room was dingy, front desk staff was so-so. However, the resturant, Minerva's was phenomenal!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Old, smelly, dirty hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Great location....and that's all this hotel has going for it. It appears to be very pretty from the outside, however our room was extremely out of date, small, dirty and uncomfortable. There was trash under our bed and marks all over the walls. The decor was brass and had dust and grim build up. Room service came knocking at 9:00!! I was ready to get out of the horrible room but 9:00am was a little rude. This hotel honestly reminded me of the Tower of terror ride at Disney World!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Blanc

Nice location in downtown Traverse City

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: We walked to microbrews and dinner.
Cons: Rooms need remodeling.
Location: the Traverse City area is beautiful, spent a day touring the Leelanau Peninsula, love sleeping bear dunes....
I booked this hotel for the location in downtown Traverse City. I had a room in the west wing which reminded me of an old Holiday Inn room of the 70's. Bathroom small with no fan, windows had condensation in them. Staff was pleasant and the bar on the 10th floor was great for watching the sunset.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Craig from Tampa

Very Dated

Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for pleasure. The hotel is old, the first night we stayed in a handicap accessible room, that was all that was available. It was very, very dated, sort of depressing. We had stayed at Shanty Creek the previous four days in Bellaire, the rooms were the same price, there was no comparison in the quality of the room or facility. Shanty Creek was much, much nicer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great location for walking to breweries!

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: location and huge rooms
Cons: the lobby is dated.
Location: 1 block from the main street with shopping, dining and breweries
great location for walking everywhere. huge clean rooms. great price.