Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Room
Cons: Service
The hotel has good facilities, but it needs to improve service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from London

Great rooms and good location

Posted Jun 6, 2014
The rooms were very nice and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We were disturbed by loud guests (apparently locals often book a room for the night and hold parties there) and so got moved to a different floor with no fuss. The pool is small but nice enough. Location is good and it's near to the Savannah (a big park). You need to drive pretty much everywhere in Trinidad and it is well-placed so you can get out of Port of Spain easily enough if you're going to a beach or something.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel !!

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: loaction
Cons: breakfast included
Location: downtown
good staff nice hotel good location confortable good bargain
2 out of 5
by bblessing from Brooklyn, New York

The musty smell is a turn off.

Posted May 19, 2014
Cons: Control the musty odor
Bathroom was not as clean as it could be, no effort was put in to have a clean area. The smell from the hallway was too strong for a place servicing guest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 18, 2014
It was overall a great experience. Pool was very nice the food was great. The staff were very helpful and accommodating..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2014
there was some bad reviews about this place that's how I read after I booked I was afraid and wanted to cancel but after seeing experience in for myself I did not see the fuss about those reviews clean rooms depends on which staff they were friendly, they were some here housekeeping, my only dislike was that the tube was to high, so It made it hard getting in and out (for me)..I would stay there again. ..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not waste your money at this Hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2014
This Hotel is obtaining money by deception. Do not stay at this Hotel. I stayed for Easter weekend for 4 days in April 2014. After checking the hotel both on Expedia and the Hotel website, my wife and i thought that the hotel sounded nice, with 3 bars and 2 restaurants, especially the rooftop bar, and was modern with nice rooms. Unfortunately the 3 Bars did not open during our stay!!! and only 1 restaurant opened!! For some reason the Hotel had lost its drinks licence , so our evenings in the rooftop bar did not materialize. Apparently the Hotel cant be bothered to open the rooftop bar, even when it has a drinks licence the excuse being constant refurbishment, non of which we saw on visiting. The room only provided 1 cup and 1 glass for 2 people (Hotel policy), no bathrobes, no plug for the bath and no toiletries apart from our last day, and the safe was broken and took a day to fix. No update to the hotels condition was put on Expedia nor the Hotels website, it was amusing when the hotel manager blamed Expedia, but when i then showed him his own Hotel website, he then changed his view. Fortunately the Hilton was within walking distance so we and numerous other guests made use of their facilities, which were open, nicer and cheaper. If we had not pre payed via Expedia we would not have stayed and moved to the Hilton. DO NOT STAY HERE
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by j from ny

Good location

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: The size of the room
Cons: Clean the carpet with good smelling carpet cleaner.
Location: The location was great, it was close to the gardens, zoo, and the savanah.
My room had a moldy smell, phones smelled awful. Sheets were clean, bed was comfortable the room was large and spacious. The room was set up very nice with chairs, and other comforts, the staff was helpfull.
3 out of 5
by Ricardo from Colombia

Hotel is ok for sleeping, nothing extra to do.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
The carpet of the rooms need serious clean, no wifi on the rooms, breakfast for extra charge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sim from Boston,MA

Clean, modern hotel in a very good location

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: The bar was great. Concierge and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I only ate breakfast but the bake & saltfish was pretty good.
Cons: The outdoor bar by the pool should stay open longer. We were allowed to take drinks out there, but stayed in the dark :-(
Location: Cose to Queens Park Savanah & vendors there where you can get coconut water and doubles! Easy access to Maracas Beach: Bake and shark!! Zoo & BG
This hotel is in a very good location. Central to a lot of good places in the capital. It's also in a safe residential neighborhood so walking at night was no problem. Taxis are readily available as well. As far as the hotel itself it was very clean and modern. I did pick up a damp smell in my room and in the hallway. I do have allergies and was worried about mold, but I had quite a pleasant sleep so I think the dampness is definitely there, but mild. Major plusses are the bar and the staff. Now, I am originally from Trinidad and I have to admit the country is notorious for bad customer service. The staff at this hotel will probably not win awards for service in any global competition, but by Trinidad standards I thought they were excellent. They were always there to help and were always friendly. Again, they are from Trinidad so there are times when they seemed like they didn't want to be bothered. But for me they were even better than the service I received at the Hyatt! So all in all I think this hotel is great and especially for the price. I'll definitely be staying there again and recommending it to friends.