Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Near the beach.
Clean and comfortable. Great breakfast with a good view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
A number of minor complaints, but the most major was that the room smelled terrible. After about six hours with the window open and fan it was tolerable for the remainder of our stay. Almost certainly a smoker had been in the room prior to us and the room had been inadequately cleaned. Others: bathroom door didn't latch, trash on floor under bed curtain, unexpected costs associated with stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bettendorf, Ia

A sweet one for sure

Posted Jul 18, 2014
One night stay. Comfortable room. Breakfast adequate but nothing to write home about. Movie rentals on site. Close to Pirate Cove Adventures, Moomers, and cherry picking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Right on the beach in the sandy east bay. You can walk up and down the beach a good distance from the state park to the west and more beach to the east. You'll need to drive to downtown, but it's five minutes. Within an easy striking distance of Sleeping Bear, Leland, and Charlevoix. Friendly and attentive staff. We really enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flushing, MI

Room not cleaned

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: I liike the hotel and the location.
Cons: Cleaning my room.
Location: Good location for golf, beach, bike trails and some of our favorite restaurants.
I have stayed here before and been very pleased. This time I went out to play golf and my wife stayed in the room. At 1:30 p.m. we put out the service the room card. The only thing that was done was a clean towel was put on a wet wash cloth. No trash was emptied. Not enough towels left. The bed wasn't made. I was most disappointed with the service and the response. If I had not booked through Expedia they might have cut my cost. Not sure if I will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Great time at Grand Beach in TC. Got in room early, and used pool waiting for our room to be ready. That was nice. Very comfortable, and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macomb, MI

Nice hotel with good accomodations

Posted Jul 2, 2014
We have been going to this hotel for over 20 years. It's on a beautiful beach, the rooms are comfortable and clean. The staff are great. The continental breakfast could be better, but for the most part a great place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, cheapest rate for quality in TC

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Great staff
Cons: Beds were hot.
Nice, clean room. Good breakfast. Staff very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Will Return

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Room/pool Staff Breakfast View
Cons: Would like to have purchased a shirt however the prices were very high.
Location: Location was perfect for shopping on Front Street (Fustini's Oil--bought 8 bottles) and dinner at the Red Mesa and Bubba's one night.
We, my husband and I, have been here 3 times and really enjoy it. The room #312 faces the water with a balcony. I love the white furniture, the comfort of the bed/pillows and the cleanliness of the room. In addition the bathroom is wonderful with a nice tiled walk-in shower. We watched children play on the beach building sand castles and my husband played football with a group of boys. The sunset was AMAZING if my FB friends can be believed. The staff are accommodating and friendly. Breakfast is very busy but the staff are courteous and the food is good with healthy options such as boiled eggs, fresh fruit and yogurt. The pool was very nice and we liked that the last hour was just for adults, though 2 young boys were there unchaperoned until 10:30. We stayed for 2 nights before going to Mackinaw Island where we were very disappointed with the Best Western Plus Dockside. We have decided that when we return to MI we will stay in Traverse City and drive to the attractions we enjoy.
2 out of 5
by Konrad from Ontario Canada

Dated, not that clean.

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location and beach
Cons: See above
Location: Great restaurants and shopping. Great beach also,
We found the Sugar Beach to be dated in room furnishings and condition. The shower had black mold in one corner. Morning coffee was a disappointment as the coffee maker did not work. We asked what time check out was and were told 11:00. We left for some last minute errands and had left a cooler in the room as well as grocery items and left over restaurant meals and a piece of key lime pie in the mini fridge. Our intention was to pack our food items on ice for the trip home when we returned to check out. Upon our return I found the room had been cleaned and all grocery items were missing. I located the cleaning lady and was told the items were in the garbage, although she had my cooler. I advised front desk staff and was told, "sorry about that". Very bad experience over all.