Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Beautiful view and ok service

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The view and grounds, fitness center was very nice
Cons: service
Room was way to expensive for what we were offered. Check in time was not until 5pm, which is terribly late, especially considering most people are traveling in to the hotel. Staff was not at all accommodating and even rude when I called several times to see about an early check in. Nobody could offer "any guarantee" and they did not offer to call when the room is ready, or even give suggested timeframes when the room might be ready. We were traveling in to town for a wedding at 4, (which I explained several times) so this was most unhelpful. I've paid less, in bigger cities, and have had nicer rooms with far superior service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Needs a refresh

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Beautiful location. Great view from the dining room.
Cons: Food was only OK. We drove to a nearby town and had breakfast that was amazing at one third the cost.
This hotel is showing its age. I suppose you wouldn't notice this so much if you were here with a bunch on bros to just play golf, drink, and smoke cigars. I expected much more from a hotel at this price point.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Nice and quiet

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: No big crowds this time of the year (summer).
Cons: More consistent housekeeping. Scrambled eggs on buffet were one giant block of egg product from which you carved off a slab.
Location: Couple of nice casual dining places in Bellaire. Also, Mr. K's pizza in Mancelona seems like a hole-in-the-wall, but had really good pizza.
Friendly folks when checked in. The main lodge is showing its age, but is pretty well maintained. Housekeeping was hit and miss..... one day they did great, the next day they didn't replace the coffee packets, put dirty utensils in the dishwasher but didn't wash them, crumbs still on the floor from dinner previous night (apparently didn't vacuum), and appeared to have hurriedly thrown the covers back on the bed (still really wrinkled). Used the hot tub the first night.... and as is typical of bathroom hot tubs, the water sitting in the pipes from the previous user had enough soap scum to create a ring around the whirlpool tub.... it was quite visible but housekeeping never cleaned it for the 4 nights we were there. Used the balcony to sip wine and watch the lake. Overall relaxing environment.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An ok place.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The hotel dining room staff & food was excellent. Dining room is conveniently located.
Signage to Shanty Creek is a little misleading. Not a lot of parking for busy summer holidays. Not a lot of sound proofing. Indoor & outdoor noise seems to echo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
rooms were nice. breakfast was not good, slow service and extremely slow seating (even though many tables were open).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

4th of July upNorth

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Large property
Cons: Front desk, updated rooms,
Location: Traverse City, Charlevoix, Petoskey
You don't get value for the price. The front desk was hasty and impatient in checking me in and with direction and general courteous information.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cristina from Westland

High price, but very nice

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is quite pricey ($198/night), but was very nice. Went for Short's Anniversary party, and they provide shuttle to the downtown area. It's a resort hotel, so the price wasn't a huge surprise, but $200 a night just for the room is kind of intense. Overall a very nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Tim Schmidt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lesley from findlay, oh

The whole complex is quaint!

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Location!!! Scenic beauty fom lobby/dining room, comfy beds, food quality and selection
Cons: HOUSEKEEPING!!! Hot tub and temperature controls!
Location: Snowboard and golf! Who needs anything more?
We primarily snowboarded at Schuss although the lodge is right on Summit because Summit is really small and the beginner hill leaves a lot to be desired (we brought a first-timer with us). As for the lodge/hotel; nicely maintained with exposed timbers and giant fireplaces in dining room, pool area and some common areas. Comfy beds and everything seemed pretty new and up to date. Just a few negatives; housekeeping never cleaned our rooms (we stayed for 3 nights), the rooms were hot and I mean blazing inferno hot, I has to keep the balcony door open AND the a/c on at night and the hot tub is not only tiny but also really dirty.