Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Needs a refresh

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Beautiful location. Great view from the dining room.
Cons: Food was only OK. We drove to a nearby town and had breakfast that was amazing at one third the cost.
This hotel is showing its age. I suppose you wouldn't notice this so much if you were here with a bunch on bros to just play golf, drink, and smoke cigars. I expected much more from a hotel at this price point.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Nice and quiet

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: No big crowds this time of the year (summer).
Cons: More consistent housekeeping. Scrambled eggs on buffet were one giant block of egg product from which you carved off a slab.
Location: Couple of nice casual dining places in Bellaire. Also, Mr. K's pizza in Mancelona seems like a hole-in-the-wall, but had really good pizza.
Friendly folks when checked in. The main lodge is showing its age, but is pretty well maintained. Housekeeping was hit and miss..... one day they did great, the next day they didn't replace the coffee packets, put dirty utensils in the dishwasher but didn't wash them, crumbs still on the floor from dinner previous night (apparently didn't vacuum), and appeared to have hurriedly thrown the covers back on the bed (still really wrinkled). Used the hot tub the first night.... and as is typical of bathroom hot tubs, the water sitting in the pipes from the previous user had enough soap scum to create a ring around the whirlpool tub.... it was quite visible but housekeeping never cleaned it for the 4 nights we were there. Used the balcony to sip wine and watch the lake. Overall relaxing environment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An ok place.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The hotel dining room staff & food was excellent. Dining room is conveniently located.
Signage to Shanty Creek is a little misleading. Not a lot of parking for busy summer holidays. Not a lot of sound proofing. Indoor & outdoor noise seems to echo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
rooms were nice. breakfast was not good, slow service and extremely slow seating (even though many tables were open).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4th of July upNorth

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Large property
Cons: Front desk, updated rooms,
Location: Traverse City, Charlevoix, Petoskey
You don't get value for the price. The front desk was hasty and impatient in checking me in and with direction and general courteous information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lesley from findlay, oh

The whole complex is quaint!

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Location!!! Scenic beauty fom lobby/dining room, comfy beds, food quality and selection
Cons: HOUSEKEEPING!!! Hot tub and temperature controls!
Location: Snowboard and golf! Who needs anything more?
We primarily snowboarded at Schuss although the lodge is right on Summit because Summit is really small and the beginner hill leaves a lot to be desired (we brought a first-timer with us). As for the lodge/hotel; nicely maintained with exposed timbers and giant fireplaces in dining room, pool area and some common areas. Comfy beds and everything seemed pretty new and up to date. Just a few negatives; housekeeping never cleaned our rooms (we stayed for 3 nights), the rooms were hot and I mean blazing inferno hot, I has to keep the balcony door open AND the a/c on at night and the hot tub is not only tiny but also really dirty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Leah from Indianapolis

New Year's Snow Trip

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time at Shanty Creek. We stayed at the Summit Village. The food at the restaurant was delicious but pricey. One of our evenings we went to town on the free shuttle and ate at Bellaire Bar (Great food and not overpriced.). We took advantage of the spa. The spa had excellent offerings and amenities but needed more than one person working. We also went snow skiing and had an excellent time. We enjoyed so much that we want to see what it is like in the summer time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

nice place to stay

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
will revisit again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for Golf or skiing weekend

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: Facilities are nice, a bit outdated but everything was clean and the staff was nice.
Cons: One of our waitresses literally SCREAMED at us as she greeted us, took our order etc... It was simply "her" but someone needs to tell her tone down.
Location: Shanty Creek is in a beautiful location, just too far away from much else. Plan on styaing there and golfing or skiing and visiting the Spa!
Shanty Creek is a great place to spend a weekend with friends golfing or skiing. Unfortunately for me on this trip we were simply too far away from Traverse City and Suttons Bay to enjoy our stay. The resort is over an hour away from where we wanted to be which meant that we had to basically pack all of our "stuff" up and leave for the entire day. We tried to get another hotel but it was Labor Day Weekend... not happening!