Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A place to cool your heels.!!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
This is a really cool place to stay and spend a couple of days out here. Though a little low lit and confusing if you have to drive around in the resort, but will be worth the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MIchigan

Nice Room

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nice rooms
The rooms are nice. We stayed with children so the two room suite was great. We visited in the summer and there wasn't much going on at this hotel after the sun went down. There are activities at the Summit hotel and it is a short ride over there. When traveling with the kids, we like to save money by stocking the fridge and pantry with food and beverages. This resort is far from any grocery stores. By the time we realized this, it too late to turn around. As long as you know this on the front end, it shouldn't be a problem as you can plan accordingly. It was a nice place and we will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from allen park, mi

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: location, services at the facility itself.
Cons: issue with hard water causing rust. update pool tubs with signs to operate jets and could use new coat of paint. better signs at dark.
Location: only about an hour from traverse city, and Petoskey, but great finds were little shops in Alden and Bellaire and trails in the area.
This resort is nestled in the tranquil woods not far from traverse city, Petoskey and the quaint towns of Alden and Bellaire. I am not a golfer but understand has several golf courses. The resort is creating activites and outings for families, such a bonfires, smores, fireworks, etc. Both the restaurants I ate at the Lakeview and the Cedar River Bistro were excellent for staff and food. My room was spacious and could walk out to the pool area. I was disappointed that my fireplace was not working, and that the water for my jet tub was coming out with iron/rust in it, did not make it appealing to use.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ellen from Brighton, Mi

nice suite

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We were up for a family gathering, and we needed a place to stay. It was a bit pricey, but it was a very nice hotel: two separate rooms, two large televisions, comfortable couch and chair, balcony, bathroom with shower stall and whirlpool tub. Follow the signs to Cedar Village. The GPS led us astray. It is in the middle of nowhere 3 miles down Troon road. A nice feature is that they provide a shuttle to their other amenities and downtown Bellaire. If I'm feeling rich, I'll come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice condo

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: Cell service. We had NONE.
Location: Bellaire is a cute little town. GO to Shorts. The brew is good!
Nice condo. Great views.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ashlee from Grand rapids

Last minute hotel, but amazing time

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Found our room on a whim after not finding anything in traverse city where we wanted to stay. Room was amazing. Couldn't have asked for a better engagement celebration for my new fiancée and I!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from CANADA

VERY NICE BUT

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: The room
Cons: Think resort and build from there
Location: The location was off the beaten track, bring your GPS, this part of Mihigan in October is magnificient and will well cover up any deficiecies.
Although my overll rating of this hotel is a four, I do believe that they have missed out on some very crucial ammendities. With the exception of the check-in person, the visibility of staff is virtually non-existent. The rooms are nice, as expected. The lobby is completely baron. Check-in has been moved to the lower level so leave your luggage in your vehicle. although finding it was relatively simple it gave the impression of cheapness in what we concidered to be a resort type atmosphere, as a resort the only thing you actually experienced was a nice room. We came in October and the fireplace was not functioning, we changed rooms 3 times before the room and its view met our expectations, if you wanted to use the indoor pool, they would shuttle you to there nearby Summit Resort. The bar was closed at 9:00 p.m. there was no complimentary breakfast , continental or not . The interior finish looked unfinished , particle wood and tin, if you can catch a value deal on this hotel...good...but if you are looking for resort type accomadations there are many to choose from in the area. The owners of this establishment have done a fine job of removing hospitality out of the hospitality business
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angela

Our stay at Shanty Creek Resort-Cedar VIllage

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Over all it was a pleasant stay. The room was clean and nice. They grounds were well kept. The strange thing was not seeing anyone...staff was almost non-existent. I know they existed as housekeeping cleaned our room while we were away. It sure is a nice place to golf. However, we aren't golfers. Seems that if you're not a golfer then a nicer time to go would be in winter. There's skiing, tubing, snow-snowmobiling....I would go back with the whole family then. The city of Bellaire is sweet. Downtown is only a few miles from the resort. They have clean beaches, clean lakes to swim in. The downtown area is small. Just enough for a few days trip. The Lunch Box restaurant had amazing breakfast. Shorts Brewery/restaurant is always busy..live bands on weekends. The Bellaire Bar was more our style..a whole in the wall with friendly staff, simple food, cheap drinks. Some good shopping there too. Found unique items in each store. We chose the resort because it was a good price for the season. We wanted to stay in Traverse City but with the Cherry Festival starting the same weekend, the prices for even Super 8 was outrageous. It was a 45 min drive from our resort to the city but it was worth the savings. Plus, we got to see some stuff along the way we wouldn't have and you can't put a price on quiet tranquility and a beautiful nights sky.