Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2014
5 out of 5
by Veronica from Chicago

Beautiful but too hard to find

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: Great views from the resturant bar.
Cons: Location was isolated from everything.
Location: Isolated and hard to find
The hotel itself was great. Our room was modern and the bed were extremely comfortable. The lobby bar and resturant overlooked a beautiful lake. Views were breath taking. Finding the Lakeview Hotel part of the Schuss Village resort was rediculous. Shanty Creek Resort is extremely large and hard to navigate. The website did not make mention to where exactly our hotel was located on this large resort. We drove around for about 15 minutes looking for some signs of life and finally gave up and called the front desk of the hotel. Once we were given directions it was smooth sailing. The hotel was beautiful but too out of the way for my taste.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad

Posted May 29, 2013
This room was in the Schuss Village which was basically closed and mostly deserted-- no employees there. Very over priced for the condition- the whole build is run down, curtains hanging off the bars, carpeting very worn and with wrinkles; old bathroom tub and fixtures. Lighting bad -Not even close to what you would expect @ $185+ per nite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Sasha from Midland, MI

Right at bottom of Slopes, but so uncomfortable

Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
I like staying here because it is obviously convenient, being right at the bottom of Schuss Mountain, and it has that old, alpine feel. The room was very clean, and also very small which did not really matter to us though. The beds are so uncomfortable and really worn. All of our backs hurt the next morning and none of us slept well because you can feel the springs of the mattress. The pool opened late and closed early, which was very inconvenient and useless to us since it opened and closed the same time as the lifts for the mountain. We spent our whole day snowboarding and it would have been nice to come back to the room and hang out in the pool and jacuzzi for awhile. You would think they would have later hours for that reason. There was only one front desk attendant working (who was very friendly and polite!), but when we went to check out we had to stand around waiting for about 10-15 minutes because she was nowhere to be found. The service in the restaurant there is always bad. I've been there several times and have never had good service. They are extremely slow everytime we eat there, even when it is not busy. The food is pretty good though...everything from the pizza to the gyro to the desserts. I will return, simply because of the convenience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ski Lover

Ski Weekend Getaway

Posted Jan 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room had an odd smell like old cleaners. The room appeared to be pretty clean otherwise. The wall paper is so old it has probably soaked up smells from over the years. Carpet seemed newer and clean so not the culprit of the smell. Fortunately we spent most of the time skiing and that was great for all levels. Workers are pleasant and helpful. Bring snacks as the store marks up their prices on pop, chips, etc. because they know they got you. .The restaurant breakfast buffet and ordering a lunch off their menu was quite acceptable. Do not eat on the cafeteria side. It is all mass cooked and kept under heat lamps all day. Tasted horrible. Room had a fridge and microwave so plan ahead for snacking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary Jo from Grosse Pointe, MI, USA

Great Get-a-way!

Posted Oct 8, 2012
This is a very charming get-a-way, with wonderful views of Northern Michigan at it's best. The accommodations are comfortable, if not super new, and the food is very good. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would definately stay here again, for a romantic weekend, or a family stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simone from MI

Great hotel for everyone

Posted Aug 26, 2012
Had a balcony overlooking the bay and it was gorgeous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views

Posted Aug 16, 2012
Pros: the staff was very friendly
Cons: The mattresses were too soft and we woke up with back aches
Location: beautiful location that overlooks the water
Overall good experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our balcony had a broken screen door and there was a huge cobweb out our balcony. The mattresses were too soft but the room was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jen from Bloomfield, NJ

Nice Place for Families

Posted Aug 13, 2012
Pros: The staff was friendly and replied quickly to a few small requests.
Cons: I would like better signage or a few maps around the property because I had a hard time finding my way around.
Location: Overall, I found this to be a very nice hotel and a beautiful place to bring my kids and relax.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and had a sliding glass door with a patio. The view was really beautiful. It is a little tricky driving in and out of the development -- more signs would be helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Keith

great hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Schuss Village is a run down place. Lucky we were transfered to the Summit Village (otherwise known as lakeview) Everything at the Summit was fantasic except the shower head. Great outdoor pool with a spectacular view.