Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

worst holiday in so far

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Front doors only open halfway. Single person at front desk on weekends not knowledgable and very slow. Restaurant only, no continental breakfast. No towel bars in bathroom. No fan in bathroom. No microwave in room
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Skip on this hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: The staff tried to be helpful.
Cons: The overall maintenance and cleanliness of the entire building.
Location: Across the street is a small shopping area and discount movie theater. The hotel is situated next to the interstate for quick access elsewhere.
Unfortunately, this hotel doesn't have much going for it. A sign is posted in the lobby that the hotel is undergoing renovation but there is no sign of any work being done. The lobby and restaurant appear to have been updated nicely, but it stops there. One of the two elevators do not work, we could not connect to the Wi-Fi, our room had a leaky window, a sliding door that would not close all the way, and a dirty bathroom and porch not to mention nails sticking up out of the carpet at the door threshold. The staff tried their best to make the stay more accommodating but they are limited to improving the overall building maintenance. The reviews online stated that breakfast was great; however, that is not what we found. The breakfast is overpriced, the restaurant ran out of many items, the wait staff was nowhere to be found at 9am and the food quality was lacking. The positive of this hotel is that it is pet friendly, which may account for the unpleasant odor in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Served Its Purpose

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Staff, clean bathroom facilities, pool.
Cons: Update this hotel. Has a lot of potential!
Location: Many places to eat along Roan Avenue. Lots of choices.
Hotel was badly in need of updating; that being said, it was apparently already underway via signs posted in the lobby. Room was very clean and mostly quiet- my door had a fairly sizeable gap underneath and the throwbolt didn't seem to engage 100%. You could hear some doors closing...well, I guess it's that way in every hotel. The air conditioner seems to leach into the carpet by the windows, but it was not by any means a flood. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The pool was nice. More parking lot security lights would be helpful. Hotel cafe was reasonably priced for a quick bite in the morning. It will never be a five-star property, but it definitely was not a "dive". Overall, this hotel served its purpose- I needed a place to sleep while away on business and it did just that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Ken, Hotel Management
Thank you for noting the hotel was nice and clean and the staff was very helpful. Also nice of you to mention the restaurant was reasonably priced and serve was fast. Thank you for your 3 Star Review of your stay. See you again soon, we hope.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Soddy Daisy, TN

Nicer Holiday Inn

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Room service, beds
Location: Close to ETSU
This is a great place to stay when visiting ETSU campus. I stay here every time I visit my daughter. Always clean and comfortable. Very good room service rates. One of the better Holiday Inns.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Ken, Hotel Management
Thank you for making us the place you stayed while visiting your daughter at ETSU. We certainly look forward to your next trip. Thank you for the 4 Star Review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel amenties

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
Breakfast was confusing. The desk clerk said one thing about breakfast price then the waiter of the restaurant said another price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karen from Buffalo, NY

Helpful

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
The front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful. The only thing that is a "complaint" is that the actual shower head/water spray was more drips than actual shower spray.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Ken, Hotel Management
The 5 Star Review of us is appreciated very much. We are glad your stay was extremely pleasant due in part from the front desk staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jason

Posted Mar 7, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Ken, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 4 Star Rating!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2015 by Ken, Hotel Management
Thanks for your 5 Star Rating of us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Constance from ingleside

very friendly staff

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly. Hotel itself was good. None of the sidewalks or parking lot were cleared of snow so it was very treacherous
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Ken, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 Star review of your stay with us. We appreciate you saying the staff was very friendly and the hotel was good. Sorry, we did not clear the sidewalks quick enough of all the snow we have been having. We all hope your plans will include us again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2015 by Ken, Hotel Management
Thanks for your 3 Star review of the Holiday Inn Johnson City, TN