Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clinton Township, MI

My Time in Travers City

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: being able to walk onto the beach. The decor - very bright & up lifting. The location.
Cons: The continental breakfast - less carb - some meat & eggs.
Location: The staff should know more about the high points as I already stated.
The Sugar Beach Hotel was everything I wanted and expected. I loved that my request for first floor - onto the beach- was honored. The reason I didn't give the facilities #5 was the continental breakfast could be less "crab" . the reason I gave the staff #4 instead of #5 was when I asked the girl at the front desk where was the 45th parallel (sp)- she did not know. This is one of the high points in Travers City the staff should know this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Everything was great! Nice beach, comfortable room, suitable breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster

Nice Getaway

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Traverse City is a minor resort town. Basically a beach town with nice swimming boating and fishing. All the hotels charge a lot during the "season" for what they offer, but this was a reasonable value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Cons: The breakfast was a bit lacking compared to other hotels.
Great hotel right on the beach. Beach was clean with plenty of chairs. Rooms were clean and inviting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Near the beach.
Clean and comfortable. Great breakfast with a good view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
A number of minor complaints, but the most major was that the room smelled terrible. After about six hours with the window open and fan it was tolerable for the remainder of our stay. Almost certainly a smoker had been in the room prior to us and the room had been inadequately cleaned. Others: bathroom door didn't latch, trash on floor under bed curtain, unexpected costs associated with stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bettendorf, Ia

A sweet one for sure

Posted Jul 18, 2014
One night stay. Comfortable room. Breakfast adequate but nothing to write home about. Movie rentals on site. Close to Pirate Cove Adventures, Moomers, and cherry picking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Right on the beach in the sandy east bay. You can walk up and down the beach a good distance from the state park to the west and more beach to the east. You'll need to drive to downtown, but it's five minutes. Within an easy striking distance of Sleeping Bear, Leland, and Charlevoix. Friendly and attentive staff. We really enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flushing, MI

Room not cleaned

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: I liike the hotel and the location.
Cons: Cleaning my room.
Location: Good location for golf, beach, bike trails and some of our favorite restaurants.
I have stayed here before and been very pleased. This time I went out to play golf and my wife stayed in the room. At 1:30 p.m. we put out the service the room card. The only thing that was done was a clean towel was put on a wet wash cloth. No trash was emptied. Not enough towels left. The bed wasn't made. I was most disappointed with the service and the response. If I had not booked through Expedia they might have cut my cost. Not sure if I will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Great time at Grand Beach in TC. Got in room early, and used pool waiting for our room to be ready. That was nice. Very comfortable, and clean.