Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The cont breakfast was ok and the price was ok .
Cons: I would say for the sake of answering this question a total redue other then the lobby and breakfast room they were good !!
Location: Was fine !!
The door to our room looked like it was kicked in at one time and not replaced the deadbolt was not there was just a black plastic plug in the hold when the handle for it should have been and the door didn't shut tight at all !! The bathroom was very small and when u went to the bathroom to close the door u had to slide in behind the toilet reach over and shut the door the slide back in front of the toilet to use it !! There was no setting for heat you had to just keep turning the knob until u could find a spot where it was ok ( took about 30 mins to do ) so that wasted some of our shopping time !!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MI

Could use update

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, friendly staff
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Downtown Traverse City has lots of shops and restaurants. Wineries are nearby. Area is very scenic.
Very thin walls. Guests upstairs arrived at 2pm and we could hear every footstep and dropped items which went on for most of the rest of the night. Tiny bathroom and beds were small (doubles not queens) and uncomfortable. The breakfast was good and staff was friendly but the whole place could use a cleaning and update of the rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We strive to provide clean and comfortable accommodations for all our guests and I am sorry that you did not experience this during your stay. I am pleased to know that you experienced our friendly staff. They will appreciate the positive feedback. 2/3rds of the hotel rooms have new beds, but unfortunately, your room was not one of those. In addition to these new beds this year we also upgraded all of our rooms with 32” flat screen TV’s and our ground floor rooms received new carpeting, vanities & sinks. Over the next year the remaining rooms will be getting new beds, vanities & sinks and other upgrades are being planned. Thank you again for feedback and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Kind Regards, Pam W GSM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

Review of Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The breakfast and friendly staff.
Cons: Cleanliness and nicer more modern room decor.
Location: Perfect spot for convenience, but very noisy with the traffic and semi-truck parked outside our room.
The staff were very friendly. The front office, cafe area and pool area was very nice. The rooms could be updated to give a more comfortable and modern feel. The room was not very clean-hair found in bathroom, and questionable cleanliness of the sheets and bedspread.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bay City MI

Good overall for the price

Posted Oct 18, 2014
were a little disapointed the room didn't have a mini fridge or microwave. Also the towels were a bit worn but overall everything was fine. Room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the pool and whirlpool. Excellent breakfast in the morning too.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Old and High Priced

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Cons: Disappointed. It's old and tired. Definitely in need of some good updates. Room decor is old and tired Move smoking area away from entry way.
Location: Traverse City MI, arrived late, left early
Playing cards in the breakfast room with permission from the staff, other table of ladies in there also. When they left they were instructed to turn off the TV and return remote to front desk, we had to request remote if we wanted to finish watching the football game! Really!! I understand returning the remote but turn the tv off while others are watching . . . .who does that?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Neat and clean

Posted Oct 14, 2014
We were very pleased with the hotel staff. The room was clean and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wyoming, MI

Up North trip !

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: It was clean, everyone was helpful and it was close to everything!
Cons: The Computer, should be able to keep in touch!
Location: The water sites, went to old Mission lighthouse, went shopping for gifts for Grandkids and us, and saw the sites!
Was happy with the staff, especially Cindy, very nice and helpful, but was upset that the 1 and only computer I could not use! I have never been to a Motel or Hotel that did not allow their guests to see there E-mail, Facebook, or even get on ESPN to check on scores, Cindy did try but said the Mgr. Jon set this Com up this way! Everyone uses Facebook now days I don't understand!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Denise, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for your compliment on our staff and most notably, Cindy. She is a key member of our guest service team and I have passed your comments on to her. All of our staff members continually strive to provide exceptional guest service with clean & comfortable accommodations and it’s nice to receive positive feedback. Our business center computer is in a public area and email accounts are accessible; however, due to issues we have had with guests viewing inappropriate material on the social media sites, we have had to block those. We thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Pam W. GSM
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Sonoma, California

Very Bad Quality!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: The staff are hard working and pleasant.
Cons: Put some money into updating the decor!
Location: Traverse city is a beautiful area. We ate in some excellent restaurants.The hiking was easy, the climate in Sept cool, the forests and lakes stunning.
We booked this hotel based upon the good reviews. I can't imagine why there are good reviews. The owners decided years ago to stop making any improvements or updates to the rooms. The wallpaper was old and depressing along with the decor. The lighting fixtures had rust in places. My husband called the free breakfast a science experiment. He took a bite of a patty at breakfast and had no idea what he was eating. However the bed was comfortable, the night clerk was nice, and the cleaning staff were professional and hard working. It is a shame the owners lack of upkeep leave their workers with such a depressing place to maintain. I personally will never go to a Quality Inn again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We value your feedback and appreciate knowing if we did not meet or exceed your expectations in any way. Thank you for your kind words about our pleasant and hardworking staff. Each member of my staff is dedicated to ensuring that our guest’s experience is more than just a pleasant stay and it’s nice to receive positive feedback. I will share this with them. I am sorry to hear that our breakfast and your room did not meet your expectations. We offer a variety of breakfast items, including but not limited to: make-your-own waffles, yogurt, and muffins, which are all purchased from a Choice Hotel approved vender, G.F.S. I’m happy to announce that between December & June of this year renovations on our breakfast room were completed, and the ground floor rooms received new carpet, vanities, & sinks. New carpet was installed in the ground floor hall, all rooms received 32” LED or LCD TVs, and 80% of the rooms received new beds. Over the next year, the other 20% of rooms will receive new beds, the second & third floor rooms will have new vanities & sinks installed, and other room upgrades are also being planned. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Pamela W GSM
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Expensive Basic Hotel Across BusyStreet From Beach

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly and it was close to downtown; we still had to drive to get to downtown but it was not bad.
Cons: The hotel could improve on cleanliness and place refrigerators and microwaves in each room. The rooms need to be updated also. The furniture was old.
Location: The hotel is close to downtown but still far enough where you may want to drive instead of walk. Hated that the beach was across busy street.
For the amount requested per night we expected at least a clean room with fridge/microwave. We received a somewhat clean room, no fridge/microwave; dirty chair and carpeting. We had to have a fridge so we asked for one to be brought to our room and of course, they upped our room charges. However, the staff brought it immediately to our room, which we appreciated not having to wait. The hotel is located across a busy street from the beach; then you must walk a long way to get to the public beach in order to swim. In order for the television to work, we had to use a switch on the wall, then use the remote control to operate the TV. We were not given any instructions to do this, we just tried to turn on a light in the room and the TV came on! If you want a basic room to just use to sleep, this place is fine but overpriced due to peak season in August. But if you want any kind of niceties, you will want to stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback with us. We apologize the room you stayed in did not come standard with a mcrowave and fridge. We hope to one day have the oportunity to be able to put microwaves and fridges in all the rooms. We do have one room type that does come standard with a microwave and fridge. This is our Two Room Suite with a King Bed. Please let us know next time if this would meet your needs. We are situated across from the water, but as you stated beach access is a block away. Unfortunately we don't recommend for people to cross the busy street without using the walking bridge for two reasons: 1. SAFETY 2. Beached directly across form our hotel is private property. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Ray M. AGM
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Good beds and shower but over priced!!

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Good location with friendly and helpful staff. Room smelled upon entry with room and facilities outdated though bed comfortable and shower good. Expected more for the price that was paid for the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2014 by Ray, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our on-line survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel and for your kind words about our friendly & helpful staff. It’s nice to receive positive feedback. We also appreciate knowing if we did not met or exceed your expectations in any way. I am sorry you experienced a smell in the room and hope you had the opportunity to contact my staff about the issue. We started upgrades this year with all rooms receiving 32” LED or LCD TV’s, the ground floor rooms received new carpet, vanities & faucets, majority of the rooms have new beds, and we added a new 30 seat breakfast area. More upgrades & renovations are being planned for the next 10 months. I hope we will see you again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Pam Weisler GSM